Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

jepertine90
post Dec 23 2013, 05:46 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Dec 23 2013, 05:29 PM)
How amazing FF sensor is*  tongue.gif
only FF can do it? DX can't? sad.gif

jepertine90
post Dec 23 2013, 08:05 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(AuraSapphire @ Dec 23 2013, 07:34 PM)
hey guys. Is there any recommended place to start shooting some photos with KL to Selangor? Im kinda new and hardly take photos. Just have a 18-105mm kit lens + D90.
what kind of photo? landscape? portrait?
jepertine90
post Dec 24 2013, 01:26 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

This post has been edited by jepertine90: Dec 24 2013, 01:27 PM
jepertine90
post Dec 24 2013, 05:45 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

I'm surprise how much can edit with Raw File just by playing with the colour and exposure..
End result didn't differ much from the one I post, just fix some shadow below the lips as you mentioned.

Comic Fiesta 2013 by Pan & Toori, on Flickr
jepertine90
post Dec 24 2013, 06:01 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 24 2013, 05:48 PM)
The dress looks like it clipped highlights too much.. or maybe its my company notebook haha.
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 24 2013, 05:56 PM)
yea i was about to say that.. detail lost in the white
I realised that too, but edi try my best to bring back the details.. so meh~ cry.gif
jepertine90
post Dec 26 2013, 11:01 AM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 26 2013, 09:54 AM)
Guys, very tempting with prime lens right now.

Nikon AF 50mm/1.8D vs Nikon AF-S 50mm/1.8G.

RM4XX vs RM7XX

Motor vs no motor.

For my D3200.
get the G version.. hassle free.. rclxms.gif
jepertine90
post Dec 26 2013, 12:35 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 26 2013, 12:22 PM)
Thank guys, i almost forgot the crop factor is come with body, not the lens. tongue.gif

f5calvin 85mm too expensive for me.

asrul mind to share why u ask me opt for 35mm rather than 50mm?
can I campur tangan here? smile.gif

35mm is more versatile as compared to 50mm, because I believe 50mm is = 75mm in DX which conisder a zoom lens already. while 35mm = 50mm-ish which still a standard wide.

as for zoom lens, the frame you are capturing are much tighter, so if you want to take a full size car you might need to stand way back to frame it, while 35mm you can stand on a normal distance to take the shot.

Because I'm more to like street photography/food/capalang photo, 35mm can capture more than the 50mm. Unless you are going portrait 50mm is perfect for it. I remember read it else where that 35mm is good for full size body, and 50mm is good for half size body..

just some of my humble opinion on 35mm vs 50mm. I think we should get both since 2 lens are very good and strategic priced. whistling.gif
jepertine90
post Dec 26 2013, 02:07 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(asrul @ Dec 26 2013, 02:00 PM)
i bought it for RM350.00  whistling.gif
how wha? rm350? wow~ source mari~ tongue.gif tongue.gif
jepertine90
post Dec 27 2013, 04:36 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Dec 27 2013, 04:08 PM)
Read alot of entry level DSLR recommendation threads today...

Curiously i wonder why ppl seldom recommend Nikon entry level DSLR if compare to Canon and Sony? I read alot of reviews, those in depth analysis, also shown output quality from Nikon is higher than other brands in the same class. The most commendable item for Nikon is hard to learn for newbie in fact they know the quality of Nikon is better.

I dun know, before i own my D3200 less than 2 months ago, i have almost near to nil knowledge regarding the relation of exposure, shutter and aperture. But after less than 2 months, i already able to use manual mode now. Almost every night at home since i bought, i will take out my Nikon to play around even though i have nothing special to shoot (Yesterday i check my shutter count, reached 3359 just over 6 weeks), just shoot and compare the difference of each setting, read and understand the histogram, read online guide, read camera magazine (5th issue bought this week). IMO, Nikon menu setup is not as hard as they mentioned, each items has guide on that, just press a little '?' button will do. For me just same as driving a brand new manual car and learn all the characteristic from the feedback of the car.

