17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.23, National Geography edition

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2013, 10:35 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 1 2013, 10:19 PM)
Hotel wifi laugh.gif
QUOTE(gerald7 @ Dec 1 2013, 10:21 PM)
miss us so much eh... holiday still need to login here smile.gif
Aiyo, you should be enjoying the nightlife there mate brows.gif brows.gif
Pretty lenglois for you to shoot brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2013, 10:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 1 2013, 10:39 PM)
extension tube? so i just have to attach my lens on the tube and then put it on dslr?
First time heard of that thing  icon_question.gif
I've already tried extension tubes and a Raynox 250
Getting a Raynox will be a better pick bro nod.gif
Don't have to worry too much about lost light, malfunction or incompatibility issues, yet at the same time not losing too much on magnification laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2013, 11:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 1 2013, 10:38 PM)
It's December! You guys submit any photo for Flickr Best Shot 2013?

I submitted this just for fun.

Also since I fail to create anything new, I salvage old RAWs which are mostly failed composition and capture. Only able to salvage this one.

Thanks for sharing hehe, submitted a cat photo too laugh.gif They seem to be very popular with the internet haha

Nice landscape photo, love the light rays! The boat thingy is a bit distracting though ,perhaps can pp it out hmm.gif
Sometimes I re-edit my older photos too, with better editing skills now, we can really bring out the best of the older photos, so keep it up mate! notworthy.gif

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 1 2013, 10:52 PM)
how much normally cost for a extension tube?
might get one and play play
Plastic ones costs around RM30 or so, but they cannot support heavy lenses, and have to be used manually (which will be a pain with Nikon DSLRs, not advisable). No autofocus.

Electronically-enabled ones like Meike and Kenko costs around RM250 to RM500 repsectively, they are better built, and enables autofocusing, though the AF performance varies from lens to lens. I've written something on this awhile ago, read here for more details: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry64558546

A Raynox 250, on the other hand is around RM260, and its just a "strap-on" to a regular lens, easy to use haha, less hassle, that's why recommended brows.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 1 2013, 11:09 PM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2013, 11:18 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 1 2013, 11:15 PM)
My point of view is, since i am going to try in macro photography...why not get started with a better ET. but u did mention about auto focus for 50mm 1.8D not really good in ET? i am still curious about that
Well, some people lose interest half way, so its a bit wasteful I suppose hmm.gif
But if you are interested, then it will be good to invest straightaway in a Kenko Extension Tube, since it can somewhat support the weight of a 90mm/ 105mm micro (a lens macro enthusiasts will surely get) nod.gif

AF doesn't work very well on the 50mm F1.8G, its probably the same, or worse in the 1.8D. Focusing is inaccurate and very slow. but still, since its a prime lens, you could simply just move your hands/body forward or backward abit to focus- simple and effective! icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 1 2013, 11:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 1 2013, 11:26 PM)
haha last time my friend tell me that 1.8D not good with d90..but it work perfectly with my d7k lol. so i think it wouldn
t be a problem on that smile.gif

Any suggestion where i can get better offer for kenko extension tube?
are they all fixed ring?
Oh, the lens will surely work well with the body and extension tubes, and you will be able to take great photos!
Just that the autofocus sucks, so you are better off focusing manually, that's all happy.gif
Summore with that aperture ring on the 1.8D, it will work better, especially if the extension tube malfunctions or loose contact nod.gif

I bought my Kenko tubes from yannick. Hell I bought everything from him laugh.gif
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yannick-Came...?flyingspaghettimonster=ts&fref=ts

Recommended seller, deal with confidence icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 12:05 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 1 2013, 11:58 PM)
i just pm the owner of the link...i didnt know kenko ET so costly rclxub.gif
Now i am considering buying it or not.
lol, I've already mentioned the price in my earlier comments what laugh.gif
That's why I recommended Raynox (~RM260) in the 1st place XD
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 12:42 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 2 2013, 12:08 AM)
Kenko

I found this at lelong.my. is this the one you mention??
Yup, that's the one nod.gif

