Studying in the UK, Tips, plz

azarimy
post Jul 9 2007, 07:19 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

are you bound to any sort of contract in msia? where r u studying now, what course and where? who's ur current sponsor, and who will be ur sponsor in the UK?
azarimy
post Jul 9 2007, 11:47 PM

10,672 posts

in that case:

QUOTE(wakaka_cfy @ Jul 9 2007, 07:10 PM)
hey...i was wondering that... can we work after we graduate in uk?

yes, u can. u have a period of 1 year where u are given the privilege to find work after u graduate. after 1 year, it's up to ur current employer to renew ur status. it means, if u're good, ur employer will organize to renew ur visa and work permit for u to work either by contract or to whatever agreement u agreed with.

but if u couldnt secure a job within 1 year, or ur employer thinks u're not good enough for a permanent job, u have to leave.

in my case, i planning to take pharmacy in uk 4 my last year study.
so can i work there for few years without come back m'sia to work for gov?

since u're self sponsored, why do u think u have to come back to work in msia and work for the government?

n is it hard to get a job like pharmacist in uk 4 malaysian?

i dont know how it is exactly for pharmacy, but in my experience, employers prefer EU graduates simply bcoz less hassle on the visa and the permit. but on the other hand, east asian graduates are renown for their hardwork and less complain/demands.

i plan to work there after i graduate to pay back the money which i hav spend in uk.
does it work? any suggestion 4 me?

Thx guys.... tongue.gif
yes, it could work, if u could secure a permanent job, get a full visa and indefinite work permit.

azarimy
post Jul 14 2007, 07:00 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(avenus @ Jul 14 2007, 06:23 PM)
perhaps u wanna refer to this, but then, i cant be sure how reliable the ranking is smile.gif

Guardian Unlimited
btw, is it very hard to transfer from a uni to another? i actually hav a close relative in london but if i do not meet the requirements of my firm choice, i'm afraid that i hav to go southampton. any opinions about the university of southampton? i've tried the search engine for southampton, but surprisingly there's no results related to it, i used to think that southampton university is quite popular..
lol, careful not to confuse between popularity and how good they actually are. some of my friends went to manchester for the sole reason of manchester united. it just so happen that univ of manchester is actually very good, but they didnt know about that before applying biggrin.gif.

i'm not saying soton is not good though, just dont confuse urself wink.gif
azarimy
post Jul 22 2007, 01:41 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Jul 22 2007, 12:23 AM)
those who are live in the campus accommodation, i need to ask when you'll pay your accommd fees? is it per month or semester?
it depends on how u sort out the deal with the accommodations office. when i was in UCL, i sorted out so that i pay every 3 months, coinciding with my scholarship that comes in every 3 months. u could also pay monthly, or by semester as well.
azarimy
post Jul 22 2007, 06:04 PM

10,672 posts

GBP 80 is average high, but not too high if it includes power, gas, water and internet. i'm not exactly sure how expensive is it to live in hull, but i think it should be fair.
azarimy
post Jul 23 2007, 02:17 AM

10,672 posts

i've asked some friends, GBP80 a week in hull is quite high, although not too high that u should concerned about. average is about GBP70-75, so it should be reasonable enough.

living in campus has its perks. usually u live very close to everything else, the environment is better suite for studying and stuff like that.
azarimy
post Jul 23 2007, 03:19 PM

10,672 posts

usually, most accommodations contract would only let u stay until july. but after that u could apply for other accommodations for another 2 months to finish off ur studies. u see, during the holidays, the accommodations dept are not making any money, so any students who want to rent a room are most welcomed. the contract is set so that it would be the easy to manage.

do check with the accommodations office. worst comes to worst, its quite easy to find people who'd rent a room off their properties for a short lease, especially during summer. a friend of mine in bath was offered a 6 room house for free during the entire summer bcoz the house owner wants to go holidays in africa. and she had the entire spooky house all for herself! p-a-r-t-y!
azarimy
post Jul 23 2007, 07:02 PM

10,672 posts

really? i dont know.

back in london, i paid the same amount. same with my wife when she was in leicester. not sure if this applies to all. better check before applying ^^
azarimy
post Jul 29 2007, 11:56 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jul 29 2007, 11:18 PM)
What's the living cost (e.g. rent, makan, etc.) in Sheffield including family (e.g. wife)?
depends on where u stay, and how much ur family (wife) ability to spend wink.gif

the standard flat (1 or 2 rooms with kitchen) goes for about GBP400 a month if u're staying in central area or in the immediate vicinity of the university. food costs a little bit higher there, but if u home cook and buy ur groceries at asda or tesco, u should be able to keep ur food costs to about GBP 50-100 a month for the two of u. internet, tv, phone plus mobile can cost GBP40 per month (for those 4). electricity + heating is about GBP30-50 a month (higher in winter).

