42 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Games ChromeHounds, BoCH ranks up,GamersHideoutMY recruiting

TSterranova
post Jun 21 2006, 05:30 PM, updated 20y ago

1,161 posts

Official Site - nothing much there yet, except some videos and screenshots. Also here.

ChromeHounds Single-Player Impressions and Multiplayer Impressions at teamxbox.

Doggie style:

Heavy Gunner - An artillery specialist who is capable of terminating an enemy headquarters from a distance. Their role is to successfully stay away from the action and knockout the enemy HQ's.

Scout - A reconnaissance specialist who is capable of covering large areas of land with speed. Their main role is to charge the enemies early and grasp the progress of the battle.

Defender - An escort that protects friendly HOUNDS and headquarters. Their primary role is to intercept the enemies that are invading headquarters and to guard Heavy Gunner and Commander HOUNDS.

Sniper - A sharp shooter who supports their members from the rear. Their main role is to back up the friendly units and make preemptive moves to the enemies who are making progress.

Soldier - A front line specialist who plays a vital role in close combat situations. Their main role is to destroy the enemy headquarters based on information and strategies brought by their Scout.

Tactics Commander - A leader who collects information and verbally orders the squad units to carry out their strategies. Their role is to analyze the map and effectively communicate with the squad members. Their main task in multiplayer matches is to expand the Network Area, thus providing teammate-to-teammate communications across the entire map.
You'll need $$$ to build, equip, upgrade your highly-customisable Hounds in the Garage.

The best way to build up war booty is to partake in Free Battles. Free Battles are basically standard fare first person shooter match types using HOUNDs. Matches can consist of up to twelve HOUNDs per match, and are of the ranked or unranked variety. Quick Match, Custom Match, and Create Match options apply.

Ready for The War?

Once you've earned some precious jack in the Basic Battle mode, and have gotten enough training, a good idea would be to enlist to fight the Neroimus War.

The Neroimus War portion of Chromehounds's online area is essentially a persistent campaign that allows you to fight for one of three nations looking to control a land mass. You'll first have to decide on one of the three countries to ally with. It's important to ally with the same country as your proposed squad mates of course, so make sure this is coordinated before selecting.

20 in one clan, but only 6 fight while 14 lepak.

You can build a twenty person squad for Neroimus War, but only six HOUNDs can be deployed at a given time. Battles can take place against human targets or A.I. enemies, which means that you can always jump on line and fight the good fight, even if the server is empty.

The long road to victory.

the Neroimus War is a territories style encounter that occurs over a lengthy period. Your objective is to take out as many enemy HOUNDs as possible, eliminate the enemy HQ, and to control as many COMBAS points as possible. The true battle winner is the squad that captures the most COMBAS', but this is quite hard to do without taking out enemy HOUNDs, HQ's, and NA's along the way.
Watch the clock - you only have 2 months to turn the enemy into rubble. Brings new meaning to our 5 minute GRAW games eh?

The fighting in the Neroimus War continues until two of the three teams have been defeated, or two months has lapsed; whichever comes first. After two months, the match will reset to pre-war conditions, which also means a short server maintenance period. If your nation happens to be wiped out within the two month period, it is possible to exile to another country and continue fighting. This is known as treason in many parts of the world as a FYI.

Money money money. It's always about MONEY.

War costs big bucks, so be prepared to shell out the ducats for repairs, fuel, and fresh ammunition. Victories equal money to pay for such things, so being prolific as a squad will truly help the coffers. Countries will dole out additional funds based on occupied territories, as protected these new lands is reason for increased military spending. Bigger defense spending means better R&D for more advanced HOUND parts, and increases in cash amounts for victories.
Team Malaysia - are you ready?

Chromehounds is perfect for clans that are online to win, as gaming groups have the discipline to follow a leader's orders and carry out their objectives. Having six snipers on a team ain't gonna' cut it, so you can kind of see why having a set squad is paramount in Chromehounds. You can run and gun, but odds are that you'll die and be at least somewhat disappointed with how things work out. Scouts need to be doing their job, Snipers need to be perched high, Defenders defending, Gunners blasting, and so forth. Bottom line: Play Chromehounds as it was designed to be played, and you'll be hard pressed to find a better online experience for the Xbox 360.
Hope the game lives up to the hype. We'll know next week, 29 June.

Edit - added list below, courtesy of ChisaKatana.

