20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Mechanical Keyboard Thread V18

SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:15 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:12 PM)
For example?
I tempted to get keycool but mmhmm, dunno can go bank in or not....
Again, what are your requirements? Switches type? Budget?
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:20 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:17 PM)
Budget not that much, but obviously if cheaper ok
TKL Brown Switches with decent quality
Backlit needed?
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:24 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:18 PM)
So you get the wireless China kb? What's the name of it, I forget already. We need someone to pioneer. Hehe... BTW, Shine 3 spacebar:

Keycool Gen 2? hmm.gif
That's why I suggest that the spacebar spacing on keycool gen 2 is standard.

Take a look at the the spacing, the left stem is located around the mid of "x" and "c" key (the picture wrongly installed the "c" and "v"...).

While the right stem is located a little over the "m".

The keycool gen2 and my F-104 is also quite similar (except that they do it the ONI style, 1mm different, then I dono liao...).

SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:32 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:26 PM)
Not necessary but anything works.
Get a white Keycool 87 PBT brown switch then, b4 it become sold out like that of blue switch, LOL. You will appreciated it for:

1. solid built
2. costar stabiliser (may need some manual tuning/lubing to make it right)
3. white case
4. stock pbt keycaps

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 05:33 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:35 PM

6,774 posts

diaBoliQu3
Currently, wireless mech kb got 2 major types, one is Bluetooth and another is 2.4ghz wireless with dongle type.

The bluetooth one is pretty much dominated by taiwan boards (filco, zippy, minila kbt pro and so on). While the usb wireless type is dominated by chinaboards (particularly plum made boards).

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 05:36 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 05:37 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:35 PM)
oh i would prefer cherry stab
any recommendations?
Mind tell me why? Stock Costar style > stock Cherry style.

Not to mention Costar style easier to be lubed and replaced.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 06:15 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:49 PM)
I'm sure it's 1mm different. I wish I can measure. But side by side comparison, the gap not really large.
So, what is your wireless kb? Thinking of getting one for my HTPC.
Yar, so now I think the best way is by buying a spacebar of keycool gen2 and measure the stem spacing.

Plum morphling 87, if want better act fast, cause nearly EOLed liao.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 06:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 05:38 PM)
i dunno, i like the cherry stab feel more
one of the reasons why i like ducky
but both works, i have the QFR as well
You are a weird one. Cherry stabilisers normally will spoil the typing feel

But either way, the cheapest cherry stabiliser tenkeyless is ducky zero, 349 rmb to 399 rmb.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 08:14 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Nov 23 2013, 07:30 PM)
Are Noppoo keyboards good?
They having multiple OEMs for different models, and different models different quality. Though, there are bashers for most of them not sure why.

On paper and from picture, they look perfectly fine for me.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 08:15 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 23 2013, 08:00 PM)
Confirm standard layout bang?
+ costar stabiliser. brows.gif

Not to forget also the LED ready holes and also Cherry profile keycaps.

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 08:17 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 08:16 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Tomtom. @ Nov 23 2013, 06:43 PM)
hey guys. i wnt to buy a new keyboard . cn any1 suggest me what is the best 1 to use? is it cherry red/blue/brown? and the brand, i am looking forward for razor blackwidow tournament. is it okay? or should i go for ducky?
Ducky/2nd hand CM Quickfire Rapid > Razer
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 08:22 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(JohnDiew0107 @ Nov 23 2013, 12:08 AM)
uh.. okay.. guess I'll get someone to work on it doh.gif
BTW, your PLUM96 can't pass bios issue still there? hmm.gif

Cause here got sell PLUM96 red switch, dat low price. Interested to get it and harvest the steel plate to be used on my 1st gen wireless version. tongue.gif
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10...192a979fece7dd7

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 08:28 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 08:44 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 23 2013, 08:36 PM)
Hi all, I m interested in the old style keyboard aka mechanical keyboard.. i m planning to get one to reminiscence my childhood days typing on the huge ass noisy keyboard... laugh.gif

I presumed that Keycool is one of the cheapest if not already the cheapest in the market..

Do you how can I get my hands on them? is TaoBao the only way? I cant read chinese.. so I am having difficulty navigating around the "google translated" site...
If you buy it solely for the sake of want a noisy keyboard like in your childhood, I will suggest you to go and dig out if any IBM Model M lying around.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:07 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(Mr. Z @ Nov 23 2013, 09:05 PM)
lol... yeah man.. haha.. i find cherry red more common though..
lol.. i wished i could find one of those ancient keyboards.. but unfortunately all of them have been disposed by my parents many years back along with the old desktop... so.. instead of looking for it, i thought of getting one for my daily usage too..
Go search around if there are ppl disposing old IBM model M.

You can also buy and import them from foreign countries (taobao, ebay) but the shipping price will be killing you.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:17 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 23 2013, 09:12 PM)
keycool is a solid china board brand. just that right now the only 2 problem with it is the spacebar issue on the backlit model, and white colour macam tak nampak yet for the backlit version.
Buy 2, one white pbt and another black backlit.

Swap the case, swap the backplate.

Tadaa, white case backlit keycool with costar style stabiliser and 100% keycaps compatibility. icon_idea.gif

BTW, have a look back my Wall of Picture post afternoon just now, I am suspecting that the keycool 87II (backlit) may actually have a standard and compatible spacebar. Details explained in the post.

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 09:18 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:19 PM

6,774 posts

BTW, Noppo's latest TKL coming soon,
http://www.pcwaishe.cn/thread-531384-1-1.html
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:30 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 23 2013, 09:27 PM)
ur method....haram giler...

i did read ur post. but i rmbr someone bought the keycool gen2 and had problems with the spacebar although it looks compatible-ish
Mine share the sos?

P/S: Actually my suggestion (on the keycool swapping part) is quite valid what? The white pbt version even got glossy white plate, will look nice on backlit.

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 09:37 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:40 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 23 2013, 09:37 PM)
eh...
while i was searching for sos...
here's what i found

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry64152461
LOL, that one is the initial theory by kyrmian, which I challenged with new theory in my new post.

So far, I had yet saw a review of Keycool 87II on non-china forums yet.
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 09:43 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 23 2013, 09:41 PM)
not theory woh...u see my second post there...that's the link to kyrmian's drillz on the spacebar
My new theory proposed that the one abang kyrmian got actually is gen1, so YAHOOO, keycool backlit II officially back to the top recommendation list for backlit keyboard. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

p/s1: Or may be wait until I get a keycool backlit spacebar for verification first better... Who know later ONI's problem popped out again... doh.gif

p/s2: So far only tWice got misleaded, right? but at least, he is getting a Ducky shine 3, which should be even better. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Human10: Nov 23 2013, 09:48 PM
SUSHuman10
post Nov 23 2013, 10:00 PM

6,774 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 23 2013, 09:53 PM)
you should get the new keycool gen2 and verify your theory!
i wouldn't get it unless this 2 conditions are met:-
1) after i've bought and completed my first custom board.
2) when there's white version for the keycool 87 gen2 backlit board.

Brb, digging out all my existing spacebar and doing a "spacebar analysis" to predict the compatibility of the keycool87II.

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:32 AM