Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

my44
post Jan 17 2014, 11:13 PM

2,481 posts

Wondering if anyone can comment on my situation. I currently do not have any outside insurance plan except from my company. I'll try to describe my situation in the least confusing manner as possible. My current age is 35.

July 2002:
Started working with current company, I have AIA card, good medical plan in general.

Feb 2014:
Expected my last at the company since I'm planning to pursue my study overseas, will have to hand over my AIA medical card.

March 2014:
Start of period without medical card.

September 2014:
Expected to begin studying at US university for my Masters, I will be forced to buy university-sanctioned medical plan as requirement for any new students.

June 2016:
Anticipated time of graduation from US and return to Malaysia to work, I assume my future company that hires me will also offer medical card similar to AIA that I had previously.

How often have I used the AIA medicall card from 2002-2014?
Not often, once every 6 months maybe, for regular fever or flu, never been warded, paling teruk pun just injection for severe tonsilitis.

Do I have a family?
I am single, unmarried.

My question:
If I want a medical card to cater for normal fevers, and God-forbids, critical illness, I presume at my age, it will be RM350/mo premium? Correct me if I'm wrong. What would be the strategy if i foresee that I'll be having university-sanctioned insurance while continue paying RM350/mo to Malaysia just to "maintain" a medical card here? Or should I just get a medical card when I return to Malaysia in 2016 at age of 37 and presumably pay RM400/mo for medical card by then?
my44
post Jan 18 2014, 12:38 AM

2,481 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 17 2014, 11:49 PM)
why u take bonus then resign from ur company?
Sorry I don't get you. What bonus you talking about? This is purely about medical card.
my44
post Jan 18 2014, 12:44 AM

2,481 posts

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Jan 17 2014, 11:58 PM)
its up to you . . . you can sign up a basic plan while maintain it for 2 years until you are back in Malaysia
or wait for 2016 & purchase when you are back in Malaysia.

Thanks for the opinion. By "basic plan", what does it entail? More importantly, the estimated annual premium for 35-yr-old male like me.

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Jan 17 2014, 11:58 PM)
Insurance charges for 35 / 37 will not increase as much as what you have describe but in order to get a medical card you have to make sure you stay healthy for the 2 years . . .

By "not much", can you say the increase is probably around RM20-RM30 per month from 35 age to 37 age? Also, is there some sort of medical checkup before I can get a medical card in Malaysia at the age of 37?

0.0181sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:51 AM