126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Alienware Mothership V11, Intruder alert!

Aura
post May 21 2014, 12:07 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(Fortunatus @ May 21 2014, 11:11 AM)
ok ...i'm not obsessed with killer thing....just wanna the wireless to work because there is no cable here. So what are my options? Buy the part and install myself? If yes, where can i get it? And let's say I cant install myself, will a Dell personnel able to help me?
Just go to LYP and buy the part separately. Self installation for a wireless NIC card isn't that hard. They come with instructions anyways. It's just plug and play. If u don't like internal ones, u can opt for USB ones.

The pro for using a USB one is u can shift around the receiver to get the best signal, but the con is u get to stare at ur receiver.

The pro for using an internal one is u don't get to look at ur receiver and it's well integrated, but the con is u can't move ur receiver around to get the best signal cos ur desktop is rooted at the place that u decided to put.

Final verdict, it's ur call.

P/S: Dell personnel won't help u to install 3rd party stuff one unless u order directly from Dell but then, it's super straight forward. Plug and play.
horns
post May 21 2014, 12:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Fortunatus @ May 21 2014, 11:11 AM)
ok ...i'm not obsessed with killer thing....just wanna the wireless to work because there is no cable here. So what are my options? Buy the part and install myself? If yes, where can i get it? And let's say I cant install myself, will a Dell personnel able to help me?
right smile.gif all i'm saying is that we have options for wifi cards that deliver decent performance in the market. the killer wifi might not work at its fullest in all environments. it still depends on the router for that.

your option is simple. go for usb (it's just like a usb thumb drive with an antenna). the installation is as simple as plug in to the usb port, install driver, reboot and go.

http://www.asus.com/my/Networking/USBAC56/

you can get it from lyp. sorry i can only suggest what i am using. as for the need of technical help, i believe you can call for their help if necessary.
Fortunatus
post May 21 2014, 12:19 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ May 21 2014, 12:07 PM)
Just go to LYP and buy the part separately. Self installation for a wireless NIC card isn't that hard. They come with instructions anyways. It's just plug and play. If u don't like internal ones, u can opt for USB ones.

The pro for using a USB one is u can shift around the receiver to get the best signal, but the con is u get to stare at ur receiver.

The pro for using an internal one is u don't get to look at ur receiver and it's well integrated, but the con is u can't move ur receiver around to get the best signal cos ur desktop is rooted at the place that u decided to put.

P/S: Dell personnel won't help u to install 3rd party stuff one unless u order directly from Dell but then, it's super straight forward. Plug and play.
Thanks for the reply. I will opt for the internal 1... Worst case scenario I bring the desktop to shop and ask the technician to do it.... But definitely I will try my best first.

Fortunatus
post May 21 2014, 12:27 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 21 2014, 12:16 PM)
right smile.gif all i'm saying is that we have options for wifi cards that deliver decent performance in the market. the killer wifi might not work at its fullest in all environments. it still depends on the router for that.

your option is simple. go for usb (it's just like a usb thumb drive with an antenna). the installation is as simple as plug in to the usb port, install driver, reboot and go.

http://www.asus.com/my/Networking/USBAC56/

you can get it from lyp. sorry i can only suggest what i am using. as for the need of technical help, i believe you can call for their help if necessary.
Thanks. I think I will go for the internal 1...
horns
post May 21 2014, 12:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ May 21 2014, 12:07 PM)

you don't get to see the receiver if you use the usb port at the back of the pc biggrin.gif

Aura
post May 21 2014, 01:39 PM

OVERKILL is my GAME!!!
1,937 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 21 2014, 12:47 PM)
you don't get to see the receiver if you use the usb port at the back of the pc biggrin.gif
Oh yeah, now I remember. Nowadays USB receivers don't give u a standing dock or any extension cords unlike the old days.

But then good luck in looking for a good signal with all the stuff that's blocking the signal. tongue.gif
horns
post May 21 2014, 02:00 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ May 21 2014, 01:39 PM)
Oh yeah, now I remember. Nowadays USB receivers don't give u a standing dock or any extension cords unlike the old days.

But then good luck in looking for a good signal with all the stuff that's blocking the signal. tongue.gif
yes, these days we have so few things in the box :/

yeah signal blocking might be a problem. hehe again my router is near my desktop so i am not worried about that.
riku2replica
post May 21 2014, 05:58 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(Aura @ May 21 2014, 01:39 PM)

I bought TP-Link TL-WN727N recently. It came with extension cord. RM12 for receiver and the extension. Average price for the cord is usually vary around rm8-12
horns
post May 21 2014, 09:54 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

this is the stable speed of the usb wifi that i am connecting to my home router.

since i have enabled both wireless-n and -ac, i have set this to .ac only (device manager):

it's not the max speed (866.7Mbps as with intel 7260)

horns
post May 22 2014, 11:07 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

notes: the broadcom .ac adapter in aw17/18 CAN run at full .ac speed after all!

i was always curious why broadcom .ac adapter could not run at 866Mbps when coupled with asus rt-ac66u. after playing for a bit with the adapter in device manager, it turned out that the default settings in the advanced tab are basically for maximum compatibility.

after i have set the band preference to 'prefer 802.11a', things have changed. now it's running at full speed biggrin.gif

edit: and now officially aw supports intel 7260.

