QUOTE(azarimy @ Sep 18 2007, 05:49 PM)
I did that (or I bought via internet) + I'm using mobile's free minutes = cheapStudying in the UK, Tips, plz
Studying in the UK, Tips, plz
Sep 18 2007, 10:18 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Oct 1 2007, 10:18 AM
However, be careful if you plan to do it on university network..
My friend got caught for sharing files via Kazaa |
Oct 3 2007, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 3 2007, 01:47 AM) hey...is all the local ppl in uk all dun need to sleep?they are so noisy from nite till mornig...i can't get a good sleep at all... If you are living in campus, you can complain to the warden.But hey, it's uni. life. Enjoy while you can |
Oct 3 2007, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 3 2007, 02:21 PM) Well..if once in a while i can understand but 3 nights non stop...i can't sleep well this 3 days and consequently i was sleeping in my lectures... I used to live under that situation before. But that only lasted for a week or two. As youngkies said, as when courseworks/tutorials begin to flood in, it will be less noisy.. |
Oct 4 2007, 03:53 PM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 4 2007, 03:43 PM) for those groceries shops and supermarkets that accept credit card,do they have any minimum limit of purchasing only can pay by card?In malaysia they need at least rm 50 only can use card rite... I don't think there is any minimum limit. But don't la pay £1.50 with card.. |
Oct 4 2007, 04:40 PM
I used to collect these £1 coins so I could use it for my laundry..
Oct 5 2007, 08:44 PM
Sometimes, they reject your application because your accomodation has bad records (from previous owners). For e.g. records of previous mobile owners (mostly students), who did not pay their bills at all.
Oct 5 2007, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 5 2007, 08:51 PM) the previous tenant of my house, a malaysian couple, actually went out to apply lots of things by credit - mobile phones, plasma tv and whatver else - right before they left after finishing studies. i got people coming to my house from debt collection agencies! LOL! whoa.. that's pretty daring. the common case i heard was registering a line to get canggih canggih phone and fled the country the next day/week. don't they know that they are messing with UK, not Malaysia. |
Oct 7 2007, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 6 2007, 06:58 PM) i m helping my fren to buy something in ebay uk...so if let say that thing is 18 BGP,so what is the range of the postal order thay have in post office? Ebay works really well with paypal in UK. Have a try with it.I used to associated my paypal with my bank accounts in UK. |
Oct 10 2007, 09:59 AM
How do you all define good university for a certain course?
Oct 15 2007, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 15 2007, 06:55 PM) [4] i'm sure the offer's still available. if u rent a room in a shared apartment where those in the house already setup their own internet connection, then it's no problem laaa. but lets say everyone in the house is new, and everyone agrees to setup a home network, then sort out amongst urself, and apply for a line. u may need an extra router for this, depending on what sort of modem/router will be provided. And LAN Cables too, unless everybody has WiFi ready on his/her laptops/desktop ... |
Oct 20 2007, 09:21 PM
If you guys unsure about whether the phone you bought/got lock or unlock, get a prepaid card from Malaysia and test it in UK.
Added on October 20, 2007, 9:22 pm QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 20 2007, 09:55 AM) heck when we malaysians were basking with the power of PCI-E display cards back then, they havent even finished fooling around with AGP cards! ROFL. very true.. This post has been edited by goliath: Oct 20 2007, 09:22 PM |
Oct 20 2007, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(moto-moto @ Oct 20 2007, 10:04 PM) Locked phone is like Apple iPhone. The phone is bound to one telco only. You cannot use any other telco SIM card unless you have the code to unlock the phone.You can do it in Malaysia or you can do it by requesting the code from your telco in UK. They (telco company) will charge you approximately £15 or so. EDIT: typo This post has been edited by goliath: Oct 20 2007, 10:25 PM |
May 23 2008, 10:47 PM
hi all,
i'm planning to further my study, i.e. master. so, is there such as part time study part time working in UK? |
Jun 8 2008, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(onemilimeter @ Jun 8 2008, 02:44 PM) GBP300 cash + Bank Draft + Credit/Debit Card If you are staying in University of Sheffield, try asking the uni's accomodation office. Last time, I stayed in Broadlane during summer.Added on June 8, 2008, 2:48 pm I heard that the rental for summer is usually HALF. It means, if you rent a room for July/Aug, you only need to pay one month rental. Is that true, especially at Sheffield? I will be kicked out of my current accomodation, need to find place to live again... aiii This post has been edited by goliath: Jun 8 2008, 10:22 PM |
Jul 26 2008, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(ilovecookies92 @ Jul 26 2008, 11:14 PM) I am pretty sad when most of UK universities offered such an expensive fee for international students like us. For UK/Euro Citizens, the fees were only 3200++ pounds per course while for international students, arts 9000++ pounds, science 12000++ pounds and clinical course are 23000++. It's like "kena gandakan". I hope they wont charge that high for my time. As I know, Malaysia University fees the difference between international and local is only from RM 4000-8000. T.T If I'm not mistaken, the fees in UK increase gradually. That's what happened to me last time. |
| Change to: | 0.0596sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:36 AM |