Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

rinoa_heartily
post Jul 7 2014, 09:41 AM

20 posts

i got a PR in a country, my doubt is do i need to cancel my life/ci policies if:

1. if i just the PR there and still holding malaysia citizenship
2. if i give up malaysian citizenship, and take that country citizenship (means i no longer have malaysia i/c i assume)

p/s i understand that medical card will be given up as will use the new country's medical card.
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 7 2014, 10:38 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 7 2014, 10:18 AM)
1. Do a comparison between the country you are in PR with for the life/CI and decide whether you need to cancel your Malaysian class policy. Some countries, you can buy high life/CI cover cheaper than Malaysia. Seems like the mortality rate for Malaysia is high.

2. As I understand it Malaysia does not allow dual citizenship. If you surrender your Malaysian citizenship you might as well cash out your policy and buy the insurance in that PR country.

Moreso if the PR country is an A list country since the medical will be very costly.

For a Malaysian class policy medical card, if you travel outside of Malaysia (except for Sg and Brunei) for more than 90 days, you need to fly back to Malaysia to get treated. If it was below the 90 days, you will be reimbursed with a customary rate as charged by the Malaysian hospital.

For example if the heart bypass were to cost USD 100k in the US, you will only be reimbursed with Rm80k (subjected to your annual limit, if any), which is the averagely charged amount in most hospitals in Malaysia.

Lets not forget that the premium that you pay is in RM, and it is only fair that ypu are reimbursed in RM.
thanks! and replying ur comments above:
1. my intention is to save some money on the existing policy, if i surrender the policy it is not worth as the cash value not much compare to what i have contributed.
2. i did call up insurance customer care, they mentioned if can prove you were existing malaysian, then should be fine to claim/surrender/cash-out. is that true?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 7 2014, 11:32 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 7 2014, 10:54 AM)
1. You buy policy for protection, not for savings. In order for it to break even (the premium paid), it will take at least 20 years for the policy to be in-force. Even so, there is no guarantee it will break even.

2. If you are referring to the Life & CI, then yes, as long as you can proof that you were still a Malaysian (IC needed), then the claims for Life & CI will be honored.

Medical claims on the other hand is subjected to the travel and residence clause as stated earlier.
1. yes, protection.. but if anything happen there will be some savings..
2. but if malaysia citizenship has already been given-up, i think IC as well already returned back to government, so how to claim without IC? maybe other supporting document? do u have client having similar situation?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 13 2015, 05:23 PM

20 posts

i'm out of malaysia for more than 6 months, if death/CI happen not in malaysia, can still claim?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 13 2015, 05:44 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 13 2015, 05:41 PM)
Yes, as long as the policy is still in force.
what if actually is a PR for that 'other' country and still holding malaysia I/C?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 14 2015, 09:33 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Jul 13 2015, 06:49 PM)
The policy follows your life, not your nationality.
coz during apply, is using malaysia IC, what if one day i give up malaysian citizen, does the policy still 'active'?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 14 2015, 10:25 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 14 2015, 10:20 AM)
Everything boils down to needs. If you have made up your mind and wont be returning to Malaysia, there is no point to keep it.

I am sure that you are well aware that you may need to purchase another insurance policy at the country you are residing.
yes, different country will definitely need their insurance too.

malaysia's one want to keep as savings, since the monthly premium is so cheap.

possible?
rinoa_heartily
post Jul 14 2015, 10:49 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(roystevenung @ Jul 14 2015, 10:43 AM)
Yes it is possible as long as you have an active bank account in Malaysia.

Therefore if you were to give up your citizenship (many people advised not to as it is impossible to get it back), you may have a problem to open a bank account as most banks will require some sort of verification due to Anti Money Laundering Act.

AFAIK, Malaysia does not allow dual citizenship.

Ps, insurance is not for savings, but for protection...
yeah, understand. i mean while protect, also have savings (cash value) in malaysia.

p/s i'm aware of msia not allow dual citizenship, but jz in case and who know in the future i'll give up msia citizenship if the country is not progressing...
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 3 2015, 04:20 PM

20 posts

hi, can someone enlighten me what is:-

AA rider
CLR
EDDI
HB - HR11 INS RB200
H&S - HSM6 INS RB50
EAPWP
VISIONLIFE

fyi, this is a very old aia policy. i think there is medical benefit/hospitalization, and since i have new medical card now (which active more than 6 months), i can delete this supplementary and revise the premium, right?

is this a traditional policy?

i have lost my policy and should not be a problem when come to any claim, right?

This post has been edited by rinoa_heartily: Nov 3 2015, 04:39 PM
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 4 2015, 09:33 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Nov 3 2015, 11:10 PM)
Bro/sis/sir/mdm,

I am from AIA and I can help you with it. (What happened to your agent?)

This is your p&c info, i think better we take it offline? sweat.gif
i dun mind to share with everyone, just would like to know what are the short forms mean, and also some other questions smile.gif

This post has been edited by rinoa_heartily: Nov 4 2015, 09:51 AM
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 4 2015, 09:45 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(samsss @ Nov 4 2015, 10:42 AM)
lol the background just caught my attention
is it a new product?
What do you mean?
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 6 2015, 11:30 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Nov 3 2015, 11:10 PM)
Bro/sis/sir/mdm,

I am from AIA and I can help you with it. (What happened to your agent?)

This is your p&c info, i think better we take it offline? sweat.gif
able to assist and explain this old policy? smile.gif
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 6 2015, 05:35 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Nov 6 2015, 04:07 PM)
Yes. It is pretty standard, but I prefer to chat with you about it in private.

Stranger buka baju in public also I will faster cover him/her up.
sure, pm?
rinoa_heartily
post Nov 18 2015, 02:43 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(rinoa_heartily @ Nov 3 2015, 04:20 PM)
hi, can someone enlighten me what is:-

AA rider
CLR
EDDI
HB - HR11 INS RB200
H&S - HSM6 INS RB50
EAPWP
VISIONLIFE

fyi, this is a very old aia policy. i think there is medical benefit/hospitalization, and since i have new medical card now (which active more than 6 months), i can delete this supplementary and revise the premium, right?

is this a traditional policy?

i have lost my policy and should not be a problem when come to any claim, right?

anybody can help to advise?

0.0560sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:33 AM