Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

lord
post Oct 30 2007, 09:06 PM

392 posts

Hey yah...just have some questions to ask. I got offer to do my master from 3 unis which are UWE, Westminster and Birmingham City Uni. Just kinda headache to choose one of them. I know they are not top class uni but don't really have a choice as there are not many uni that offer postgraduate programmes with January intake. Btw I applied for MSc/MA International Business and Management. smile.gif
lord
post Feb 27 2008, 04:31 PM

392 posts

damn why didn't i feel the earthquake?? my friend was telling me and i didn't believe it...aww come on...
lord
post May 22 2008, 01:40 AM

392 posts

hey...does anyone know how to check the location of the exchange centre for internet of a city?? moving into a new place soon and deciding which broadband to apply...might pick bt so want to know the distance of my area and the exchange centre..

thanks yeah.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
lord
post May 22 2008, 07:36 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ May 22 2008, 06:40 AM)
you will need the post code at least to know the exact distance of your house to the exchange centre in your area.

http://www.samknows.com/broadband/checker2.php

where are you moving to?
birmingham... tongue.gif gonna move out from campus in June...cant wait to leave...mat salleh driving me crazy.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
lord
post May 24 2008, 10:14 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 09:00 PM)
Yes... I bring my Nokia 2600. Now my Nokia (still with Maxis simcard) shows O2 network. Does it mean it's unlocked?

Added on May 24, 2008, 9:02 pmBy the way, I found my housemates wear just a piece of T-shirt and a short pant and they don't feel cold at all. For my case, during evening and at night, I need to wrap myself with 4 clothes to resist the cold. Now it's just end of spring, I could not imagine what will happen to me when winter comes.
lol dont compare yourself with them...you can on the heater if you feel cold..not sure whether it works during spring...even it's spring but it was kinda cold last week and the wind is awful...or you can get yourself a heater if you can't take the cold during winter..i bought one for about 8 pounds..it works as a fan as well when i'm feeling hot... rclxm9.gif
lord
post May 25 2008, 12:02 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 24 2008, 11:49 PM)
Ha Ha... no joke man... I felt really cold until shivering last night. Then, I put on 4 clothes, i.e. T-shirt, 2 sweater, and winter jacket, after that baru felt OK. I asked my housemate how to switch on the heater. But he said we're not allowed to switch on the heater except winter as he said this might make the electricity bill hikes. Oh my god when I heard about it as I was not sure if I could tahan until the next morning. I don't have 'thick blanket'. In M'sia, it's too hot. Here, it's too cold pula... alamak.

Added on May 24, 2008, 11:51 pm
Yup... just reached here on 23 May 2008. Still 'ding-dong-ding-dong' now, not really settle down yet... sure will minum2 with you later... Thanks.
flex.gif flex.gif not sure about the heater thing but i think blanket is not very expensive...can try to get from those big supermarket like tesco..when i first came it was winter and i couldnt sleep at night..was spending whole night shivering even i on the heater to max...just have to get used to it... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif welcome to uk..

hmmm...fire alarm went off again last night...2nd time this week and 3rd time in this 2 weeks...firemen got pissed and i heard they gonna fine those people...i heard it's 800 pounds person...is it true?? serve them right... rclxms.gif
lord
post May 27 2008, 04:22 AM

392 posts

hmmm...just wondering..if i take the virgin broadband+phone package..do i still need a bt line for the virgin phone?? because i found that only broadband is more expensive compare to broadband+phone...weird deal for me but can't seem to find any trap...

wanted bt but since we're renting the house and not sure about transfering the line n stuff so decided to go for cable...
lord
post May 27 2008, 05:17 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ May 27 2008, 05:02 AM)
no you dont. virgin media will include the that.
thanks man...

then the virgin 20mb deal is still much cheaper compare to bt 8mb... rclxms.gif
lord
post May 27 2008, 05:37 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ May 27 2008, 05:07 PM)
I'm thinking of buying a printer. Inkjet or laser. Can we find those 'refill' ink or 'refill' toner at Sheffield?

Added on May 27, 2008, 5:26 pmI want to post an important document back to M'sia. What're available postage services (not so expensive, forget about FedEx or DHL) at Sheffield? Thanks.
I sent packages back to M'sia using Royal Mail with Airmail International Signed For...around 5+ pounds..it will require the recipient's signature so i think it is quite reliable..reached M'sia after 5 working days..sent twice and no problem for me...i think can get it from any post office... nod.gif not sure about Sheffield though..but should be the same i guess.. icon_rolleyes.gif
lord
post May 29 2008, 05:37 PM

392 posts

okay...just need some opinions...received a call from virgin just now saying that they saw my application on the broadband(i didn't finish the application because i was just testing to apply) and asked me whether i am still interested. i told him i gonna apply online and he told me he can do it via the phone as it takes longer to proceed online...then he gave me a 0780xx number and asked me to call him back after i confirm...

