Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

mr lappy
post Aug 15 2006, 11:41 AM

398 posts

another thing regarding banks and stuff, if your college/uni has a special arrangement with a particular branch, got get as many stuff as possible, as in current account, savings and a credit card&debit card.
because if u try getting it at another branch/another bank, its almost impossible.

as for credit card, make sure u dont overspend, other than that u will find it is a nice tool to have with you. coz debit card on some places(online) they dont take it.

edit:

regarding calling home, if u are on a contract that free minutes includes 0845/0844 numbers, i have a few number that enables u to call to m`sia for practically free by only using your free minutes.

im on o2 so o2 contracts includes it.

ill try to dig out my uk phone when im free.

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Aug 15 2006, 11:53 AM
mr lappy
post Aug 15 2006, 10:54 PM

398 posts

hehe the no. i hav is not that 1,

lol... 1 more number in my liste

1 of them is only for weekends another is for weekdays, i cant remember which 1, it will tell u if its wrong.
mr lappy
post Aug 17 2006, 05:20 PM

398 posts

4k for the whole acadamic year? you're joking.

im thinking in the region of 5-6k at lease.

im in central london so last yr i spent about about 9k on everything else except skool fees.

food(varies coz im living in hostel last year so i cant really comment on it.)
mobile $35
hostel rental > 110/week w/food+utilities (cheap! in zone 1 biggrin.gif)
next yr 90 a week slightly further but no bills and food included.
entertainment > dunno, seasonal, if i go out more then it goes up.
mr lappy
post Aug 21 2006, 09:21 PM

398 posts

im not sure for loyds, but interest u can set it to recive monthly , 3 monthly 1/2 yr or yearly if i remember correctly.
i think the total is still the same its all up to you.
mr lappy
post Dec 18 2006, 06:45 AM

398 posts

i dont want snow. very messy. anyway if its gonna be cold, it darn well better be snowing or else not worth the endurance for the cold laugh.gif

im already hating the weather now, gloomy and a lil cold for my liking. and its always raining... sad.gif
mr lappy
post Jun 21 2007, 07:38 AM

398 posts

i agree with you. hsbc are arses!

till today (3 years) i have yet & unable to get an current account with them.

when i try they only tell me that ive been rejected but wont want to give an explanation.
mr lappy
post Jun 26 2007, 11:46 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 26 2007, 07:04 AM)
lower than abt 80pound per week is tax free. esp. for student.

Added on June 26, 2007, 7:05 am

there was a gathering once in london by LYN members in UK.
ya there were the first 1 went decently but the 2nd 1 was a total flop. after that we decided it wasnt worth doing it when ppl dont care about it...

lol sheffield banjir tongue.gif

north london also got but dunno how bad....

my place is nice and dry tongue.gif
mr lappy
post Sep 30 2007, 04:50 AM

398 posts

QUOTE(empyreal @ Sep 30 2007, 01:15 AM)
i can so guess where you study.  laugh.gif
rofl.
if both of us are thinking of the same college that would be kinda freaky tongue.gif

btw. i thought that the free bus+tram using oyster thing is only for 16-17?
mr lappy
post Oct 1 2007, 05:46 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(HuorEarfalas @ Sep 30 2007, 07:47 AM)
It was free from 16-17. But tfl recently renew the policy in such u're still entitled to free travel if u're 18 provided:

1. Full time education in London Borough.
2. U live in london borough.
3. 18 years old on 31st august and ur education started before the mentioned date.

I assume u studied in the college before where i'm currently studying tongue.gif
hehe. yeah. 2 years ago.

u peeps are so lucky, bck then i had to pay for the busses
mr lappy
post Oct 14 2007, 06:08 AM

398 posts

listen to the voice thing lor. the instruction will be told to you the moment you connect
mr lappy
post Nov 3 2007, 08:22 PM

398 posts

i think i might be able to contribute something

im staying in central london(betw regents park and baker st)

im in a twin room with another guy which is not ensuite(student hall). only a sink. im paying about 80+/week. without food. but electricity and water included(heating is central so no need to bother)

im switching to a single next year and i will be paying about 120+/week without food ect the same as above.

if u were to get a private place around my area, kingsX russell sq, euston.... u would be looking to pay about a BARE min of 120+ on accommodation alone. it would work out cheaper if u were to share it with more ppl( 4 and above) its expensive in central but u dont waste too much time travelling like azarimy said.

its all depending on what u want. student accomodation is always cheaper and some for about 110+ u can get full catered+utilities so its a good deal. but they tend to only let 1st yaers stay. so i think by the end of the first year u should know your way round enough to decide what u want.

bare in mind some non-catered place dont allow cooking. but sometimes they have a kitchen in the basement or something so check.

depending on what u cook or if u are a hungry monster(like me tongue.gif ) u should be looking at about 30-50quid a week for food if u cook everyday.

