17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 12 2013, 05:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ Dec 12 2013, 10:56 AM)
i want to ask lightroom masters here, how can i get this dreamy vintage/ effect from lightroom?

You can start by downloading presets for Lightroom icon_rolleyes.gif
There are a lot of presets available for free download in the web, and many are vintage hehe~
After you have downloaded, apply the preset onto your photo, and adjust from there icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 12 2013, 10:59 AM)
Old story already la, you can read about it here

Of course, considering it's age, the seller might have changed for the better, or maybe not.

I can only say good luck lah to those who wanna deal with him.  laugh.gif
Just finished reading it, sorry to hear of your experience man...
Although I wasn't dealing with mitmivec, my experience was not good as well... macam don't even want my money also haha laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 12 2013, 05:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Dec 12 2013, 04:40 PM)
for me, lightroom is easy to use but it uses a lot of RAM and PC resources

try photoshop, i find it less resource hogging so maybe can perform better for your case, but i'm bad with photoshop sad.gif
Gosh, I dunno what I'll do without LR haha laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2013, 10:10 PM

24,193 posts

No moar raining this morning!!! Finally some macro shots hahaha rclxm9.gif

Caterpillar 1 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Caterpillar 2 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR + Extension Tubes (36mm + 12mm)
Aperture - F16
Shutter Speed - 1/1250 secs
ISO - 320
Flash fired at 1/32
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 13 2013, 11:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 13 2013, 11:01 PM)
Look at those hair. Looks dangerous to be touched. blink.gif
Yeah, definitely haha laugh.gif
There was one who climbed onto my bag last time and I accidentally touched it. It was rather painful at first, then skin inflammation started appearing @_@ Took around 3-4 days for them to fade away, very itchy throughout!
Amazing how something so small can cause so much trouble lol, without the need to sting or bite laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2013, 12:42 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Maniac @ Dec 14 2013, 12:00 AM)

Taken a long time ago...
Nice one bro notworthy.gif
Love the colors and the overall feel very much! thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2013, 10:08 PM

24,193 posts

A pair of Copera marginipes in wheel position (mating) laugh.gif
Lucky find, note the heart shape!

Copera marginipes wheel position by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR
Aperture - F16
Shutter Speed - 1/250 secs
ISO - 800
Flash fired
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 14 2013, 10:59 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 14 2013, 10:56 PM)
Looks noisy... Heavily cropped? hmm.gif

BTW, nice pic bro thumbup.gif
Thanks man~
Good observations!

Yeah~ heavily cropped and shot with bumped up ISO nod.gif
This kind of phenomenon is not easy to shoot upclose since dragonflies/damselflies in tandem are especially alert and they always keep their distance cry.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 12:00 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 14 2013, 10:53 PM)
Read the manual and find sensor cleaning menu, do it several time. I recommend settings it to clean every on/off. I did that and it seems to reduce the necessity to clean my sensor with a blower.

Spam:
Wah, love the 2nd shot!
It really is one fat spider haha laugh.gif
Any shots of it showing the patterns on its abdomen? A bit curious as to what it is haha...
Cause if I am not mistaken, this might be a nocturnal spider brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 01:40 AM

24,193 posts

Upclose shot of a Trumpet Tail thumbup.gif

Hehe, I've managed to get an upclose shot too XD

Acisoma panorpoides ♂ 2 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR + Extension tubes (36mm + 12mm)
Aperture - F16
ISO - 500
Flash fired at 1/32
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 11:47 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ojtee @ Dec 15 2013, 11:01 AM)
nice! have you tried stacking the pics? i.e. focus on different parts , than stack it so everything from front till body end is focused......but that dragonfly is gorgeous focused or not!!
Thanks man! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Yeah, I've tried focus stacking before; sometimes I still prefer non-stacking shots haha laugh.gif Like for this photo, the concentration is on the head only.. But you are right, I should've taken a stacked version to see whether it might end up better icon_rolleyes.gif

A stacked shot:
Neurothemis fluctuans ♀ by PF T.J., on Flickr
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 02:45 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 15 2013, 02:40 PM)
Wedding job yesterday  icon_rolleyes.gif

Awesome shot man notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Very natural~~
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 04:11 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 15 2013, 03:12 PM)
Anyone can give advise? Could it be refurbished?
Almost cheaper by 50% bro,I'm a bit sceptical:hmm:
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 11:40 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 15 2013, 10:03 PM)
Tried new spot, not a good place though. Too many rubbish, but I took some shots now that I was there anyway.

