Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!
Mar 16 2014, 06:02 PM
5,211 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Konohana |
New owner of 2010 M15x, got it for RM1100
Mar 22 2014, 12:18 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Mar 19 2014, 10:42 PM) Yeah it's a bargain. Thinking of buying the optical drive to harddisk adapter and new graphics card. GTX 260M is just 8800GT, getting long in the tooth but it still capable of playing new games, only thing is it's running hot |
Mar 28 2014, 11:11 PM
I found something weird, my GTX 260M is set at 1V by default as it supposed to be 0.9V for M15x. No wonder the temps reaching 90+C when gaming. Dropping to 0.9V makes it drop to 75C
Mar 29 2014, 02:49 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 28 2014, 11:27 PM) i believe every manufacturers was fault in voltage control, so as power users, we need to be smart to find the problems. Yeah, I guess maybe the one in this M15x were meant to be in M17x.and nice finding you got there. CPU market has been pretty stagnant past few years. The main reason I buy this laptop if I wanted more speed I just change the graphic card to a modern one. I surprised the CPU were able to handle GTA IV smoothly |
Mar 29 2014, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 29 2014, 04:47 PM) Not only GTA 4, any modern games do work fine as well. IMO, if you have a core i7 quad core processor with a MXM module graphics card, it can be a futureproof laptop. True dat. Crysis is slightly lagging but change to 7070M or something and it would be rocking. But I'm not gonna play serious games on my laptop, just some fun old games.How much was your M15x eh btw? Bought it this month for RM1100, bargain of the century |
Mar 29 2014, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 29 2014, 08:20 PM) Upgrade to GTX880M I need to upgrade the PSU too Definitely worth the try. Im thinking about to 'smuggle' a M17x at a cheap price and upgrade the graphics card. I very love the design of R3/4 than the R5. Agreed, old Alienware laptops looks unique, the new one looks meh and too conservative. Alienware is like Lamborghini for car, supposed to look radical and different. Taken that away then there is no point of buying it, might as well save some money and buy Sager which looks boring. If you can get one for cheap, go get it! This post has been edited by Najmods: Mar 29 2014, 08:35 PM |
Mar 30 2014, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Mar 30 2014, 02:10 AM) Sager is actually good for self-maintenance. i can calculate, total dismantling the whole laptop takes about an hour. Is it? But I'm truly surprised how EASY to access things in m15x. Two screws out and you have access to the important stuff, like upgrading RAM, upgrading HDD and cleaning HSF. Best bit is cleaning graphics fan don't even require me to take the heatsink off. |
Apr 9 2014, 08:26 PM
| Change to: | 0.0450sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:36 AM |