if u're staying outside central area, a 3 bedroom house (usually with ur own garden/backyard, parking) is about GBP400-500 a month. if u need help finding a place to stay, i could hook u up with the sheffield malaysian community. they can get u a good deal.
azarimy
post Jul 30 2007, 03:50 PM

10,672 posts

well, it depends on what "safe" means.

for me, the constant SALE in tj hughes, argos, primark, debenham etc are a continuous threat. not to mention the quarterly SALE in meadowhall (one of the biggest shopping complexes in the UK, houses all the branded retailers like zara, topshop, elle, la senza etc tugs on ur money pouch now and again. eventually my wife took a part time job so that she could buy all those stuffs with her own money.

dont forget the car boot sales. u can get all those weird trinkets or used stuffs extremely and insanely cheap. i just bought 6 tom clancy novels for 3quid!

shoppings aside, u'll need some money for transport. that's about GBP30-40 a month for the 2 of u.

also, the figures i mentioned are the minimum, not maximum. so it means the least u'll need is about GBP640. occasionally, we'd want to travel to europe, so i gotta either find some odd jobs in the faculty, or transfer money from my savings in msia. that's how it is.
azarimy
post Jul 30 2007, 04:49 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(WillHung @ Jul 30 2007, 04:14 PM)
i think meadowhall is big but it looks quite ugly inside.
trust me, KL have far superior shopping complexes compared to the ones in england.
this is true. meadowhall is about the size of subang parade, but only 2 storeys high. even so, it's one of the biggest in the UK. but the thing is, the shopping culture is absolutely different from msia. msia has developed its own shopping culture, with the advent rise of shopping complexes throughout the country.

in the UK, people go to the highstreets to shop. in each town or city, there should be atleast one stretch of street where people go there for shopping. most of the top brands are located there, and becomes the central hub of commerce at the heart of the town. bcoz of the climate, they dont need shopping complexes. u can walk the entire stretch of the road without breaking a sweat, unless it's summer. even so, people enjoy the sun as much as they can.

in msia, the culture is almost the exact opposite. msians prefer a central shopping area, hence the shopping complexes. they offer wide range of retails within a small footprint (hence multi-storey). in these shopping complexes, the climate are controlled using airconditioning, so people have the tendency to stay inside (and hopefully shop more).

some of my british friends didnt get why we need shopping complexes. to them, it's just absurd. but they havent been to msia or any asian countries yet, so they wont know for real until they get here. 10 minutes in our climate, they'll be begging to stay inside!
azarimy
post Jul 31 2007, 03:25 AM

10,672 posts

i believe ALL universities in the UK banned torrent as well as most peer-to-peer softwares. but http downloads like rapidshare, megashare etc are still allowed.

and yes, UK is the epitomy of internet throttling. even if u pay unlimited 16mbps broadband service, u are still susceptible to throttling. but ofcourse, u could barely feel the difference wink.gif
azarimy
post Jul 31 2007, 04:25 PM

10,672 posts

like will said, if u bring a small stack of CD/DVD, usually they wont bother to check. i mean, how many DVDs of ebooks can u have? biggrin.gif

and u dont have to bring pr0n into the UK. there're billions of them around. it's freakin europe, dammit!

if u guys are really desperate, u can just dload ebooks off the net somewhere, buy pirated softwares through ebay, or get bootleg films/pr0n from tokey DVD cetak rompak. yes, they do have them here i tell u! biggrin.gif

and BTW, liverpool people speak in a different accent. they even use words that other people dont use. it's a unique dialect/slang called scouse. this link is a fun translator to translate normal english sentence to sound like how the liverpools speak.

english: "do you know where the best restaurant in town is?"

scouse: "do ye nah whuz de beesknees restaant in terwn is?"
azarimy
post Jul 31 2007, 05:27 PM

10,672 posts

i dunno.

i've seen a show called "nothing to declare" about australian customs and immigration. they're VERY thorough and detailed. if u've got CD/DVDs, they have facilities to read them. u gotta really encrypt it to escape.

but that's australia.