Unlockable How to Unlock
All Tact. Complete (20) Complete all missions in Story Mode.
Biped Specialist (20) Deploy on bipedal Chassis 50 times.
Bloodless Award Win 5 times w/o attacking enemy
Bronze Flag (20) Secure COMBASs total of 100 times.
Bronze Hammer (20) Destroy enemy HQ and win 50 times
Bronze Patriot (20) Stay w/ same nation for 3 seasons.
Bronze Wing (20) Destroy 50 or more enemy HOUNDs.
Capital Occupation (20) Affiliated nation destroys another.
Combat Award (20) Win 10 times when outnumbered
Command Complete (20) Complete Commander arc in Story Mode.
Command Valor (20) Commander experience level maxed out.
Crushing Award (20) Wipe out enemy and live 100 times.
Defense Complete (20) Complete Defender arc in Story Mode.
Defense Valor (20) Defender experience level maxed out.
Distinguished Service (20) Awarded for destroying the unidentified enemy weapon
Gold Cross (20) #1 in seasonal fame at end.
Gold Eagle (20) #1 in total fame for a given period.
Gold Hexagon (20) #1 in average seasonal fame at end.
Gold Lion (20) #1 in seasonal conquest points at end.
Gold Sword Cross (20) #1 in total conquest pts for period.
Gold Wing (20) #1 in avg total fame for a given period.
Gunner Complete (20) Complete H. Gunner arc in Story Mode.
Gunner Valor (20) H. Gunner experience level maxed out.
Hound Specialist (20) Own 1 of each part.
Hover Specialist (20) Deploy on hover Chassis 50 times.
Humane Award End 5 times in a row w/o killing enemy
Inverse Specialist (20) Deploy on inverse Chassis 50 times.
Marching Service (20) Travel total of 1000000.
Military Service (20) Deploy total of 300 times or more.
Multi Spec. (20) Deploy on multi Chassis 50 times.
Nation Resurrector (20) Successfully revive affiliated nation.
Neroimus War Medal (40) Affiliated nation wins Neroimus War.
Red Flag (20) Win a total of 100 times or more.
Scout Complete (20) Complete Scout arc in Story Mode.
Scout Valor (20) Scout experience level maxed out.
Silver Flag (20) Secure COMBASs total of 300 times.
Silver Hammer (20) Destroy enemy HQ and win 100 times.
Silver Patriot (20) Donate to affiliate nation 1 time
Silver Wing (20) Destroy total of 100 enemy HOUNDs.
Sniper Complete (20) Complete Sniper arc in Story Mode.
Sniper Valor (20) Sniper experience level maxed out.
Soldier Complete (20) Complete Soldier arc in Story Mode.
Soldier Valor (20) Soldier experience level maxed out.
Storming Award (20) Attack opponent first 30 times.
Survival Award (20) Return alive 10 times or more in a row.
Tact. Instructor (20) Top marks in every Story Mode mission.
Touring Service (20) Deploy to every battlefield once.
Tread Spec. (20) Deploy on treaded Chassis 50 times.
Wheel Specialist (20) Deploy on wheeled Chassis 50 times.

This post has been edited by terranova: Aug 30 2006, 03:43 PM
xxboxx
post Jun 21 2006, 07:24 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Free Battles are basically standard fare first person shooter match types using HOUNDs. Matches can consist of up to twelve HOUNDs per match, and are of the ranked or unranked variety. Quick Match, Custom Match, and Create Match options apply.

alternative to 2 months battle with 3 nations of Neroimus War, we'll still have a regular match battle. thumbup.gif but i think this one not using sega server.

and some picture:
your clan getting ready for battle
MK84
post Jun 21 2006, 07:51 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Hmm back in Mechwarrior days I'm always either the longrifle or the scout. I sure miss my Templar. tongue.gif I'm not a fan of heavies.

Any info on the weapons yet?

This post has been edited by MK84: Jun 21 2006, 07:52 PM
xxboxx
post Jun 21 2006, 08:06 PM

5,261 posts

there will be normal bullets type and missiles. there won't be any beam weapon, which is good IMO, makes the game more realistic.

the basic for each type of hounds:
Defender - Tank tracks and offensive firepower is key in this HOUND type. Rocket launchers and shotguns are the main weapons of these brutes.

Heavy Gunner - Fully loaded with two large scale cannons (one is s single shot, single kill type) makes a sturdy set of legs quite important. A reverse biped setup seems to cut down on recoil quite a bit.

Scout - A hover or wheel base, little to no armor, and few armaments will retail a Scout's high rate of speed and mobility. Default HOUNDS usually employ a frag-type defense system for when they are being chased from behind.

Sniper - A Two-fisted approach to sniping works well for these speedy devils. They're armor is limited to keep mobility up, so it's a good idea to have a back up machine gun or weapon in case of surprise close encounters. Reverse legs are great for reducing recoil.

Soldier - These tend to be the most well-rounded HOUNDS of the litter. Speed, the ability to traverse all terrains, and a mixture of medium range rocket and machine gun weapons are the keys to success.

