dreamer101
post Aug 20 2006, 01:41 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 20 2006, 01:11 AM)
I bought my printer as well as the refills from Malaysia. I brought it along, I didn't post it.
Hi All,

Why don't you buy a cheap laser printer??

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Aug 20 2006, 02:13 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 20 2006, 01:58 AM)
Hhmm... Good question.. I knew I was going to print colour pages as well. So, my option is to get something portable and colour printer together (in the end, I bought Canon i80). Though it is expensive, I get to put in my backpack instead of inside my luggage.

Besides, I could bring it back after easily..
Goliath,

After 2 to 4 years, it may not be worthwhile for you to bring it back..

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Aug 22 2006, 12:58 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Aug 22 2006, 12:37 AM)
Paper is heavy. At any rate, you can buy a 500 piece stack for around £3. And
quite frankly, all you need to bring are things to settle you down. The rest can be bought; it is not too expensive if you shop smartly.

One thing which I think I should mention to people with regards to laptops. The issue of where to buy laptops (and to quite frank, anything electronic  and expensive such as dSLRs etc) were discussed before, but I did not point out what could be the turning point: Warranty.

If you are here for one year, then buy them from Malaysia. The international warranty will cover you (most manufacturers offer one year international warranty), although trying to claim the warranty could be a pain in the butt.

If you will be here for longer, then buy them from the UK. Sure, its pricier, but think about it. You'd usually be able to get three year (local UK) warranties, and you don't need to suffer the hassle (price-wise, for courier expenses which can be very very expensive; and time wise especially). If you will be here for your entire course, this option is well worth looking at.
Elb,

I thought Dell's warranty is international for laptop and you can buy 3 years extended warranty fairly cheap?? Am I wrong??

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Aug 22 2006, 01:47 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Aug 22 2006, 01:09 AM)
I am not familiar with Dell actually. Well actually, yes thank you for reminding me. Some manufacturers do allow you to pay more for an extended international warranty but it has to be done within a certain time frame of purchase. I do not recall the price but I think it is a couple of hundred ringgit or something.

There is another problem though. Some of the UK dealers would try to avoid accepting liability for international warranties - they really beat around the bush when my friend's laptop's hard drive failed on him, telling him that he should contact Malaysia, that it wasn't their business etc. It took him a few months just to get that problem fixed.

And if you buy it here, you get to get your hands on some of the newest models which might not come on sale in Asia for a few months.
Elb,

If you buy Dell, you get service from Dell UK directly without dealing with dealer.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Aug 22 2006, 07:54 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 22 2006, 07:33 AM)
Yup Dell offers international limited warranty for 3 years if you take their full-blown 3 year complete care package. But to take advantage of their full service (not limited) you'll have to be in Malaysia.
HP on the other hand gives 1st year international warranty, with option for extension for another 2 years at a fee. The caveat is, that the extra 2 years are only valid locally (Malaysia). For international coverage you have to purchase a care pack from the country you're going to within 90 days from purchase date of laptop.

Hopes this clears up the confusion.

BTW, my bro who is training with MAS, says that on UK flights, only ONE hand carry is allowed (with strict adherence to required dimensions). So if you bring your laptop on board you can't bring a second bag (unlike previously). Just stuff all your stuff into the laptop bag, I guess.
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...c=my&l=en&s=dhs

I think Dell has a International service program too. See above URL...

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Aug 23 2006, 07:11 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Aug 23 2006, 06:54 AM)
Indeed, my friend's laptop is a very well known international brand. So I disagree with your 'point of story'.
I have no idea what is considerred as well known brand. But, from my experience , there are only 3 brands of laptop that worth buying: Toshiba, IBM Thinkpad, and Dell. The other brands did not survive the abuses of frequent travels.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Aug 26 2006, 02:52 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Aug 25 2006, 04:54 PM)
Yes they have waterproof stuff. The most popular waterproof technology is a membrane called GoreTex. Heck, even Prada Sport has a range of clothes which are made with GoreTex.

Expect to pay around £60 for GoreTex shoes (let's say, from Clarks), and £200 for good GoreTex (winter) jackets (let's say, from Tog24). If you don't like them heavy, there is a lighter (and pricier) GoreTex XCR version. Alternatively there are many other clothes made from different waterproof technologies which sell for cheaper.
I agree. Open up your taste buds!
By the way, you can get those Goretex winter jacket at RMB 200 to RMB 300 in China which is about RM 100 to RM150 each.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Aug 26 2006, 11:14 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(netfan @ Aug 26 2006, 07:56 AM)
Are those <ahem>.. knockoff?  smile.gif
Yes.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Aug 26 2006, 07:54 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 26 2006, 07:21 PM)
Yes. RM1.50 per pack, but if you calculate it backwards, you're spending RM3000 + airticket to transfer something that is worth RM1.50. Try and bring a 5 pack maggi mee for your first week, that's all you need.

Save your space for something you can't get here in the UK such as some herbs, snacks or stuff.

I'm not sure what is the card you are talking about but most uni offer the student this card called NUS card and you can get pretty good discount here and there.
Geminist,

Actually, you should bring some spices like White Pepper, Black Pepper, curry powder. Those things are small and light and you can bring a little bit to last one year. But, they cost a lot of money in USA. Is it the same in UK??

Dreamer

0.0474sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:15 AM