Awesome shot as always man!
I wonder when only I can have the chance to see the sea again sweat.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 15 2013, 11:49 PM

24,193 posts

Upside-down WooHoo shot for tonight thumbup.gif

Flies mating by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR + Extension tubes (36mm + 12mm)
Aperture - F16
ISO - 500
Flash fired at 1/32
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 16 2013, 11:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 16 2013, 07:21 PM)
Hope you guys don't mind me posting pics over here (canon thread is pretty unactive and no macro guy inside also).

Housefly is really an easy subject for macro, they aren't very alert and large in size so you don't need something with really high magnification to take their pictures.

Don't halau me keluar tongue.gif
You are always welcomed mate notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Yeah, houseflies are everywhere, and makes good practice hehe, especially those that are resting or love-making brows.gif
I love Shot 2! If you can get the moment where they secrete a ball of digestive juices (like the one by copperwire93), then it'll be more awesome! I'm still waiting for a chance for that shot haha~

Two more flies for tonight hehe- HoverFlies~
Asarkina ericetorum 1 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Asarkina ericetorum 2 by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - Nikkor 105mm F2.8 VR
Aperture - F7.1
Shutter Speed - 1/125 secs
ISO - 800
Natural Light
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2013, 09:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 17 2013, 12:37 AM)
hehe then i think i will spam my future macro shots here than canon thread.

got really excited while shooting during this evening, then suddenly my flashgun's batteries died  mad.gif

i dropped the wide angle diffuser and sticked a layer or paper on the flash head before using the ocotobox, the lighting does improve though  biggrin.gif

really envy you guys got macro lens, i can only shoot with my 50mm reverse handheld, don't know when will be the day i drop the lens and killed it  sweat.gif

awesome shot as usual, but the WB is abit too yellow to me?
Good morning haha icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah, it can be very exciting,especially when you come across some rare or very beautiful creatures :lol;
Yup, your lighting is quite decent already yo, keep it up~

Wah, you are still using handheld reverse 50mm? hmm.gif Why not plastic extension tubes? You are a Canon user right? SHould be easier to change aperture values via DOF-preview

Thanks for the input on the photo, you are right, really too yellow already haha XD
Changing Hues for yellows and greens fixed the problem notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2013, 01:55 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 17 2013, 12:33 PM)
i tried finding those tubes before, but many shops only sell the expensive electronic ones. do you know any shop that sells them? currently saving for tamron 90mm vc macro lens, i takut keep using the dof preview then remove the lens will damage the contacts one day.
Well, if you intend to get a dedicated macro lens one day, then perhaps there's no real need to get plastic ones... Unless if you don't spending ~RM30 just to practice a bit first laugh.gif I would say its definitely worth spending that small amount of money; sure beats risking dropping your lens hmm.gif

Most of the time you will stick to F16 anyway haha, so you won't use DOF preview that much also right? hmm.gif

Take a look in Garage Sales bro, there are ALOT of sellers selling plastic tubes icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 17 2013, 11:25 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 17 2013, 04:58 PM)
wait until u see the Bigma.

200-500mm f2.8 zoom
Dayum, nice one! Can use for defence too XD

QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 17 2013, 06:49 PM)
LOL, great share man! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 17 2013, 09:03 PM)
Couple of photos of my cats.
Awesome shots man!
#2 might be an incy bitsy too yellowish~
Your cats have grown bigger yo wub.gif

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 17 2013, 09:29 PM)
Any idea what are these?

#1 is an assassin bug! Nice find~ Even better if you can find it assassinating something brows.gif
Cannot see #2 clearly haha
Keep it up! thumbup.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 18 2013, 06:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 18 2013, 10:57 AM)
haha okay thanks a lot. that yellow bug is quite big in real life, i wanted to capture a side profile of it, but I bumped into my flash stand and my speedlite dropped and smacked the bug  cry.gif about the 2nd shot, it's some kind of "shit" looking bug that's everywhere around Kari Leaves. looks really weird.

more pics

Great attempts on the two photos, especially the 1st one!
That's a long-legged fly in the 1st photo, extremely sensitive critter! Its almost impossible to capture one directly from the front with flash, since its so fast that even with flash you will not be able to photograph it on time brows.gif
Some subjects are like that, it takes experiences to know which ones will react that way laugh.gif

The 2nd one is a treehopper I think, I've never seen a variant like this before haha~
Nice~
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 18 2013, 06:37 PM

24,193 posts

A failed "anatomy" shot of a fruit fly laugh.gif

Head of a Bactrocera cf. melastomatos ♂ by PF T.J., on Flickr

Lens - 105mm F2.8 VR + (36mm + 12mm Extension Tubes) + Raynox 250
Aperture - F16