sounds a bit fishy because he gave me a mobile phone number and he called me with a 011 number...i am not sure whether i should trust him by giving him my dedit card details...although he could specifically call out my name and my location...could it be the employee from virgin stole the customer details and trying to con them? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
lord
post May 29 2008, 06:19 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ May 29 2008, 06:10 PM)
lord, nowadays virgin media is offering a 50quid cashback if a virgin media user recommends their services to a new friend. both parties will get the 50quid casback each. so i guess the guy might be trying to cash in on it. it's perfectly legal, but ofcourse, u dont know the guy.

however, i'm a virgin user as well. now if u want the 50quid cashback... call me biggrin.gif heh heh heh...
woah!! serious?? damn the guy told me he can give me 20 pounds off the installation charge..means he trying to keep the remaining 30...

how does it work?? hey if it works then why not?? brows.gif brows.gif
lord
post Jun 4 2008, 04:09 PM

392 posts

QUOTE([+] @ Jun 2 2008, 09:47 PM)
I just came at Feb, still do not know many friends?  cry.gif
And from what I know, most Malaysian student only attend the 3rd year in my U.
So summer holiday all will finish the course and graduate dy  whistling.gif
i'm in birmingham and if you told me earlier you can put your stuff in my house...if there's not a lot of them... brows.gif
lord
post Jun 17 2008, 08:06 PM

392 posts

in deep sh*t...after moved into my new house i found that the carpet in my room had very bad odour, stains and toe nails stuck in it. we only viewed the house twice and each time less than 5 mins...and she promised to wash the carpet before we signed the contract...so i complained to the agent and then the landlady came to have a look. she offered to get something to cover the stains but i think the odour was from pets(either pee or poo...all over the room)...is damn obvious putting something on top wont remove the smell...i tried odour removal but the smell wont go...so i asked whether it is possible to change the carpet and i dont mind paying part of it...she agreed and asked for 50:50...so in few days she came to measure, got someone to ripped off the old carpet and i did ask her to let me know the price before changing it...so someone came n fitted in the new carpet last week and i was waiting for her to give me the receipt...not til just now, she knocked at my door and gave me a receipt of 160 pounds and ask me to pay for the full amount...told her i cant afford and she didnt let me know the price b4 changing it...then she started saying she wasted her time, spent money to ripped off the carpet, and some other costs..we argued a bit and she got pissed off..started scolding people then left...

i really dont want to argue with her and i got pissed when she asked me to pay for the whole thing...i am not saying that i wont pay but is unreasonable to ask me to pay for the whole thing...she did agree to pay half and on the phone she did say she gonna pay for the fitting and now she just throw the receipt to me and ask for the whole thing....she said she gonna rip off the carpet if i dont pay(honestly i dont mind if i dont have to pay and from her attitude we can tell there is no way we gonna get our deposit back)...

i know it's my own fault for not checking the house properly in the first place and i know am not in a good position and might end up paying for the whole thing..just wondering whether there is any chance for me to pay less?? notworthy.gif
lord
post Jun 17 2008, 11:09 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jun 17 2008, 10:45 PM)
did you ask the repairer send the bills to your landlady instead of you? because usually landlord or landlady is responsible to all repairing bills. Probably try ask city council to help you. what i know, there should be have one service, helping student who having any renting problem.
the landlady came to pass the receipt to me and asked me to pay for it. argued with her but she started saying she paid someone to ripped off the carpet, cost her money to dispose the old carpet, paid extra for them to fix it earlier bla bla bla......

gonna go to student union to ask for opinions...and show them the contract to see whether there is anything we can do... sad.gif sad.gif
lord
post Aug 7 2008, 04:03 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(melt @ Aug 7 2008, 11:38 AM)
Water bill cost around GBP40-60 for 3 months
Electricity bill depends if the house are using gas then it will be much cheaper.(Heating with gas is far much cheaper than using electricity)
dont forget about council tax as well. Mine cost GBP100 per month(since you are a student you will not need to pay this but will need a letter from your uni). Internet fee should cost around GBP20-30 depends what requirement you wanted.

If can i suggest that you rent a student apartment as it should be far much cheaper. Most of the student apartment are not far from the city center  smile.gif
water bill not covered by landlord??
lord
post Sep 5 2008, 01:45 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(psychict @ Sep 4 2008, 10:25 PM)
anyone familiar with Bath?

So $500 is suffice for start off for appliances etc?
my bro is in bath...damn nice city... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Janus995 @ Sep 5 2008, 12:04 AM)
Anyone taking the Emirates flight KL-Dubai-London on the 16th? Would like to get to know any of you, so that we won't get lonely on the long flights and the transit in Dubai. I'm travelling alone. Yeah its freaking me out abit.

I will be going to Nottingham in UK. Anybody here going there too?

Oh and another thing, can anybody who has collected their visa explain how its done? Do I have to queue up again and get a number or do I just go in immediately?
2am flight on 16th sept?? i'm taking that but it's kl-dubai-birmingham...biggrin.gif

collecting visa is in the afternoon...you just have to go in and wait for your name to be called...if i'm not mistaken...

0.0879sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:52 PM