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 2 2013, 12:33 AM)
Macro shooters only talk about 105mm, ET & Raynox... What abt Nikon 40mm & 60mm? laugh.gif

Just curious.. Cause the price of 60mm quite good... If not, i will consider tammy 90mm
Well, the 60mm is a good pick also nod.gif
The thing is most of us started out as normal photographers, so most of us would've gotten the 50mm prime instead haha, then only we pair it with ET, Raynox or reverse lenses for macro. After we have gained experience, then it will make sense to jump to a dedicated, top-of-the-line macro lens for better versatility and performance nod.gif

the 40/60mm is a very good pick, if one already knows he/she is interested in macro right from the start (unfortunately most will not, unless if they have some macro gears to borrow from other friends who are already established) . I've actually recommended some of my friends to go straight ahead with a 30-60mm F2.8 macro lens instead of the usual 50mm F1.8 as their go-to lens laugh.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Dec 2 2013, 12:43 AM
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 10:08 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 2 2013, 01:11 AM)
Can try using those foam wrapping that comes with LCDs and PC cases or laptops. And then curve it for even light coverage. The more diffused the light, the less reflective hotspots on the bugs.

I lazy to do those la, since by the time I'm done, the setup is really cumbersome and gets in the way.

Thinking of trying this out.

Working distance is one issue, most lenses below 90mm have to be very close to the subject to achieve 1:1. Besides, like TJ said, most photogs own a 50 prime already, so a 60 would only be a dedicated macro lens. While
a 90/105 works as a dual purpose lens, for portraits as well as macro. Hence more useful.
Thanks for the input man, appreciate it! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
That diffuser looks good, might try it out someday, at least its smaller than the softbox haha, if its diffusing capabilities are equal, if not better than my current softbox, then it'll be the one staying on my flash XD

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:42 AM)
mkiii so macho 
Thanks bro notworthy.gif
Its kind of a ridiculous setup haha, very heavy and bulky, but since it takes great photos, I have no choice but to stick to it sweat.gif

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 2 2013, 11:00 AM)

Yea, been always wanted to go out at night, but never really dared to do so, maybe will try it once I get some more legs  The type of insects I get during the evening are sorta limited, planning to try early morning some time soon

Btw, what's your bracket and softbox brand?
Well, you can try your house garden (if you have one), who knows you might be able to find something interesting brows.gif Still, botanical gardens or forests are the best, since everything is out hunting ^___^ I am looking forward to my first night outing too~
You will get most insects during the morning 7-10am. Dragonflies and damselflies usually come out a bit later, when it gets really hot laugh.gif

The FlashBracket is from FotoPro, diffuser from GamiLight icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 2 2013, 11:04 AM)
Some more. Testing compositions. Kthxbai, need to sleep. Haha! laugh.gif

Damn hardworking yo bro notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I love #2 and #3~~ Really magical shots, despite the cloudiness!
Awesome!

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 10:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(jianh @ Dec 2 2013, 07:59 PM)
TJ, here you go  smile.gif

Wah the softbox as you've shown sure makes shooting photos a lot nicer, where to get one?

rclxub.gif I'm currently struggling with shooting in low light conditions, if it isnt too noisy/grainy then it's blur...
Dayuuum, that is one sexeeey beast wub.gif wub.gif
Kudos to you! I never had the balls to take this kind of shots cry.gif
Scared later ppl thought I wanna steal car haha, face problem XD

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 2 2013, 08:35 PM)
Today's try, really need improve lightning liao, either the light wont hit, or sometimes too harsh

Great photos man! Keep it up! I like all 3 of them~~
The pose of the Malay Dartlet in the 1st shot is very good, its just too bad that sometimes the background will be pitch black when there's nothing (leaves) for the flash to hit lol... this can be solved by printing some leaves on A4 paper and used as background XD Though I am kind of lazy to do that haha, like cheating XD

#2 is quite good also, just that the abdomen is out of focus already, might be better if the magnification is not so high = more DOF

#3 is the best among the 3, since its shot from afar, there's more DOF, and both ant heads are in focus, which is no easy task! Kudos!

