Insurance Talk V2, Anything and everything about insurance

cherroy
post Nov 9 2015, 02:16 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(singenggoulee @ Nov 9 2015, 11:47 AM)
Thanks for your information. I just get to know that. Somehow I buy my insurance with my agent with one lump some package. Regard on term life - actually I slighty remember this was taught by my agent before, pls allow me to ask and share. Because base on my understanding is - Term Life also don't cover 36 critical illness. He told me very similiar with PA. And the best part of PA, it is cheaper than term life. That why I choose PA.
Sorry i am not expert in insurance, that why I don't know much about term life.
Of course, i priorities medical over term life mainly because I didnot buy a term life and I really cannot see how important it is. I am not keen to go gov. hospital leh! have to queue, wait for super duper long time leh! rather trust my private hospital.
So do you think I should contact my agent to revise my policy again?! To change my PA to term life? whether do you think I have need onto it. Mind share more detail on PA and Term life different. I cannot see any big different is both yet. Sorry about that.
Each insurance serves its own purposes.
No single insurance fit all needs.

Just like previously forumer situation, she fear when she is not around time, how her children can be supported financially, the answer a life/term life insurance.

No money to pay for private hospital, then Q loh. Just like no money to buy business class air-ticket, need to cramp into economy class that leg has no way to move one.
Life is never perfect.

Somemore, gov may not as bad as many perceive and private may not as good as some taught as well.
In private hospital, I Q 2~3 hours before to wait to see a doctor as well, when my finger was broken.

Everyone want to have full coverage, but not everyone can afford it.

Whether to revise or not, it is up to one preference and needs, no one knows better than yourself.

To simplify,
PA - died because of accident only.
Term life - Any type of death.

JIUHWEI
post Nov 9 2015, 07:29 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(singenggoulee @ Nov 9 2015, 05:52 PM)
True enuff.. There is no free lunch. I agreed with your point. No free insurance and insurance is not charity.
In fact, I start to get confuse with Life insurance, PA, Hospital insurance, critical illness insurance... there are so many insurance.. Then what is good for me? Of course as a buyer behavior, looking for the cheapest in value, but received the most benefit in return.
Just let me assume, my understanding was right.
1. Life Insurance will cover whatever PA cover. So that means if I buy Life insurance, then I can ignore taking PA. Right?
2. On top of Life insurance, I should also get another insurance that cover on Hospital insurance. That can secure me, in case of emergency.
3. Sorry this one, I not really sure - what is critical illness insurance right now for me? My understanding critical illness is another top up for Hospital insurance (medical insurance), i remember my insurance agent told me, the critical illness is included in my policy already.
1. Life insurance - janji mati. PA - janji accident.
In Life Insurance, patah 2 limbs only consider TPD and get to claim. Patah 1 limb = sorry.
PA covers for accidents only. Accidentally patah 1 limb = pay.
In the case accidental death = PA will pay, Life also pay.
As agent, I am very scared to answer "cannot claim". I will literally die standing.

2. Yes, you are right.

3. Critical Illness pays the sum assured upon diagnosis of a Critical Illness. It is money for you and your family, to use however you like.
As for the critical illness within your hospital insurance, it is for the hospital to charge. No money for your pocket to use.

When agent say you should arrange for coverage in all areas, we really mean well.
Think about it. hmm.gif
river.sand
post Nov 9 2015, 07:48 PM

3,815 posts

QUOTE(hpomen @ Nov 9 2015, 03:31 PM)
I just visit uforlife.com.my to check how much should I pay for my insurance. I am currently 34. Do I declare myself as smoker? I stop smoking at the age of 24. That means I didnot touch cigarette for at least 10 years by now.
I quote myself to cover @ RM150k.
Guess what?! My first year till at the age of 58, I guess I still able to afford. But after 58yo, my insurance monthly repayment increased from RM200 and going up.... Assume, I retired at the aged of 60yo. How can I afford to pay for monthly repayment of RM200 per month. The worst part is when I reach 70yo, I have to dump RM600 per month... Well it sound scary for me  sweat.gif
As explained by TS, in investment link policy, the premium a policyholder pays is invested in funds. The cash value accumulated is then used to cover the charges.

Now, for term life, the premium is lower at younger age. The money saved - you do your own investment lor...