Tactics Commander - Forget about more than one weapon with these tactical gurus. Beef up on the satellite equipment (NA Maker), the armor, and make sure to use a sturdy Generator for quick turret turns.

about the hounds itself, i like the way it was designed. it doesn't have those hand look-a-like type from armored core and mech assult. you can attach parts to side/behind/top, and that really makes it more like a real battle mechs. just look at this baby:
beautiful drool.gif
MK84
post Jun 21 2006, 08:13 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Yeah but what kind of guns and missiles? Hehe. From the Multiplayer videos I see a gatling-gun type and a shotgun type. Missiles looks like they're just rockets, no guidance.
TSterranova
post Jun 21 2006, 08:53 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jun 21 2006, 08:06 PM)
beautiful drool.gif
Is that R2D2 from Star Wars at the back of that Hound?
wcliang
post Jun 22 2006, 09:22 AM

585 posts

just surf the official site...this one looks cool...

hmmmm....i think i ll wait for the review 1st
PrivateJohn
post Jun 22 2006, 09:31 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

What i like is the unique customization~

Go download the latest 1up show, they have a preview...pretty funny, talking about a guy trying to build a mech that standout...so he built a freakin' tall mech but everytime he plays, he got own badly... laugh.gif

TSterranova
post Jun 22 2006, 10:45 AM

1,161 posts

I think I'll build my SniperHound with foot rather than rollers or tank thread + 2 sniper guns left and right as primary + 1 heavy gun as secondary, and go gun-slinging like a cowboy. Maybe I'll nickname it The Duke after John Wayne. rclxub.gif
MK84
post Jun 22 2006, 11:21 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Logically, SniperHounds needs feets for better stability. Plant those feet wide and hang on. tongue.gif Reminds me of the Masakari/Warhawk in BattleTech.
wcliang
post Jun 22 2006, 01:28 PM

585 posts

PrivateJohn
post Jun 22 2006, 01:34 PM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

AWESOME picz!!!! Looks like this game pack with lots of fun!!! The customization is endless (maybe not, but more depth than mechassault!)

Hope it lives up to the hype~ Can't wait..pre-ordered mine!
MK84
post Jun 22 2006, 01:38 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

*droooool*
TSterranova
post Jun 22 2006, 03:12 PM

1,161 posts

Wowwwww ....... nice find liang. me like me like. the hovercraft hounds look interesting too.
psp _BOY
post Jun 22 2006, 03:15 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

SEGA?hopefully region free...cos this shiz looks good
xxboxx
post Jun 22 2006, 04:08 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(wcliang @ Jun 22 2006, 01:28 PM)
there's so many dfferent parts for customize rclxms.gif
those defender and heavy gunner weapons look bad ass thumbup.gif

look at the behind of this hound. yes, thats a bullet casing, realistic.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Jun 22 2006, 04:27 PM
TSterranova
post Jun 22 2006, 04:41 PM

1,161 posts

Seems like the Official Website has been updated since the first post. Now has more content. There's also a new tagline - HUNT AS A PACK OR DIE LIKE A D*G

Which NEROIMUS Nation States would you choose to fight for? There's Democratic Republic of Tarakia, Republic of Morskoj and Kingdom of Sal Kar to choose from.

From GameSpot:

The lengthy multiplayer session really underscored the importance of Chromehounds' garage mode, more so than our single-player experience did. That's partially due to the fact that we played online with some lousy, cheating Sega reps who were running around in tricked-out hounds built from advanced components, so we got to see how a custom-built mech could really dominate against the stock designs the game offers by default. But again, we didn't really see the need for extensive customization and creative mixing and matching of weaponry and support systems until we had to go up against tougher, heavily armed human opponents. We then started experimenting with different generators (for increased energy output), weapon configurations, and more, to see what kind of performance gains we could cook up. We found that you can chain more than one weapon together--something that isn't immediately obvious in the campaign--so for instance, we assigned our cluster missiles and machine gun to the same slot for a truly withering attack that decimated some of our lightly armored opponents.

We talked about the communications network you'll have to maintain--through the capture of COMBAS towers--and then remain within so you can keep contact with friendly forces. In the offline game, straying from the network (which is indicated on your tactical map) simply means you won't hear the preset radio chatter of your computer allies. But in a team-based multiplayer game, you'll actually lose headset voice communication, preventing your team from coordinating its attack strategy--which, from what we saw on a handful of the multiplayer maps, will be crucially important to victory. So making sure you stay close to your team, and keeping tabs on all of your active COMBAS towers, will be an important part of multiplayer games in which this feature is enabled.

The strategic possibilities in team games aren't just limited to random headset chatter within matches--your team will also be presented with the in-game tactical map before a match, and you can annotate the map with numbered and color-coded markers that will let you map out a battle plan based on terrain, placement of COMBAS towers and bases, and so on. Once you're in the game, those markers will remain on the map, so it's exceedingly easy to pull up your map and verbalize your plans to your teammates to ensure rapid response.

TSterranova
post Jun 22 2006, 04:51 PM

1,161 posts

Go to the official Japanese site, click on HOUNDS and play with what I believe is a simplified version of the Garage.

chinsc
post Jun 22 2006, 10:41 PM

853 posts

he he~ our CH preorder limited should be arrived at 3rd july!

wanna join our clan????

arj
post Jun 22 2006, 10:46 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(chinsc @ Jun 22 2006, 10:41 PM)
he he~ our CH preorder limited should be arrived at 3rd july!

wanna join our clan????
When I saw ur nickname I though you're gonna announce that the game has arrived doh.gif laugh.gif

42 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0327sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:21 PM