Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 02:35 PM

31 posts

Hey, i want to ask something. Have you guys ever faced the dreaded 8 beeps on start up? I'm thinking of buying the m17x R4. It's overprice so yeah i need to make sure i make the right choice. So, i Googled anything related to the R4 and i found out that some R4 users encounter this problem. What causes this problem anyway? Thanks.
corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 03:57 PM

31 posts

So you solve it by yourself?
corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 04:07 PM

31 posts

Besides the 8 beeps, do you have any other problems using the m17x?
corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 04:11 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 4 2014, 03:59 PM)
edit: there was a lcd issue after transporting the laptop from one place to another. i was trying to fix it, but failed. then dell came and helped.
What do you mean by transporting the laptop from one place to another?

* Sry double post biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by corrupt1234: Jun 4 2014, 04:11 PM
corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 04:22 PM

31 posts

Ahh ok. Is there any way to prevent the lcd failure?
corrupt1234
post Jun 4 2014, 07:46 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 4 2014, 04:41 PM)
er.. if that happens do not try to fix it yourself, leave it to dell? i told you that incident was purely my fault haha

normally it will not happen. (i have brought the laptop to many places also. local and overseas. no problem.)
looks like i need to be extra carefull with aw....i thought aw models supposed to be sturdy and all...btw, do you have any tips on maintaining the battery life on m17x r4...my previous acer laptop's battery busted after hours of gaming hehehe....
corrupt1234
post Jun 7 2014, 12:08 AM

31 posts

gonna order aw17 from dell, is it worth waiting for?
corrupt1234
post Jun 7 2014, 01:27 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 7 2014, 09:51 AM)
buy straight from bro putochip123. although he may offer you GTX7xxM, but take note that the GTX8xxM chips are still using Kepler architecture, which is a 20% performance boost (2-4FPS to be exact), which is not worth the price you paid for.
Thanks for the info. Saved me the trouble of wasting a few bucks. Anyway, i might visit Lowyat in next coming weeks. Can you tell me which shops that sell alienware laptops, preferably the 17?
corrupt1234
post Jun 7 2014, 04:10 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 7 2014, 01:51 PM)
there is a dell shop at ground floor, main entrance. or, another shop at top floor. this one has a number of gaming laptops and accessories (forgot the name)
Thx, i'll be sure to check them out.
corrupt1234
post Jun 8 2014, 01:49 PM

31 posts

I'm having a dilemma here...it's not surprise that alienware models require a lot of money, but with that amount i can buy cheaper laptops like the RX-17 with similar specs. It's a very tough for me to decide and that's why i need your help, guys. I'm sorry in advance if I'm asking in a wrong place.
corrupt1234
post Jun 8 2014, 09:58 PM

31 posts

I've placed my order for Alienware 17 in Dell website. Then I rechecked again the specs to make sure all of them is correct and i found out this thing - "Alienware 17 R1 - Ranger System Driver"...does this mean Dell sells outdated aw17 version?
corrupt1234
post Jun 9 2014, 10:59 AM

31 posts

CODE
Base Alienware 17
Operating System Windows 8.1 Single Language (64Bit) English
Memory 16GB Dual Channel DDR3L at 1600MHz (4x4GB)
Keyboard Alienware Keyboard English International
Video Card NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 880M graphics with 8GB total GDDR5
Wireless Driver/Label Wireless driver & label for Broadcom 4352 (Malaysia)
Hard Drive 1TB 5400RPM SATA 6Gb/s + 80GB mSATA Caching
Optical Drive Slot-Loading Dual Layer Blu-ray Reader (BD-ROM, DVD/RW, CD-RW)
Sound Integrated Digital 7.1 Surround Audio Support
Wireless 802.11 ac 2x2 Wireless and Bluetooth 4.0
Power Options Power Cord (UK)
Documentation/Disks System Documentation(ENG/SCH/TCH)
Bundle W510416MYWIN8-Alienware 17
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance 1Yr ProSupport: NBD Onsite with Accidental Damage Service
Optical Software Media kit None
Systems Management Alienware 17 R1 - Ranger System Driver
Placemat Alienware Welcome Letter (English)
Dell Services: Remarks MYLaptop Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date
Dell Services: Remarks MYDell's Terms and Conditions apply
Dell Services: Remarks MYGreat Technical Tips & Information available 24x7 at [url=http://support.ap.dell.com]http://support.ap.dell.com[/url]
Order Information None
Primary Battery 8-cell Lithium Ion (86 wHr)
Carrying Cases Alienware 17" Vindicator Backpack
Processor 4th Gen Intel® Core™ i7-4710MQ processor (6MB Cache, up to 3.5GHz w/ Turbo Boost)
LCD Back Cover Alienware 17 Silver Anodized Aluminum (Non 3D)
Packaging Shipping Box Alienware 17" (For Non 3D Order)
FGA Module No FGA
Optical Software CyberLink Media Suite 2.0 BD3D
Additional Settings FastAccess Facial Recognition 4, Digital Delivery
Dell Services: Item Included Technical Support
Retail Information None
Retail Tech Sheets None
LCD 17.3 inch (439.42 mm) WLED FHD (1920 x 1080) Anti-Glare 300 Nit Display
Freights FGA NB-OL-BTO Freight Charges(Malaysia)
1st Software Microsoft Office Trial (Multi-Language)
Additional Software additional software
Security Software McAfee LiveSafe 12 month subscription
Power Options Alienware 240W AC Adapter
Microsoft Operating System Media Windows 8.1 DVD OS Recovery(English)

are these specs ok?

This post has been edited by corrupt1234: Jun 9 2014, 10:59 AM
corrupt1234
post Jun 10 2014, 10:10 PM

31 posts

Burnt AW17

Hopefully this will not happen to me and others as well ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by corrupt1234: Jun 10 2014, 10:11 PM
corrupt1234
post Jun 11 2014, 01:16 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 10 2014, 10:31 PM)
corrupt  told u dun order direct u dun believe me. hehe. dell laptop or pc u dun order online 1. wait for ppl like us who can Direct factory order. safe u 20% min. n still u get direct delivery from dell. hehe
First of all, you did not tell me about the direct order thing. You just offered me laptop which is not what i wanted. Secondly, i preferred Dell since I don't have any experience on online order instead of dealing with random guy. Trust is my no 1 priority when it comes to this.

QUOTE(horns @ Jun 10 2014, 10:55 PM)
wow.. they have this issue with 780m?

do not sweat about this. you have a full year warranty. just extend it if you're feeling uncomfortable.
Maybe, because there were few stories that involved with it. Fortunately, i ordered the one with 880m but aren't both of these cards generally the same? Yeah, maybe I'll extend my warranty for another few years. Prolly, i might invest on few small fire extinguishers too just in case. icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0504sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:18 AM