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 2 2013, 08:44 PM)
Tammy 90 very good lens, sony's thread fansoption got a lot nice macro with his 90mm tamron.

When you macro need kaki, feel free to find me to tag along. haha  tongue.gif
QiAnG, you are from Miri too?
Perhaps next time can ask you all help me collect some samples for research notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 10:43 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:37 PM)
Me and bro [PF] T.J. made it to Flickr blog. biggrin.gif
http://blog.flickr.net/en/2013/12/02/your-...-puppy-kittens/
Grats! haha notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(jepertine90 @ Dec 2 2013, 10:41 PM)
you guys are so pro!  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Its just luck for me laugh.gif
I just found the cat, and took a few photos, all credits go to the cat tongue.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 2 2013, 10:44 PM

24,193 posts

Photo for tonight!

Unidentified Salticid by PF T.J., on Flickr

The number of spiders that I cannot identify are getting higher and higher sad.gif sad.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 12:12 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(poad @ Dec 2 2013, 10:47 PM)
nice one..now i can see all eyes of spider..which lense did u use?
Thank you man! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Jumping Spiders (Salticids) have some of the cutest eyes, which is why many love to photograph them XD
Other creepier spiders can have 6-8 eyes, where members of different families might show different eye arrangements! Very interesting~

Shot taken with Mark III baby XD

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 12:15 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 2 2013, 11:02 PM)
This are today's "macro" laugh.gif
NurAzam, on Flickr
Awesome shots bro~
#1:
Dayumm that is one very fat Lynx Spider haha, look at mine T___T On diet:

#2:
This kind of flies are some of the hardest to photograph, especially with flash, since they always managed to fly away even after you press the shutter button sweat.gif
I've not got a shot from the front yet laugh.gif Tough one hehe, though some sifus say it might be easier to land a shot early in the morning icon_rolleyes.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 12:19 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 2 2013, 10:49 PM)
i really wondering how close you guys put ur camera to the object
With Mark III, it has to be quite close, perhaps around 5 inchs between the subject and the end of the lens. It will be even closer when Raynox or lenses of shorter (<105mm) focal lengths are used. Some insects will run away if you get to close, so have to learn from experience which ones are sensitive, then change your macro lenses accordingly.

For instance, dragonflies and damselflies are usually very alert, and are often perching at areas you cannot reach, so it might be better to just remove the extension tubes/Raynox, and shoot directly using the 90/100/105mm macro lens icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(tongweng @ Dec 2 2013, 11:11 PM)
I hate spiders XD...but they look very nice thumbup.gif
Jumping Spiders are cute, though I can't say the same for the other types of spiders haha XD

Look at them eyes wub.gif

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 07:09 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Dec 3 2013, 12:28 PM)
Le fly~  whistling.gif

Nice shot man, eat your fly too laugh.gif
Oxyopes birmanicus ♀ eating a bee by PF T.J., on Flickr

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 3 2013, 03:00 PM)
see the thread description, NatGeo thread already laugh.gif
Wah, awesome haha rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 03:40 PM)
Haha join me next time! biggrin.gif

Shooting in the rain is not an easy task, really challenging ><
Very impressive photos mate! Totally different feel when racing in the rain shocking.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 07:23 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 3 2013, 05:11 PM)

Yep bro I'm from Miri, sure no problem, haha.

Thanks for the input bro, trying to go out a lot and take a lot, somehow its quite hard to get most parts of the insects in focus. I think I'll try focus further and crop in. Have to start getting bracket too, missed so many shots of spiders because the light cant hit inside part of the plant. What a tiring hobby. haha
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 3 2013, 05:13 PM)

Really like your spider shots  notworthy.gif  How can you be so close and yet the dof is so big? Did you crop?