This post has been edited by horns: May 22 2014, 11:13 PM
yaso1608
post May 23 2014, 10:28 AM

53 posts

Hey guys just wondering, What thermal paste would you all recommend for M14x R1?
horns
post May 23 2014, 08:30 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(yaso1608 @ May 23 2014, 10:28 AM)
Hey guys just wondering, What thermal paste would you all recommend for M14x R1?
arctic cooling mx-4? actually any decent thermal paste will do. the most important thing is still to make sure to clean up the vents and fans regularly.

sometimes when we look too closely to those comparison charts about thermal pastes, we forget about how indifferent in the differences. between the 'best' and not so good ones, the temperature difference is not really significant (3c?)

zad78
post May 23 2014, 08:33 PM

Remember... Remember
1,237 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 22 2014, 11:07 PM)
notes: the broadcom .ac adapter in aw17/18 CAN run at full .ac speed after all!

i was always curious why broadcom .ac adapter could not run at 866Mbps when coupled with asus rt-ac66u. after playing for a bit with the adapter in device manager, it turned out that the default settings in the advanced tab are basically for maximum compatibility.

after i have set the band preference to 'prefer 802.11a', things have changed. now it's running at full speed biggrin.gif

edit: and now officially aw supports intel 7260.
Nice speed there!
horns
post May 23 2014, 08:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ May 23 2014, 08:33 PM)
Nice speed there!
yeah finally, a few months of puny 130Mbps later haha!

duabijitelur
post May 24 2014, 06:42 PM

iPhone 6 :D
1,951 posts

thermal paste find those mx4 or tuniq tx-4

shud be quite easy to apply [the last time i used tx4 and now im using arctic mx4]
AceCombat
post May 25 2014, 10:43 AM

5,434 posts

Just got myself a M17X R4 rclxm9.gif
Will be using it for daily work.

Thinking to throw in a 3920XM but the thing is dont know where to get the 55W heatsink fan rclxub.gif
horns
post May 25 2014, 10:54 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 25 2014, 10:43 AM)

Thinking to throw in a 3920XM but the thing is dont know where to get the 55W heatsink fan rclxub.gif
sweet. what's the part number of that 55W heatsink fan? wait do you also think the stock heatsink can dissipate heat efficiently?
AceCombat
post May 25 2014, 10:58 AM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 25 2014, 10:54 AM)
sweet. what's the part number of that 55W heatsink fan? wait do you also think the stock heatsink can dissipate heat efficiently?
I wish to know the part number of the 55W HSF too, but I still unable to find them.
Anyway, even I have a 3840QM lying around, highest end non extreme edition for Ivy Mobile, it is still 45W only, while all Extreme Edition processor is 55W, I gonna check some review and find out, or else i stick to 45W can liao brows.gif
TSraymondtong94
post May 25 2014, 10:59 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 25 2014, 10:43 AM)

congrats on the purchase man. welcome onboard the mothership. added you to the owner lists. thumbup.gif

for those members whom want to added to the owner list, please PM me. i dont have time checking the thread recently, so sorry ya. sad.gif
AceCombat
post May 25 2014, 11:13 AM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ May 25 2014, 10:59 AM)
congrats on the purchase man. welcome onboard the mothership. added you to the owner lists. thumbup.gif

for those members whom want to added to the owner list, please PM me. i dont have time checking the thread recently, so sorry ya. sad.gif
Thanks bro, I bought an empty body and throw in all the things, got the body without processor, ram, graphic card, harddisk, ROM and etc, like i said, empty body sweat.gif
So i just korek something in my store room and build an Alienware with CTO spec brows.gif

Alienware M17X R4
Intel Core i7 3840QM (Using R3 HSF with Liquid Metal Ultra)
OEM Alienware M17X R4 HM77 motherboard
Kapok HD7970M with Dell VBios (Using EBAY bought HSF with Liquid Metal Ultra)
A-DATA 2x8GB 1866Mz RAM
Plextor M6M 128GB mSATA (HDD Cache)
Intel 520 Series 480GB in RAID 0 ( Total 960GB)
WD 1TB Scorpio Blue (ODD Caddy)
Old school Killer N1103
Dell Mini 375 Bluetooth

Theoretically, I spent more than a new R4 or M17 sweat.gif
But so far, the temperature is very impressive.

My 7970M idle @ 48c load <70c in all games
My 3840QM idle @ 50c load <80c in all cores loaded.

This post has been edited by AceCombat: May 25 2014, 11:13 AM

126 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:41 AM