BTW, you don't need life insurance when you retire. What you'll need is medical insurance
JIUHWEI
post Nov 9 2015, 07:54 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(hpomen @ Nov 9 2015, 03:31 PM)
I just visit uforlife.com.my to check how much should I pay for my insurance. I am currently 34. Do I declare myself as smoker? I stop smoking at the age of 24. That means I didnot touch cigarette for at least 10 years by now.
I quote myself to cover @ RM150k.
Guess what?! My first year till at the age of 58, I guess I still able to afford. But after 58yo, my insurance monthly repayment increased from RM200 and going up.... Assume, I retired at the aged of 60yo. How can I afford to pay for monthly repayment of RM200 per month. The worst part is when I reach 70yo, I have to dump RM600 per month... Well it sound scary for me  sweat.gif
Regarding Smoker Status: No, you are not a smoker anymore. So Non-smoker for you. thumbup.gif

What is the purpose for you to buy life insurance?

Would this be your first life insurance policy?

JIUHWEI
post Nov 9 2015, 07:56 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Nov 9 2015, 07:48 PM)
As explained by TS, in investment link policy, the premium a policyholder pays is invested in funds. The cash value accumulated is then used to cover the charges.

Now, for term life, the premium is lower at younger age. The money saved - you do your own investment lor...

BTW, you don't need life insurance when you retire. What you'll need is medical insurance
river.sand is right.

nujikabane
post Nov 10 2015, 06:45 PM

United We Stand
3,212 posts

Can anyone suggest the best medical card around ?
i.e lowest monthly commitment, but largest coverage
SUSsupersound
post Nov 11 2015, 12:34 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 10 2015, 06:45 PM)
Got, when the sun rises from West whistling.gif
Frankly speaking, there's no best medical card to begin with, since before you buy, everything can and once you buy it, everything cannot. Any serious illness, just go to general hospitals.
AMenzZ
post Nov 11 2015, 01:58 AM

Master
306 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Nov 10 2015, 06:45 PM)
best medical card = most expensive plan ever exist; not sure you need this or not

Cheap medical plan - may consider medical plan from general insurance, renew every year. But.....

Everything come with a cost, even the plan is cheap now eventually after 3-8y, you will receive letter from insurance company that the premium will be revised.

The catchy point is how much they will increase? 5%/10%/50%??

Most healthy way is by allocating 10-15% of your salary to your own personal insurance.
atrocitines
post Nov 11 2015, 02:23 AM

343 posts

Hi guys , how much would you allocate your salary for insurance? Is prulink one a good plan? It is an all in one insurance plan and some people advice me.against taking it and suggested to get a separate life insurance and medical card. How valid is this statement?
cherroy
post Nov 11 2015, 09:01 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(atrocitines @ Nov 11 2015, 02:23 AM)
Hi guys , how much would you allocate your salary for insurance? Is prulink one a good plan? It is an all in one insurance plan and some people advice me.against taking it and suggested to get a separate life insurance and medical card. How valid is this statement?
You need to understand how the particular insurance works, what is the coverage provided etc.

Nobody can give you an answer one.

Different plan cater for different individual preference, needs, affordability etc. No such thing which is better than the other.
SUSsupersound
post Nov 11 2015, 10:32 AM

11,554 posts

5% from net salary the most for any insurance you are buying, have to know that, insurance is a burden, never ever been helping you no matter what happens.
SUSsupersound
post Nov 11 2015, 10:39 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 10:05 AM)
This is my initial though. I am single mother, taking care of 2 children of my own. In fact, I have not much $ at the end of the month. My burden and commitment is heavy since we had divorced. I have to earn my own living to support my family. Well, currently my family still doing good. My main concern of getting insurance is because what happen to my 2 son if I leave them one day?! Don't expect my ex husband will take care of them. I must look for a way to make my 2 son secure, just in case 1 day. touch wood! For medical card, I think I don't mind to go general hospital if I am sick, that why I think medical card not that so important for me. Further more, i am current healthy. That why, I don't want to keep more burden for me.