UK systems is much more... loose, despite whatever they say. heck, 3 out of 10 workers in heathrow airport are illegal immigrants! my tip is: if u wanna come in to heathrow, try and arrive between 2am to 7am. that's the best time.
azarimy
post Jul 31 2007, 06:59 PM

10,672 posts

lol, mas are not the only flight from KLIA to the UK. other favourites include singapore airlines, emirates and other middle eastern flights. they're substantially cheaper than mas. but mas' economy class is way better than them.
azarimy
post Aug 2 2007, 06:30 AM

10,672 posts

i'd still say MAS's economy class is still one of the best ones. heck, they even got the best economy flights award in 2006. anyways...

chipmunk, if u're attached to a university, seek out the human resource dept in ur faculty. u can usually book ur flight tickets through them, and they'll sort everything out. u just tell them when and where u're going, and who u're bringing with. u dont have to pay a single cent, and u're not supposed to use ur own money upfront. if u did, it'll take more than 6 months to get ur money back (which i'm still waiting for).
azarimy
post Aug 2 2007, 06:06 PM

10,672 posts

i've tried sri lankan airlines from heathrow-sri lanka-singapore-KL return. it has a 12 hour transit in sri lanka, where u'll be taken to a 4 star seaside resort, given a hotel room and a huge buffet dinner. and it's all paid in the cheap ticket. pretty awesome deal.

but u cant say much about the flight. crappy seat and inflight entertainment. cabin crew posh semacam and sombong tak kena tempat, u feel like smacking them in the face biggrin.gif. the stopover in singapore is short, about 45 minutes - 1 hour, u dont have to leave the plane.

returning, KLIA-sri lanka-heathrow was the same, but transit about 4 hours, u dont get a resort or anything.
azarimy
post Aug 4 2007, 12:13 AM

10,672 posts

the scores are based on the entirety of all courses offered, unless it specifically compares the exact schools u're looking into.

the top school for mechanical engineering might reside in one of the worst universities in the UK. so my suggestion is, look into the school's rating rather than the university's.
azarimy
post Aug 4 2007, 10:20 AM

10,672 posts

wait a tick. russel group universities are a group of universities that work in collaboration and exercise a sort of pooling of resources focusing on research and development. in my understanding, being russel group does not imply that it's better than others, but it simply means they are better funded, especially on the post-grad level.

i'm just taking an example of my course (architecture). the best and most reknowned school is the AA (architecture associate) in london, but it's not even a university, hence it's not in any university ranking whatsoever. i'm pretty sure there are other faculties of other courses similar to this, hence my earlier statement wink.gif.
azarimy
post Aug 4 2007, 05:29 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(WillHung @ Aug 4 2007, 12:26 PM)
True that it does not necessarily mean they are better than the rest (some very good unis like York Bath St Andrews aren't part of it) but generally speaking, RG unis are of good or very good quality most due to their status of research universities, where a lot of it trickles down to having great professors and researchers teaching undergrads.

My point was, both are good universities and moto-moto wouldn't go worng with going to either one.

HOWEVER, unless he is absolutely determined to be an engineer or work in the engineering field (in which case he should look at the subject table or even go to good vocational institutions like your AA school in London for those who are determined to be architects), a more prestigious (higher ranked on the OVERALL table) would open more doors compared to a uni which is a lower-ranked overall but might have a higher ranked department compared to the former.

To work in finance in the city for example, they would absolutely prefer engineering grads from higher-ranked unis compared to engineering grads of lower-ranked unis even if the lower-ranked unis are ranked higher in the engineering table.
It all comes down to what moto-moto wishes to do after graduating.

if he is sure he wants to be an engineer ------- look at the mechanical engineering league table
if he is unsure of what he wants to do ---------- look at the overall table and go for the best one you can get into.

hope i made some sense.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/graph...MGCFFOAVCBQUIV0

http://education.guardian.co.uk/university...2027789,00.html
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_...ticle671847.ece

moto-moto check out these links
yup, now we're talking some real sense. i agree with u that RG univs are better off. and ofcourse, u cant go wrong in going after the higher ranked schools. just be cautious not to fall into the trap of "a crappy school menumpang in a good university". i've heard of this quite a few times from JPA/KPT sponsored students.

QUOTE(chipmunk82 @ Aug 4 2007, 04:51 PM)
how i want to know for rating of postgraduate course? is it using RAE 2001 or times, guardian ranking?my univ would only allow us to rely on RAE? is this better rating use for UK universities...look at RAE 2001 and look at the department, sometimes i feel that times and guardian cannot rely on too much haa...
most would use RAE for postgraduate courses, bcoz it focuses on the research portion of the school/university. some universities are extremely strong in its postgraduate research, but wasnt really popular for their undergraduates. as far as i know, if u're talking postgrads, RAE is the one to refer. i cant find anything else that rivals RAE for research ranking.

13 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:56 PM