My opinion, if ones feel difficult to learn, is not becos it is difficult, just they dun have enough patient and passion for it. Then i would recommend taking compact cam rather than DSLR, cheap and easy to use.

Just my thought.
Nikon is hipster.. Canon too mainstream~ tongue.gif
jepertine90
post Jan 4 2014, 05:40 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(D-Frog @ Jan 2 2014, 10:58 PM)
Backstreets Tinge by MRLYH, on Flickr
Lot 10 smile.gif

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Jan 4 2014, 02:04 AM)
Seems to be that recently Nikon Thread is becoming a bugs macro thread.
No complains from me though, the pics are good.

You went for another round of new year fireworks at the same place?
Wish I could shoot again too... but not this year lol.
This is Nat Geo~ tongue.gif
jepertine90
post Jan 7 2014, 04:25 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jan 7 2014, 02:35 PM)
No optical low-pass filter, Expeed 4 processor, 5FPS.... icon_idea.gif

But the new 18-55 is gooding laugh.gif So small thumbup.gif
ah they removed the optical low-pass filter.. damn I wish my D3200 dun have those.. before enter the DSLR range I know nothing about the optical low-pass filter, till I got to test D7100.. dem the sharpness. Then again lens matters. O well... yawn.gif
jepertine90
post Mar 18 2014, 01:36 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

Hi guys,

I'm planning to upgrade my kit lens, and I have 2 lens in mind.
Rather than browsing the review site, I would like to ask the experience of the user here.

Current lens in Mind would be the 2 famous comparison standard zoom, 3 may be, the Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 VC and non VC also the Sigma 17-50mm f2.8.

Noise(auto focus) doesn't bother me much, but my main concern is the VC and the dust issue that my friend warned me about Tamron lens.

He got the Sigma one, and I've tried it and it is wonderful. However it is too heavy in my taste, as I'm more on walking and traveling, food photog kind of hobbyist.

I can't justify between between these 3 lens, which includes:

Tamron VC - Moderate pricing, quality ok, dust problem? Can fund a 50mm or 85mm for protrait with the saved $$
Tamron non-VC - superb cheap, no VC(might do some video), saved money and fund another prime. Can fund a 50mm or 85mm for protrait with the saved $$ or even throw a speedlite that I always wanted.
Sigma - Rm1.9k, super good in all aspect, but too heavy? a little expensive, but is it worth it?

Dilemma to the max. Some wise advice and justification would be nice. Getting either of these this coming Saturday for my Japan trip Next month. smile.gif

jepertine90
post Mar 19 2014, 01:51 PM

Dean Chan
869 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 19 2014, 12:10 PM)
Great camera  wub.gif  wub.gif Always wanted a 5xxx series laugh.gif
Yeah, a 35mm would be a great choice for street shots~
Pair it with the original kitlens and you'll be good to go  thumbup.gif
same here, after researching and testing. I still feels 35mm combo with kit lens is way to go for a beginner like me who love to travel and street photography and food(in door).

Morning use kit lens, evening/night/indoor use the 35mm.

Was going to purchase the Sigma/Tamron 17-50mm f2.8, but after some researching, and testing my friend's sigma, f2.8 still ain't enough for a good indoor/night street shot. sad.gif Further more Tamron/Sigma 17-50mm perform good starting on f4. Where as my kit lens also perform quite well on all f stops, especially on f8. Sharp as knife.

So Conclusion and some advice to beginner or no idea what to get between a 35mm prime or a upgraded zoom. Definitely get a 35mm prime for DX or 50mm for FX. It performs well in indoor / night shot, while your kit lens will serve you well on morning and landscape. Save that little extra money to get some flash,memory cards, bags, or even next prime.

Upgraded zoom is good for all, but is not top priority. smile.gif

If I'm wrong, enlighten me.

0.0214sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:06 AM