I know it is important... but  - anyway how much the least I need to commit for simple and nice medical card monthly? Potentially less than RM50??
Thanks for your information. In fact, I saw the adv beside this forum, claimed that this insurance coverage for RM100k, and only RM9.85 per month. But my aged is not that cheap anymore. tongue.gif But also quiet cheap la! It is only RM12.70 per month. I think I only need to buy this insurance policy until the age of 60. That time, I assume my children had grown up and they should be able to take care themself without me. smile.gif
Btw I am kind of confuse over 3 products that have in this insurance. - Life Cover, Critical Illness Cover and also Personal Accident Cover. By paying RM12.70? which product I am buying? 3 Products or only Life Cover or either one or 2 of these product?  how how how?
Actually this is my though, since this insurance policy is quiet cheap and is less than my expected. I think I could buy medical card if still beyond my ability.
Single mother(sorry to know this). warga emas do have privileges on getting treatment in GH.
Just say you buy medical card and you have high blood pressure, the medical card may not cover the medicine and it is not cheap to buy, each month for the lowest dosage also need rm75.
I don't know your age, assuming with your age your policy need rm200 monthly and it refuse to cover the medicine, so it is rm275. but if you were to seek treatment in government hospital, the medicine are cheap, the myth says you need to wait 1 whole day in government facilities but the fact is by choosing the right time, it make only take 2-3 hours.
Poor people usually won't easily gets sickness, eat moderately and regular exercise will be the best way to prevent sickness.
For me, not buying insurance will not be a problem, since if you gets sick and serious, private hospitals will kick you out also even you are paying.
cherroy
post Nov 11 2015, 10:48 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 10:05 AM)
This is my initial though. I am single mother, taking care of 2 children of my own. In fact, I have not much $ at the end of the month. My burden and commitment is heavy since we had divorced. I have to earn my own living to support my family. Well, currently my family still doing good. My main concern of getting insurance is because what happen to my 2 son if I leave them one day?! Don't expect my ex husband will take care of them. I must look for a way to make my 2 son secure, just in case 1 day. touch wood! For medical card, I think I don't mind to go general hospital if I am sick, that why I think medical card not that so important for me. Further more, i am current healthy. That why, I don't want to keep more burden for me.

You need to know one thing, medical insurance premium is not fixed, it rises according to age and medical cost inflation.
So it is not about can afford now alone, but also need to consider next year and further down the road, especially when one is getting old time, the premium may rise quite dramatically one.

Young age may be Rm50~100 per month.
Old time, with the same policy, can become RM100~300 per month.

Why I said so? Because I started to feel the "burden" of rising premium.

So always need to plan properly in term of signing up insurance, as it is a long term commitment.

General hospital is your "backup" for not having a medical insurance.
While you have no life or term life, you have no "backup" financial support for your kids, if passed away.

So which should be prioritised is very obvious.
cherroy
post Nov 11 2015, 10:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 10:45 AM)
Thanks. Anyway was AIA term life works? Just get to find out from it? Buying online like uforlife also? or must buy through agent? Will insurance charge among all insurance company are just the same?? 
I got this advice from my insurance agent. Well, instead depends on my agent 1 side story, that why I come into forum and find out more from sifu sifu here. Just get to realize from someone here. He told me the reason why my insurance agent are not keen to buy term life insurance mainly because of commission gua! that why he refuse to order term life insurance for me. I guess the most important reason.
Anyway thanks. Actually I also get to find out that I actually can buy insurance online as per recommended by few forumers here. Really appreciate with your help and support a poor single mother here.
Had checked the insurance commitment roughly less than RM50 per month is available. But still have some doubt on getting insurance online. Need sometimes to find out more. Cause I got confuse over the product that have in termlife insurance in uforlife. How trustworthy in uforlife? (As it seen like a new grow company in Malaysia, sorry I tak pernah heard of uforlife in Malaysia until recently they do alot of Advertisement.) If anything happened to me, how insurance company will find out that I am death, can do claimed for my children.. etc..
Take your time to find out, insurance is a long term commitment, you don't make rush instant decision on something for long term.

Understand it, get advice from various parties, agent, FP etc. and analysed yourself in term of your needs and affordability, instead listen to single party which may be with vested interest.

There are a lot of agents out there, even in this forum, there are a number of agents "lurking" around laugh.gif , and some do give sound advice.
JIUHWEI
post Nov 11 2015, 12:43 PM

1,323 posts

Prulink One is an ILP plan.
You can add many different riders to it (hospital rider, critical illness rider, hospital income, etc)

Separate Life insurance and Medical Insurance can also be done.

