Mechanical Keyboard Thread V18
D.Sync
Dec 5 2013, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 4 2013, 11:41 PM) Now practicing my touch typing method.. I believe it's QWERTY.type typing right? still quite slow though really wanna achieve 100wpm.. donno when possible..  I would say it will take you months to reach that provided you consistently type it. Start slow and try to be accurate instead of typing blindingly fast. Trust me, a spelling mistake hurts the WPM much more than when you type slow. Psychologically, whenever I made a mistake, I tend to become nervous and it affects my ability to type the next words accurately.
D.Sync
Dec 5 2013, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:00 AM) Then you around mid 20s to early 30s?  Spot on! From the circle that I'm mingled around, I'm the only one know type in Dvorak. To be more precise, I'm the only one who knows what is Dvorak.
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 12:04 AM
QUOTE(D.Sync @ Dec 5 2013, 12:04 AM) Spot on! From the circle that I'm mingled around, I'm the only one know type in Dvorak. To be more precise, I'm the only one who knows what is Dvorak.  I'm 26.
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 12:09 AM
I think Poker 2 keyboard layout really a good layout. I'm rating 60% >> tkl. Considering to buy 1  Will get ergo clear for key switch? So, must harvest from mx clear keyboard? or any store selling mx clear? This post has been edited by quovadis123: Dec 5 2013, 12:12 AM
toomanyrulez
Dec 5 2013, 12:12 AM
wanna ask something here.. is our posture when typing affecting our typing performance? hmm.. anyone?
TS0168257061
Dec 5 2013, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 4 2013, 11:41 PM) Now practicing my touch typing method.. I believe it's QWERTY.type typing right? still quite slow though really wanna achieve 100wpm.. donno when possible..  I am still stuck at 100 around. my gf can achieve 130-140 on her macbookpro and kmac2 QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:09 AM) I think Poker 2 keyboard layout really a good layout. I'm rating 60% >> tkl. Considering to buy 1  Will get ergo clear for key switch? So, must harvest from mx clear keyboard? or any store selling mx clear? if you lazy harvest, i sell mine to you
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 12:15 AM
QUOTE(toomanyrulez @ Dec 5 2013, 12:12 AM) wanna ask something here.. is our posture when typing affecting our typing performance? hmm.. anyone? You watch this before? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9EXEpjSDEwOn Das Mechanical keyboard. You may see his posture as reference.
toomanyrulez
Dec 5 2013, 12:17 AM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:15 AM) I am still stuck at 100 around. my gf can achieve 130-140 on her macbookpro and kmac2 if you lazy harvest, i sell mine to you  what she does?
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 12:30 AM
QUOTE(0168257061 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:15 AM) if you lazy harvest, i sell mine to you  How much ?
TS0168257061
Dec 5 2013, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:30 AM) How much ?  Pl0x go pm lah
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 12:57 AM
Is the contacts of every Cherry MX the same? only different in stems?
midnight2903
Dec 5 2013, 12:59 AM

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:57 AM) Is the contacts of every Cherry MX the same? only different in stems? If by contacts, you mean material only then yes But if you mean their location then probably not.
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Dec 5 2013, 12:59 AM) If by contacts, you mean material only then yes But if you mean their location then probably not. Mean I can't use replace MX Brown switches 's stem with MX Clear to make it work like ergo Clear?
SUSHuman10
Dec 5 2013, 01:03 AM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:01 AM) Mean I can't use replace MX Brown switches 's stem with MX Clear to make it work like ergo Clear?  You can. Infact, for PCB mounted boards. Ppl rarely desolder the switches to mod it, simply remove the top case, take out old stem/spring, plug in new stem/spring and reinstall the top case. You keep the base of switches till it is broken or having multi registering issues.
midnight2903
Dec 5 2013, 01:04 AM

QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:03 AM) You can. Infact, for PCB mounted boards. Ppl rarely desolder the switches to mod it, simply remove the top case, take out old stem/spring, plug in new stem/spring and reinstall the top case. You keep the base of switches till it is broken or having multi registering issues. which is why im still finding some TKL PCB mounted boards D:
SUSHuman10
Dec 5 2013, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(midnight2903 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:04 AM) which is why im still finding some TKL PCB mounted boards D: Try search for Poker X (aka poker1). Apart from that, Neo Zelia is probably your last option as KBT/Vortex series such as Race/Pure all having non-standard and super weirdo layout. I personally am using PCB mounted Plum96, everything is perfect, except for the non-standard spacebar. Sometimes, I am even despo to the extend of getting a steel plate from standard boards and cut out the modifiers portion to mount on my PLUM96 so I can use costar stabiliser with standard spacebar spacing, 2birds with one stone. Or if you still insist on something more modern and quality, get a Poker2 and install the hammer's anodised alu plate, it have cuting around switches similar to that on phantom so that you can remove the switch's top case as pcb mounted did. This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 5 2013, 01:11 AM
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:03 AM) You can. Infact, for PCB mounted boards. Ppl rarely desolder the switches to mod it, simply remove the top case, take out old stem/spring, plug in new stem/spring and reinstall the top case. You keep the base of switches till it is broken or having multi registering issues. Hehe. So, I can buy MX Clear from 016 then replace my MX brown's stem with the MX Clear stem to make it MX ergo Clear without replace the brown spring. If really so, really thanks.
midnight2903
Dec 5 2013, 01:08 AM

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:07 AM) Hehe. So, I can buy MX Clear from 016 then replace my MX brown's stem with the MX Clear stem to make it MX ergo Clear without replace the brown spring. If really so, really thanks. u can, just u have to desolder
SUSHuman10
Dec 5 2013, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:07 AM) Hehe. So, I can buy MX Clear from 016 then replace my MX brown's stem with the MX Clear stem to make it MX ergo Clear without replace the brown spring. If really so, really thanks. I seriously think it is a little too much hassle. Might as well get a keycool with clear switches and test if you like it or not first b4 doing operation on your Filco/Ducky. IINM, someone here is letting go their ducky g2 pro with clear switches, not a bad choice too. This post has been edited by Human10: Dec 5 2013, 01:12 AM
quovadis123
Dec 5 2013, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(Human10 @ Dec 5 2013, 01:10 AM) I seriously think it is a little too much hassle. Might as well get a keycool with clear switches and test if you like it or not first b4 doing operation on your Filco/Ducky. IINM, someone here is letting go their ducky g2 pro with clear switches, not a bad choice too. Then after bought still need open out and replace the spring. I want mx ergo clear, but not mx clear.