And BTW which backup should I do? Nandroid or Titanium backup? Hard to decide...
UPDATE: TWRP is on my sister's S3
Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V28, Kitkat 4.4.2 is here !! ND3
Jan 7 2014, 11:47 PM
3,176 posts Joined: May 2013 From: Petaling Jaya |
I found out my dad's Note 2 on DN3 v2 now very laggy. I guess it's really the time I help him to update. I also want to ask TWRP or Philz 5.15 better? I'm thinking to revert Philz.
And BTW which backup should I do? Nandroid or Titanium backup? Hard to decide... UPDATE: TWRP is on my sister's S3 |
Jan 8 2014, 01:06 AM
2,921 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(dallas316 @ Jan 7 2014, 04:40 PM) Hi guys!! Nice to be here again and now need your help:) It will auto run even you force close it. Best way is to freeze it via titanium backup.I upgraded to 4.3 way back dec 2013 and I just keep seeing Google Music Player is always running behind the scene even though im not using it.. Is this a 4.3 bug? Thanks in advance! |
Jan 8 2014, 09:32 AM
7,044 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
i just realised i have Opera Mini browser on my Note 2.
wanna uninstall it and Play detects it as not installed. from Application manager, it seems i can only turn off at browser, not uninstall. this makes me wonder... is Opera Mini part of the stock ROM? dang... :S |
Jan 8 2014, 09:39 AM
5,511 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: On Earth. |
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jan 8 2014, 09:32 AM) i just realised i have Opera Mini browser on my Note 2. on stock??? havent recall samsung add on opera on stock...wanna uninstall it and Play detects it as not installed. from Application manager, it seems i can only turn off at browser, not uninstall. this makes me wonder... is Opera Mini part of the stock ROM? dang... :S |
Jan 8 2014, 09:41 AM
1,917 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Guys, wanna ask. My note 2, screen doesnt go off by itself. This happens when i lock the screen, and when unlock, it doesnt show the lockscreen. Instead, upon unlocking, it immediately bringa me back the last viewed page.
Anyone got this issue? Happens aftee the update |
Jan 8 2014, 09:45 AM
Jan 8 2014, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Jan 8 2014, 09:41 AM) Guys, wanna ask. My note 2, screen doesnt go off by itself. This happens when i lock the screen, and when unlock, it doesnt show the lockscreen. Instead, upon unlocking, it immediately bringa me back the last viewed page. this has happened to me... i noticed the apps that appears when i unlock as an apps with permission to "prevent phone from sleeping/ screen turning off". i think that could be why your phone screen is not going off.Anyone got this issue? Happens aftee the update should this be happening -- logically, no. i'm on stock rom. 4.3. not rooted yet. |
Jan 8 2014, 10:06 AM
1,917 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jan 8 2014, 10:03 AM) this has happened to me... i noticed the apps that appears when i unlock as an apps with permission to "prevent phone from sleeping/ screen turning off". i think that could be why your phone screen is not going off. Same. not rooted on 4.3. should this be happening -- logically, no. i'm on stock rom. 4.3. not rooted yet. But mine is usually at the home screen. Like after exitting an app, that screen, i lock. then when unlock same page not the lock screen. How to find out the cause or fix this issue? Any idea. Happened twice liao. Need to restart the phone for a temporal fix. |
Jan 8 2014, 10:13 AM
2,237 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(dallas316 @ Jan 7 2014, 04:40 PM) Hi guys!! Nice to be here again and now need your help:) Yes, it will keep running at background even you force close it...if not root, the only way is uninstall updates and disable it...I upgraded to 4.3 way back dec 2013 and I just keep seeing Google Music Player is always running behind the scene even though im not using it.. Is this a 4.3 bug? Thanks in advance! |
Jan 8 2014, 11:20 AM
1,481 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
Just bought this phone for my wife. Now thinking whether to root it or just official update.
Any advise? Never used Samsung before. But I believe if I root it, can unroot it easily for warranty claim just in case, right? |
Jan 8 2014, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(ralfmars83 @ Jan 8 2014, 11:20 AM) Just bought this phone for my wife. Now thinking whether to root it or just official update. any reason for rooting? and the way you put it... it seems like you're into custom roms (mention of "official update")? Any advise? Never used Samsung before. But I believe if I root it, can unroot it easily for warranty claim just in case, right? unlike iphones, rooting not required on android to install third party apps. you just need to enable the function (under SECURITY). i've used my note for more than a year now without the need to root. unless you (your wife, actually) need something that is currently not on the phone (like Note 3 features), otherwise, no need to root. |
Jan 8 2014, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(ralfmars83 @ Jan 8 2014, 11:20 AM) Just bought this phone for my wife. Now thinking whether to root it or just official update. for me, my wife using note II too...It is more than enough for a girl daily use...why need to root it or install custom ROM? anyway, depend on the user usage pattern...if heavy user, then might consider root and custom ROM...Any advise? Never used Samsung before. But I believe if I root it, can unroot it easily for warranty claim just in case, right? (a lot of female users even don't know about 4.3 update....and they don't bother if their phone is good enough for daily use) |
Jan 8 2014, 11:29 AM
ya..forget to say, I will consider to root and install 4.4 custom ROM for my wife Note II if there is a statement announces that Note II won't get 4.4 update in the future...
Jan 8 2014, 11:31 AM
wait until march-april and see whether has 4.4 updates or not
http://www.ibtimes.com/android-44-kitkat-r...msung-galaxy-s4 |
Jan 8 2014, 12:55 PM
13,188 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: 127.0.0.1 |
QUOTE(ralfmars83 @ Jan 8 2014, 11:20 AM) Just bought this phone for my wife. Now thinking whether to root it or just official update. Really, most females don't care about the technicals as long as it works. Technical stuff is what the men are there for. Unless your wife is like Ada of Adafruit industries......or our trade enforcer mod Any advise? Never used Samsung before. But I believe if I root it, can unroot it easily for warranty claim just in case, right? |
Jan 8 2014, 01:31 PM
just checking... can anyone share stock SME PDA/ CSC settings? screenshot would be nice... coz mine is AP set -- South Africa. planning to try to change things to MY set (hopefully better data connection)
Jan 8 2014, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(mydragoon @ Jan 8 2014, 11:24 AM) any reason for rooting? and the way you put it... it seems like you're into custom roms (mention of "official update")? been using custom roms more than 2 yrs. faster update and im OK with AOSP. even my sensation is running on 4.4.2 now.unlike iphones, rooting not required on android to install third party apps. you just need to enable the function (under SECURITY). i've used my note for more than a year now without the need to root. unless you (your wife, actually) need something that is currently not on the phone (like Note 3 features), otherwise, no need to root. need the root access to install apps from black market. medical related apps cost $29.99. |
Jan 8 2014, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(ralfmars83 @ Jan 8 2014, 02:15 PM) been using custom roms more than 2 yrs. faster update and im OK with AOSP. even my sensation is running on 4.4.2 now. Teach me how to root Note II without trigger knox if you know how....I appreciate if you share your knowledge here...thanks!need the root access to install apps from black market. medical related apps cost $29.99. |
Jan 8 2014, 02:30 PM
Jan 8 2014, 07:42 PM
13,188 posts Joined: Dec 2011 From: 127.0.0.1 |
| Change to: | 0.0343sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:01 PM |