Btw, I like the lightning too. very even
Thank you man, much appreciated! notworthy.gif
Will let you know if I need anything for my research hehe, but probably need to find in the jungle tongue.gif Of course I don't mind paying you for your trouble; sure beats flying over there myself haha laugh.gif

Yeah, a good diffuser will help improve shots tremendously, and the shape of the diffuser will help too. If you are into jumping spiders, then ring flashes are good picks~ rclxms.gif
Well, sometimes you can lure the spider out what haha, then only shoot. Jumping spiders are usually pretty curious and not shy laugh.gif

Yup, the shot is cropped, most macro shots are cropped, as far as I know haha~
There are only two ways (based on what I've learned so far) to get large DOF:
1. Shoot with lower magnification, then cropped or
2. Focus stacking

[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 07:24 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Dec 3 2013, 07:11 PM)
My favourite too... FYI, there r lots of mice there tongue.gif
QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 3 2013, 07:13 PM)
One of my fav too. Going soon for the chicken and porridge and noodle, haha
Woah, you guys are making me hungry haha laugh.gif laugh.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 07:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(QiAnG @ Dec 3 2013, 07:17 PM)

My shots today, spot a lot of bugs I never shot before, but curse the windy weather, can't get any decent shot for today, even missed  a few bugs.

Somehow I think a lot of my shots are soft even if they appear sharp on the camera screen, any recommended way to check focus? Or maybe my shots are suffering from diffraction, I normally use f16-22.

smile.gif Off to dinner
Awesome shots mate! notworthy.gif
I'm sure these were not taken at your house garden right? laugh.gif

#1 is a fungus beetle
#2 is a Great Egg Fly (Hypolimnas bolina) - great shot, these butterflies don't usually hang around too much laugh.gif
#3 bug porn! XD
#4 is an Electric Blue Banded Phintella (Phintella vittata) - this is a very tough spider to shoot since they are extremely jumpy, I have yet to get a decent shot of the front hehe, can try it as a challenge~
#8 is a stilt legged fly- again, a tough shot since their legs are so damn long and are always out of focus. You did very well in your shot, where the legs are still pretty decently focused, kudos! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Shots will be come very soft at high magnifications, so the trick is to reduce magnification (yes I know its hard to do that for a macro shooter haha) and crop later, or focus stack ^___^
Keep it up~~ notworthy.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 07:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(poad @ Dec 3 2013, 07:33 PM)
superb bro... thumbup.gif
Thanks mate, do share your photos too oh thumbup.gif

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 3 2013, 07:39 PM)
I just got a fly today. Cannot go out, banjir.

Beautiful action shot!
That fly can be cropped out and photochopped for many stuffs haha laugh.gif
One fly shot to complement yours hehe, though mine a bit out of focus liao XD

Fly pee~
Fly and Water Droplet by PF T.J., on Flickr
[PF] T.J.
post Dec 3 2013, 10:51 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(copperwire93 @ Dec 3 2013, 08:00 PM)
Wow! You got many macro photos, I have another shot of the fly, but it release somekind of fluid from its mouth whenever I get close. I got the shot with its fluid. But... not good for viewing whistling.gif
Wow, that is an interesting shot man!
Flies will secrete fluids when they find suitable food. The fluid will digest the food before the fly sucks them up brows.gif
I'm sure its a great shot hehe, share share~~

I've never seen anything like that before though haha, and I don't intend on waiting beside dog poo to find out XD

QUOTE(poad @ Dec 3 2013, 08:08 PM)
nah...me beginner...still learning... biggrin.gif
We all have to start somewhere thumbup.gif
I used to be very poor in my macro shots too haha

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Dec 3 2013, 08:13 PM)
Haha must tag Sifu CY along too!! His motorsports photo are awesome! My inspiration lol!
Nice pictures!! Its awesome that you know your subjects! How do you know if you don't mind telling
How long do you guys wait for the subjects for a macro shot?? Keep up the good work!  thumbup.gif
Yeah, CY sifu's photos are so good, both the cars and girls wub.gif
Coincidentally I am also working a bit on some insect research, so I know some of them haha, I just refer to books or scientific literature. I can only ID the commons ones la haha Still much to learn~

Usually noneed to wait (unless flying or hunting shot), just find them and shoot laugh.gif
Like copperwire93 mentioned, its more about composition, focusing and ninja stealth to not scare them away XD

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0497sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:48 PM