Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

backspace66
post Aug 26 2014, 05:56 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 26 2014, 12:35 AM)
the common range is between 8%-15%.

Some say it is crazy to have such a rule, but across my clientele, that's the range (at least from the income that they declare to me lah)

What does your coverage look like? Mind showing me in pm?
(You can share it here too if you don't mind putting it up in public.)
8 to 15 %? Isn't that too high? I rather spend that much money on housing installment. Currently I do not have any "own bought" insurance , i totally depend on my company medical and PA insurance. I do not even think that it is wise in my case to get an extra insurance, currently only thinking about the 36 critical illness insurance type. 8% of my current net is already above 1000 ringgit, I believe that is too much to spend on an insurance.
backspace66
post Aug 30 2014, 04:32 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(JIUHWEI @ Aug 26 2014, 09:34 PM)
Yea. adele123 is right.

You will hear a lot about ILP and Takaful in the market, which are pretty much the same thing in general, only real difference is that Takaful products are syariah compliant.

Now I know a lot of people here are against ILP, but compared to buying Life, PA, Med, and CI individually, getting all 4 incorporated in an ILP policy is actually quite affordable compared to buying all 4 individually. And over the long term, just like adele123 said, ILP can be a pretty good arrangement to have. But of course, if you do prefer going for UT and generally having a clear difference between your UT investments and insurance, it's not "wrong" either. Either way, it is all your money anyways.
Instead of taking the investment portion in ILP too seriously, just take it as building a fund to prevent your policies and coverage from being terminated during some tighter times. Otherwise, let it roll in the policy just like you would on a UT product.

At your earning power, maybe start with a basic medical plan and a PA, for reasons being to safeguard yourself while insurance companies have no reasons to deny or reject your application now while you are still perfectly healthy.
These two should cost you well within 1000/year.  smile.gif

I would like to apply to be your agent and we can go through your finances and expenditure just so I can have an overall understanding of your financial situation. I am based in PJ, and I travel quite a bit from Balakong to KL to PJ and to Klang. In fact I will be heading to Klang tomorrow to pick up a medical record from Hospital Tengku Ampuan Rahimah.  smile.gif
My company already provide medical and PA insurance coverage. Dont think i need another one as benefit provided by companies in my industry is generally good. Unless i want to become a consultant in the future under contract terms which will be void of any benefit.

Why wont u recommend a 36 CI insurance? 1000 per annum for medical and PA is really cheap however my company provide good enough insurance benefit with both medical and PA coverage. This is very contradicting with your earlier post saying 8-15% monthly salary for insurance. 1000 per annum is less thab 100 per month. This ia just 0.6% of my gross.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Aug 30 2014, 04:36 PM
backspace66
post Mar 3 2015, 06:33 AM

2,139 posts

Any term level insurance that pays lump sum of insured value upon diagnosis of any of the 36 critical illness?
backspace66
post Mar 3 2015, 10:37 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 3 2015, 10:07 AM)
Yes...

but life company will bundle with life insurance... either lump together or the CI will be as a rider.

also would depend on whether it's early CI or the normal CI.
thanks for the reply, any agent can quote for an early CI, lump sum payment upon diagnosis. 30-35 years old age bracket, 500k sum insured.
backspace66
post Mar 11 2015, 10:06 AM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 11 2015, 08:58 AM)
interesting question. the profit sharing part. well, supposedly there is this profit sharing in general takaful as well, i.e. your car insurance.

i'm not familiar, so bear with me.

based on what i know (and read) there will do whatever calculation, determine if there is surplus or not. i know another company (not etiqa) in their FAQ, they mention, they do give out if there is surplus. but if say the amount is less than RM10 per policy holder, it will be donated to a charity instead. or something like that. so it's NOT mandatory that there is an amount to be pay out to policy holder.

ALSO, i'm not even sure how the payout mechanism works. if they do pay out, do they give you a cheque, or just deduct next year's premium? but since out motor insurance profit margin is low, do they give out in the first place?
I have received 3 cheque so far from etiqa for auto insurance. The amount varies though from myr45 to myr55. Most probably due to my NCB keep increasing every year.

backspace66
post Mar 11 2015, 08:11 PM

2,139 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Mar 11 2015, 12:05 PM)
my understand is that the calculation of surplus and profit sharing should be based on your contribution amount. not exactly directly related to your NCB.

anyway... 45 to 55 is a good amount, much better than zero. (but then i don't know if you are driving a kancil or a mercedes tongue.gif)
well the insurance ranging from 1200 to 1600, i would say u can get back another 3 to 5% back from the amount u paid for etiqa auto insurance and this is on top of the 10 percent "discount"

0.0550sec    1.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:19 PM