Xbox One Community Official Thread V1, The all-in-one entertainment system
paulchents
Jan 25 2014, 06:15 PM

just bought xbox one few days ago, anyone facing the same issue like me? the adapter is really really, i mean really really really noisy! buzzing sound is driving me crazy, call up the sales person, he say is normal.. i was like wtf? how can it be normal zzzzz........
paulchents
Jan 25 2014, 11:46 PM

yes. exactly. the big brick inside is a fan, and when use my hand near the hole i can feel air blowing out! so is it common to be so noisy? the brick is connected to my xbox one, if i change the brick i need to find one that can actually connect to xbox?
This post has been edited by paulchents: Jan 25 2014, 11:46 PM
paulchents
Jan 26 2014, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 26 2014, 07:54 AM) the brick should be whisper quiet, the buzzing noise should be from transformer. however, even though if it comes from the powerbrick, the nouse could be from it's coil or transister, it's annoying but since you cannot just simply claim even from US it as it's still functioning... well I guess you need to bear with it~~~~~  what is the brick? what is the transformer? i only have one big black brick connecting to my xbox from the power outlet.
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 12:11 AM

The only reason why I bought Xbox is because I too heard ps4 camera is very poor in capturing movement! I never regretted buying xbox cos the fun and laugh I had when playing zomba fitness with wife and 5 year old daughter and 2 year old son is priceless! U will laugh till u drop and seriously worth every penny spend! The only complaint I have so far is the stupid brick is so noisy at times, but now I am getting used to it. Also anyone face this issue? Is there another brick that does the same function but less noise? I see someone reply that my set is uk set? How do u know that? Maybe later I have time I post my xbox photo  Also who want to swap my battlefield 4? I feel a bit dizzy after playing
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 12:19 AM

Ok here is my brick that I talked about. So what is the transformer I read everybody is talking about? Can someone explain to me? Is mine a us or uk set? What difference are there? Thanks for the help! I just wish I can buy a less noise brick Attached thumbnail(s)
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 08:40 AM

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Jan 27 2014, 12:27 AM) most of us here bought US set, which is 110v so we need a step down/up transformer to change the power voltage to 220v-240v, certain transformer had buzzing sound probably its the build quality ? our power adapter looks like what you show on the above picture, just that we have an extra transformer so you are saying the transformer has buzzing sound. so do my adapter! and is really noisy, more like a juice blending machine when operating! btw are u sure without the transformer is a uk unit? cos the salesman told me is a US unit
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 09:56 AM

QUOTE(Riosworos @ Jan 27 2014, 09:52 AM) Obviously your adapter is a third party adapter not the original xbox one adapter....third party adapter usually make such buzzing sounds and u dont need a transformer for them. Am guessing your supplier switched the original adapter so you can connect directly without a transformer. Yes salesman said have to use this adapter instead otherwise it will burn. So mine is a uk set without a transformer? Or US set with modified brick (transformer inside)?
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 09:02 PM

QUOTE(FarCry3r @ Jan 27 2014, 08:55 PM) Mintak saleman the original powerbrick and use with a step down transformer. Check the transformer first to see if it's bising or not. Yes. This is exactly what I am about to do! Will go the shop tomorrow, really can't tahan the noise
paulchents
Jan 27 2014, 10:36 PM

I bought mine for 2260 with 3rd party adapter. I bought from them cos the owner very friendly and like talking to them so didn't check price and just buy
paulchents
Jan 28 2014, 03:45 PM

QUOTE(kevink82 @ Jan 28 2014, 03:36 PM) Buy heavy and oversize looking one, those really small ones r usually crap and does not meet the actual output written. Nice it's a chicony power brick wanna modify it keke?  U can mod it? Is there risk to burn the console if mod the brick?
paulchents
Jan 28 2014, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 28 2014, 06:07 PM) Better deal will be buy straight from Amazon. below RM1.8k even with shipping, Transformer can easily get from any DIY/Electronic shop. I think take the US adapter and perform mod like kevink82 is the best way since the transformer oso in a way might be the Achilles heel of the whole thing if quality not gud how or where can do the mod for the brick? kevink knows how? how much u charge?
paulchents
Jan 28 2014, 09:15 PM

hey guys i am just curious, if i can find one adapter from UK for the xbox one, means i can use it? eventhough my xbox is a US unit, i can use the UK adapter and dont require any transformer, right?
paulchents
Jan 29 2014, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jan 29 2014, 11:18 AM) Hi, Can get this in Malaysia ?? is a 3rd party power adaptor for X-box One which take 110V to 240V. http://www.amazon.com/Pythons-AC-Power-Ada...ywords=xbox+onebro pls do not buy this, i suppose this is the one i had, it creates a very loud and annoying sound, if you dont mind playing xbox with a blending machine operating next to your ear, then go buy
paulchents
Jan 29 2014, 05:30 PM

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jan 29 2014, 05:11 PM) Thanks bro  Ended up get the step down transformer. Good! For me I send to Kevin to do the mod, as I don't want to have another huge transformer in my living room. Hope after mod no issue la
paulchents
Jan 29 2014, 05:35 PM

QUOTE(kewlbuzz @ Jan 29 2014, 03:39 PM) Xbox One + Kinnect Bundle with EU Plug AC Adapter 100 ~ 240V (iPmart Warranty SO thisĀ EU Plug AC Adapter 100 ~ 240V is stepdown? ipmart price is rm2188 with its own warranty.. If is a uk set and ori adapter, go for it. If US set with china made imitation adapter, u better think twice cos the bloody noise is too loud to accept. Better get the ori adapter and buy the transformer This post has been edited by paulchents: Jan 29 2014, 05:35 PM
paulchents
Jan 30 2014, 11:52 AM

QUOTE(kewlbuzz @ Jan 29 2014, 05:26 PM) 3rd party brick no need transformer or step up/down equipment cos is already dual voltage
paulchents
Jan 30 2014, 11:54 AM

QUOTE(gggoooaaalll @ Jan 29 2014, 06:05 PM) Hi guys wanna ask Xbox one confirm this year(singapore model) i too scared to buy us or uk set because warranty very hard I heard from the shop owner if xbox (US or UK set) faulty we can send to sg for repair. Don't know true or not