... some people advice me.against taking it and suggested to get a separate life insurance and medical card. How valid is this statement?
That statement is valid, and so is the vice versa.
There's no wrong or right way.
There's just the way that works for you.

Volkswagen Golf was named car of the year 2015. It's the overall best.
Would you be buying this car?
Things to consider:
1. budget
2. how would it make me look?
3. does it fit my current socioeconomic status?
4. can i afford the maintenance?
5. Are there service centers around me?
...etc.

So many things to consider right?
It's a good car no doubt.
But why isn't everyone rushing to buy it?

Best is to stick with your agent, tell him/her your current situation, concerns, and work closely with him/her to come up with what exactly you need to have, or maybe you don't have to buy anything more and just stay as you are for now.
An agent's role is to help you to buy, not tell you what to buy or why they are the best.
All BS
JIUHWEI
post Nov 11 2015, 12:50 PM

1,323 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 10:45 AM)
Thanks. Anyway was AIA term life works? Just get to find out from it? Buying online like uforlife also? or must buy through agent? Will insurance charge among all insurance company are just the same?? 
I got this advice from my insurance agent. Well, instead depends on my agent 1 side story, that why I come into forum and find out more from sifu sifu here. Just get to realize from someone here. He told me the reason why my insurance agent are not keen to buy term life insurance mainly because of commission gua! that why he refuse to order term life insurance for me. I guess the most important reason.
Anyway thanks. Actually I also get to find out that I actually can buy insurance online as per recommended by few forumers here. Really appreciate with your help and support a poor single mother here.
Had checked the insurance commitment roughly less than RM50 per month is available. But still have some doubt on getting insurance online. Need sometimes to find out more. Cause I got confuse over the product that have in termlife insurance in uforlife. How trustworthy in uforlife? (As it seen like a new grow company in Malaysia, sorry I tak pernah heard of uforlife in Malaysia until recently they do alot of Advertisement.) If anything happened to me, how insurance company will find out that I am death, can do claimed for my children.. etc..
AIA term life is a term life insurance. As far as term life coverage is concerned, it works the same way as all the term life policies from all other insurance companies, including uforlife.

How to buy?
You must buy from agent. There's no direct.

Insurance charge will not be the same. Some term life policies are convertible, some are not; some are guaranteed renewal, some are not; and so on and so forth.

There are lots of differences despite being largely the same product.
What I want you to do is to zero in on what exactly is your concerns, current situation, and where you would like to be, and engage an agent, talk to him/her, and then try to make sense of what he/she is recommending to you. Ask questions, ask a lot of questions until it absolutely makes sense to you.
cherroy
post Nov 11 2015, 01:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 11:58 AM)
Thanks. I tot medical insurance premium is fixed? Some agent told me, if buying medical card alone is about RM75 per month. Anyway this is my 2nd priority, that why I am totally not keen to ask more about it. By the way thanks for your information.
"While you have no life or term life, you have no "backup" financial support for your kids, if passed away." - this is the main reason why I am looking forward an insurance to protect my family.
It happened to me on one of my friend, who recently pass away in an car crash accident. He had 3 children and an unemployed house wife in his family. Feel sad, after this incident. He eldest & 2nd son, currently only at the age of 19 & 17, have no choice by have to leave their education to support their family. Wondering how nice, if my friend had bought insurance before he death. His children will at least have some fund to support them for their living.
At least his children is in working age. But my children is only 5 & 12. Father not supporting...  cry.gif
Who will be going to help them. The only things that come into my mind - insurance lol. That why I am looking now.
The agent is not telling the truth.
No way medical insurance premium or medical portion of premium (for ILP).

If there is, everyone also want to sign up and pay upfront.

Please ditch any agent who is not telling the truth and provide clear picture of insurance.
Poorly informing client about the actual details of an insurance, can have big consequences to the clients in long term.

If the children are 5 & 12, roughly a 15 years term life may be needed.
As by then, they will be finishing secondary education, whereby at least they have the ability to feed themselves already.

