Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

bbmars
post Aug 15 2007, 02:49 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 15 2007, 08:42 AM)
That, I don't know..

For one, they do not spoon feed. They encourage you to listen and ask questions..
Just wanted to add this, Not sure there is any changes since I left UK almost 8 years already. I was from Birmingham U, Engineering course (direct 2 yr entry). I am also not sure how different it is from MY as I am from SG. Just put it this way. More are expected on individual to do research on your own especially when comes to assignment and course work. I even encounter lectures that has nothing to do with assignement, but just an added knowledge to build you on your course. My lecturers used to tell me,

"Whatever they gave us, and we return the same amswer to them in assignement, course work, don't expect to score" .

Something which I experienced myself in one of my subject. No matter how much I write, my score is a mere just above pass like a C that's all. While another one of my classmate who wrote something else, not from text, score a B. The passing marks is 40 only, good thing is, they also have so called condition pass should you fail subject just below 40 (30-40), provided you pass all other subject, they will consider you pass. Of course, don't think its easy meat, as I also found out, one subject, was solely based on courswork which requires analsytical skills, the highest marks had already been decided before any submission, you never be able to score anything higher than 80.. so imagine when the difficult questions came, most just bearly pass or score no higher than 60+. That's one way of keeping high standard.

It all depends on your U and the standard they set, if you are going to one that was formerly a Diploma college which was converted into a U, then its all togetehr very different. I was told and had experience once, the standard is actually lower. Even the learning is also different as I had for one subject, due to circumstances, had to travel to UCE (U of Centtral England), which was one such U, the material and subject we did, much like what we did in Polytechnic some what very different from my own U. Worse, the exam paper that was set by them, the draft was rejected by my U because it was too simple. I was told by my Lecturer in charge at BU, not up to mark and they tightened the marking even after the revised paper was approved.

As for project work, it can be in a combination of individual and group work, rather demanding at times. Worse, when a new subject and assignement was introduced... before you can even get any books from he library, the local Ang Moh already loaned out all of them.

So it all depends.. Well, there were another 5 chinese malaysians and 1 Bumi scholar with me in the course. Don't see them having any problem. Understand your anxiousness over the course, till when it comes, you will know how to swim... By the way, we have this pre-departure gathering at one of the hotel in SG where current undergraduates and graduates will be there to hand any question raised by new entrees like myself before leaving for UK. However, much depends on the person incharge to tell you more. All this were organised by the U Office in SG? maybe coordinated by the Alumina

bbmars
post Aug 24 2007, 05:21 PM

545 posts

Pardon me for asking, Don't the airlines offer students fare for those going over to UK to study? What about STA site, they claim to be offering students fare. Not sure whether they have any office in MY. I can find it from SG office. The last time, I got student's fare through the press flying KLM to Amsterdam and transiting at the same airport one way to Birmingham, UK. Of course, depends on where you are flying too. Its kind of standard features as what I know.. but now sure it is still now.. By the way, I am from SG.

bbmars
post Oct 30 2007, 11:06 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(lord @ Oct 30 2007, 09:06 PM)
Hey yah...just have some questions to ask. I got offer to do my master from 3 unis which are UWE, Westminster and Birmingham City Uni. Just kinda headache to choose one of them. I know they are not top class uni but don't really have a choice as there are not many uni that offer postgraduate programmes with January intake. Btw I applied for MSc/MA International Business and Management. smile.gif
Hey, I am not too sure about this course of study, but I do understand that Birmingham has some courses like that offering in SG. Sorry, can't provide any information as I briefly glance through them, not interested. I am from the Mechanical and manfacturing school at BU.. overall rating for BU is not bad.. some years, they were even in the top 10. I know at least on few occasions, the last being I think last year or 2 years ago as their rank was published in SG. the last time I knew of, was in 1999 when the breached the top 10 U in UK.. I think all this ranking are for engineering courses...

Not the best of choices, but may be from financial point of view, I think Westminter is more EXP in terms of living expenses since its near or in London? things are more expensive than in BU. If cost is never an issue, than no problem.
bbmars
post Oct 31 2007, 11:37 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Oct 31 2007, 02:26 AM)
he is asking about birmingham city uni, not BU.
There is no Birmingham City U. There is only one Birmingham University = BU. there are other nearby U but none as BU. Aston U is nearest, right in Birmingham city centre, Univeristy of Central England is several train stops away.
bbmars
post Nov 1 2007, 10:44 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Nov 1 2007, 03:05 AM)
UCE is known as BCU now.

Added on November 1, 2007, 3:07 am

I have never experience that using virgin media, formerly NTL for 4 years now.
Oh, I see, but that U ranking is rather low. Its more like SG Polytechnic standard. I had been there for one of my subjects and the lecturer.. not at all convincing at all and we had to DIY ourselves on many things. It used to be a polytechnic becfore it was converted to U. There are many such U in UK and that's why some of them, their ranking is low because they simply change the diploma certificate to Degree without changing and upgrading much of the teaching material.

My subject, in fact, the exam paper was rejected twice by my U examiner before finally being approved as semester exam paper. Even then, We were told by our lecturer from BU that the standard is low and they would tightened the marking..

0.0465sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:25 PM