UUM, Who's in uum and who is going

destroyer
post Feb 4 2012, 05:57 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

any UUM students from Bachelor in Finance?

juz wanna ask. how is the teaching there? is it good?
destroyer
post Jun 8 2012, 11:26 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

anybody here from finance?
destroyer
post Jun 10 2012, 07:11 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 9 2012, 06:24 PM)
Hmm i dont think so. But what question do u want to ask?
i was wondering whether they accept engineering diploma student into their bachelor of finance course. the requirement said that i can enter. but i was wondering whether any of you met any finance student from engineering background?

one more thing. i'm in dilemma whether i shud choose economics or finance. coz i've been reading around for people's bio data. and found out most successful business leader n investor come from econs background. so, i've decided to look into subjects offered by both courses(from UUM COB site). found out that the most relevant is finance. but i cannot find example of revision/text books that they're using. therefore, i'm not able to draw out conclusion. can anybody here help me figure out?

destroyer
post Jun 11 2012, 10:01 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 11 2012, 11:27 AM)
I've never heard of any engineering background students here, since UUM itself has no engineering courses. I thought you wanted to be a seafarer (based on your other thread)?

If you pass the requirement, it shouldn't be a problem to enter. I personally know some diploma students who changes courses once they entered UUM (e.g. from IT background took HR degree here).

Career-wise, i think Finance has a broader prospect. I'm not sure of the text books though, since I took only 3 finance subjects for my course (international business). 2 of them are mostly mathematical. The book used for this is compiled from 3 sources:
i) Financial Management, by Titman S, Keown A.J, Prentice Hall
ii) Principles of Managerial Finance, by Gitman L.J, Addison Wesley
iii) Financial Management: Principles and Application, by Keown A.J, Prentice Hall

While the other one (BWFF3043) is a mixture of foreign exchange theory + currency market + macroeconomics <--- for this one we're using a text-book entitled "International Corporate Finance" by J.Ashok Robin, published by McGrawHill.
yep. i'm a seafarer alredy. got my diploma n engineer license alredy. HOWEVER, wif only diploma n my eng license, in the next 10 years time, it won't do me any good for my career progression. i juz dun want to spent years n years in the same industry n job prospect. it'll be boring. there'll be no adventure in life.

recently only i found my interest. my interest is not the job. my interest is the munneh. dats y i went sailing. salary is good. but i still feel the emptiness feeling inside my heart. money is enough currently, infact, it's more than what i think is needed for my expenditure. i dun spend much. i can just put all my money into fund, investment, etc2. but the feeling on how the monetary system works engulf me. so i decide to myself. if my interest is the money, why dun i go n learn how the system works. that money is my passion. not the job. mybe these feeling come from the bloodline. haha my dad, he's an accountant.

and one more thing, i'm tired of working under other's order. and financial knowledge will be beneficial to me. however, the basic is not enough to me. i want more. some people study juz to earn their degree and get the job. i'm also like that before. as i grow older, i started to appreciate the value of knowledge. earning a good grade on the paper can land me a good job. but knowledge have the power to do more than that. they can give me unlimited opportunities provided that i understand n appreciate them well. i pledge to myself. it's never about the certs or the job. it's about the knowledge. and that's what make me eager to learn.

btw, THANKS a lot for you kind help. i'll try to go through some content of the book. getting a better insight of it. wasn't planning to enroll straight forward. probably in another 2-3 years time. planning to take part time ACCA paper while waiting for my financial sustenance for me to go for full tym 3 years degree course. thanks. if i have any doubt, i'll ask it here.
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 03:13 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 12 2012, 02:11 AM)
so you're gonna buy the books eh? Try that International Corporate Finance book, it screwed my mind. Until now I don't understand a thing of it even though the exam is near. I guess financial stuff just isn't in my blood lol. I prefer something less related to numbers.

You have a good planning in your life, that's great. All the best.
gonna search around the net for some overview of what's inside. btw, the teaching method is conducted in malay or english?
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 05:58 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 12 2012, 06:06 AM)
If you take a look at this (Program structure) -- there's 3 sections right?

Those "university core" subjects are normally in malay, except for english subjects of course. For "common business core", you can choose to enroll in english or malay class. While "program core", will be in full english. Below it, "Program Electives" also in english.

Feel free to ask any questions if u have more  smile.gif
thank you very much. that's very precise of you. i really appreciate it. now my doubt is clear. THANKS!

QUOTE(nazq @ Jun 12 2012, 02:59 PM)
So destroyer, you're gonna study here?
probably in another 2-3 years time. need to pay back my sponsor money and save some for my expenditure tongue.gif
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 06:54 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 12 2012, 06:49 PM)
If you don't mind me asking, in 2-3 years time, how old will you be then?  hmm.gif
25/26? haha. quite old alredy tongue.gif
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 07:49 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

haha. dun worry. education n knowledge knows no boundary.
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 08:34 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

can go find wife summore. hehehe
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 09:57 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

hahaha. age gonna be 26 alredy. if simpan lama2 later by the time i graduate not berudu anymore come out. ikan bilis pun ada
destroyer
post Jun 12 2012, 10:41 PM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 12 2012, 10:11 PM)
yeah
mana chicks can find there
no problem
another reason to go uum
haha. you're tempting me. pliz... i wanna go there and get some knowledge.
destroyer
post Jun 14 2012, 05:16 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

meanwhile before entering i plan to finish at least half ACCA paper. juz PLAN. dunno yet if i'm able to achieve that. tongue.gif
destroyer
post Jun 15 2012, 04:55 AM

Gila Makan!
1,624 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jun 14 2012, 09:00 AM)
well, if you do not give it a try

then you will never know right

flex.gif
haha. we'll see the flow. hope i dat i'll not get too comfortable in my career till become too lazy to continue stdy tongue.gif

0.0225sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:17 PM