SUSsupersound
post Nov 11 2015, 01:57 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nancynotlousy @ Nov 11 2015, 11:58 AM)
It okie to share that I am single mother. In fact, I feel proud of myself being a single mother. Before I divorce, I was a full time house "wives" only rely and depends on husband. After I divorced, I earn my own living, having own ability taking care of my 2 children. Sometimes, I always feel proud of myself being a single mother, that why no need to feel bad that I am a single mother. Without a husband, my life is still meaningful. Cheer...
I pretty like your statement - " Poor people usually won't easily gets sickness, eat moderately and regular exercise will be the best way to prevent sickness." Well, if life without medical card, no choice we have to help ourself more. Right now,I am doing Qigong the prevent myself from getting cancer and other illness. My blood pressure, sugar level and other part of my body still working fine. I did my medical check every year as required by my company. Somehow if can afford a medical card, of course will be the great. If cannot then what to do?
I may agreed with you. No medical card. depends on government hospital or semi private government hospital such as HUKM and UM lol. What to do?! Well, I think Semi Government hospital service is not that bad too.

That why, I think medical card will be only my 2nd priority, my 1st priority goes to a insurance that can take care to my children, if anything happened on me. At least, by having this insurance, it can compensate them will $$, to pay for house installment, or their education or daily usage. I think it is important to me.

Thanks. I tot medical insurance premium is fixed? Some agent told me, if buying medical card alone is about RM75 per month. Anyway this is my 2nd priority, that why I am totally not keen to ask more about it. By the way thanks for your information.
"While you have no life or term life, you have no "backup" financial support for your kids, if passed away." - this is the main reason why I am looking forward an insurance to protect my family.
It happened to me on one of my friend, who recently pass away in an car crash accident. He had 3 children and an unemployed house wife in his family. Feel sad, after this incident. He eldest & 2nd son, currently only at the age of 19 & 17, have no choice by have to leave their education to support their family. Wondering how nice, if my friend had bought insurance before he death. His children will at least have some fund to support them for their living.
At least his children is in working age. But my children is only 5 & 12. Father not supporting...  cry.gif
Who will be going to help them. The only things that come into my mind - insurance lol. That why I am looking now.
Well, you shall start to teach your children to be independent, no need to think too much. A sudden death to you that ended up with money to them won't do any good.
And do not buy education insurance by any means, if it says will mature after 10 years, in actual it is 20-30 years after.
Wolgie
post Nov 11 2015, 07:16 PM

2,637 posts

Dear Sifu,
Need some advice.
My Car is Axia. Loan Installment from PublicBank. 9year term
Is Public Bank Car policy under Liberty Insurance Berhad?
Now 1 years old coming for my car.
Now i receive a premium statement which need to renewal my car insurance.
Basic Premium RM1131.80, -NCD 282.95, so now include GST = 50.93 and Stampduty = 10.00, total i need to pay is 909.78.
Im ist time buy car, so do 2nd years insurance premium so high?
If not mistake, old toyota aonly 3++ per year and old Proton less the rm100 per month.
Any advice? Do really so high? Do i need change to other insurance?
aeiou228
post Nov 11 2015, 08:18 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Wolgie @ Nov 11 2015, 07:16 PM)
Dear Sifu,
Need some advice.
My Car is Axia. Loan Installment from PublicBank. 9year term
Is Public Bank Car policy under Liberty Insurance Berhad?
Now 1 years old coming for my car.
Now i receive a premium statement which need to renewal my car insurance.
Basic Premium RM1131.80, -NCD 282.95, so now include GST = 50.93 and Stampduty = 10.00, total i need to pay is 909.78.
Im ist time buy car, so do 2nd years insurance premium so high?
If not mistake, old toyota aonly 3++ per year and old Proton less the rm100 per month.
Any advice? Do really so high? Do i need change to other insurance?
This is pretty common second year insurance renewal shock by the first time car buyer.
Your first year insurance premium was even higher but you didn't realise it because you only concern about the total OTR price, how much down payment and how much is the monthly instalment.

Motor tariff is standard and regulated. You buy from any insurance company also same tariff.
You get 25% Non Claim Bonus (NCB) upon 1st renewal. If no claim for this renewal, then you will get 30% NCB upon next renewal and so on until max 55% over 5 years (if you never claim la)
You can DIY buy online and get additional 10% discount.

In future, when you up grade to >RM100k car, the 55% NCB can be a very significant saving on insurance premium. So please don't simply claim insurance over small damages if you already attained 55% NCB.

123 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0350sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:53 AM