i tend to take out quite often so i spend about 4-6quid on dinner and lunch i usually eat at school canteen so its cheaper. and breakfast depending if im late or not i either have a cup of tea and some biscuits or just rush job go to school and get something light to eat at school.

as for work, in general u should not have problem getting work. legally there is some red tape to be sorted out but i dont recomemnd working illegally. u might hear ppl saying its safe to do that(alot of ppl do that especially in chinatown but recently they raided quite a few places) but i dont think its worth it.

get a job legally, u pay tax initially but if u earn below a certain amount tax year u can claim it back. after the first time sorting out the red tape, the next subsequent 1 will be easier since u have a record in the system.
and start looking early, dont wait until nearing holidays only start. thats when other ppl do that and u will have too much competition.

and keep in mind that most larger stores have a bad handling of records(physical paper wise) especially CV's so keep in mind that they'll just chuck it around like nobody business especially they are not actively recruiting.

utilities wise, when i had my own flat last year, i was paying about 1 pound a day electric and slightly less than 1 pound a day for gas on average(if i remember correctly). but its somewhere around that region. but then again i didnt really had the central heating on too long, usually in the early morning for a few hours and at night a few hours.

internet wise, i was with telewest initially(like every1 said they were superb) then it got taken over by virgin media which was alright initially then towards the end(b4 i was shifting) they were shite. customer service are r3tards. and they charge u for troubleshooting as well(on the telephone) so when u call up make sure the problem is not on your end and never say u dont know whats happening(even u dont know tongue.gif) coz its almost always their fault.
the problem i had was that their signal was too weak and that took them like a week to find out and another 2 weeks to send some1 over. so i was only getting intemetten connection. and when i was to get my deposit bck i spent no less than 10quid trying to get them to sort it out. on hold most of the time. if u take their phone package then its free for u to call but i didnt.

virgin media limit your connection during peak hours after u download a certain limit(its in their T&C) but they dont send u warning letters(i know coz i always hit their limit tongue.gif)
like others said, they are the best(as far as i can see) if u d/l like theres no tomorrow. but pray that nothing goes wrong...

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Nov 3 2007, 08:54 PM
mr lappy
post Nov 4 2007, 08:11 PM

398 posts

er... no u still shouldnt get 20k. maybe the area is too many users on their backbone. if u got nothing to do the complain maybe they might do something about it....

lets say your connection is a 1 meg line, when u hit the limit, they cut it by half. so u can only get 1/2 megs for 4-5 hours then its back up again until u hit the limit again(if i remember correctly)during the peak hours of course. unless u hit the limit right b4 the peak hours ends then hard luck tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Nov 4 2007, 08:13 PM
mr lappy
post Nov 5 2007, 07:54 AM

398 posts

well hard luck then. maybe downgrade it to like 10 or 5? i see little point in getting 20 megs when your top spd is so slow
mr lappy
post Nov 6 2007, 06:56 AM

398 posts

complain to them and make a fuss, check your T&c if u are able to downgrade without a penalty or something.
make enough fuss they might throw in something.
mr lappy
post Dec 5 2007, 06:49 AM

398 posts

u are so going to pay through your nose >_<

but then again u dont really have a choice anyway u need your specs...
mr lappy
post Dec 5 2007, 09:44 PM

398 posts

prices varies from the frame u get, lense u choose, coating ect...

u would be looking to pay about 100quid or more for a typical specs(as you probably know by now)

why not go to the shop and ask?

mr lappy
post Dec 23 2007, 06:08 AM

398 posts

i can vouch for the hackney area... its quite bad there.... >_<
every few week or so sure got some1 got capped stabbed or something bad happen there.

heck some1 got done in just opposite my place and my roomie got mugged just round the corner from our place as well....

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Dec 23 2007, 06:12 AM
mr lappy
post Dec 23 2007, 08:42 PM

398 posts

i think what the letter asks is that are u being sponsored atm. not if u are going to apply.

if u intend to apply but u are not getting sponsorship atm then the answer is no.

like u said sponsorships for international students within the uk is quite limited. so far i know only that they give some sort of scholarship like to help top-up with expenses only but full. but so far ive only heard about small amounts like 500 quid.

there are a number of private scholarship funds around, but thoes are quite limited as well, and there are many ppl applying to it.
mr lappy
post Dec 24 2007, 08:15 AM

398 posts

well, to be fair, crime happens everywhere. so u just got to be sensible and be street smart.

yeah, nottingham's campus is nice, big with lots greens.... unlike some uni in london whch have nothing and only a building dry.gif
*points at self...*
mr lappy
post Dec 27 2007, 12:27 AM

398 posts

bah.. i ve been seeing u all arguing on this stupid ranking thing for a few days now. i would suggest making another thread on this.

btw, boxing day sale.!!
go grab yourselves a bargain.

im getting myself a ext hdd... its only 99.99quid. ok can consider it 100 for 750gigs in pc world..

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Dec 27 2007, 12:27 AM

0.0658sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:13 AM