Modder Needed, Laptop to Desktop Mod

TScorad
post Nov 21 2013, 10:29 PM, updated 13y ago

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

Hi guys,

I currently have a Sager NP8690 laptop which I believe would be better suited as a desktop (which is how its used now anyway).

Have never modded nor am I particularly good with my hands. Hence would appreciate if I could contract this to someone on the forum blush.gif

It will involve stripping the components from the laptop case, including the monitor and mounting it either on a custom case or micro ATX type. Hopefully we can add in a PSU (instead of laptop adapter) and some fans & of course more USB ports.

Would be happy to discuss prices and a timeline. Also if you have anyone to recommend, I can contact them directly. Preferable to be in Sarawak but I can make a trip to KL as well.

Thanks for reading !

EDIT : Budget RM2000

This post has been edited by corad: Nov 22 2013, 10:13 AM
Lucassss
post Nov 22 2013, 12:08 AM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 21 2013, 10:29 PM)
Hi guys,

I currently have a Sager NP8690 laptop which I believe would be better suited as a desktop (which is how its used now anyway).

Have never modded nor am I particularly good with my hands. Hence would appreciate if I could contract this to someone on the forum  blush.gif

It will involve stripping the components from the laptop case, including the monitor and mounting it either on a custom case or micro ATX type. Hopefully we can add in a PSU (instead of laptop adapter) and some fans & of course more USB ports.

Would be happy to discuss prices and a timeline. Also if you have anyone to recommend, I can contact them directly. Preferable to be in Sarawak but I can make a trip to KL as well.

Thanks for reading !
Why go through so much trouble? Better to just buy a new PC if you really want it.
TScorad
post Nov 22 2013, 09:36 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 22 2013, 12:08 AM)
Why go through so much trouble? Better to just buy a new PC if you really want it.
Thought of that, but its a waste to put away a machine that still runs BF3 Medium @ 1920 x 1200.

Main reason is one of the internal fans is starting to die. And since I don't use it as a laptop its a great chance to give it a new outfit biggrin.gif

It shouldn't be a hard mod but will need assistance in moving & grounding the components properly. Tried a few PC shops locally but none knew how to replace the adapter with a PSU.

Lucassss
post Nov 22 2013, 09:56 AM

fanboy.
2,878 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 22 2013, 09:36 AM)
Thought of that, but its a waste to put away a machine that still runs BF3 Medium @ 1920 x 1200.

Main reason is one of the internal fans is starting to die. And since I don't use it as a laptop its a great chance to give it a new outfit biggrin.gif

It shouldn't be a hard mod but will need assistance in moving & grounding the components properly. Tried a few PC shops locally but none knew how to replace the adapter with a PSU.
Moving shouldn't be too hard, but you won't have any IO ports.
Wiring is going to be a pain to do and might even cost more than building a new PC.
TScorad
post Nov 22 2013, 10:11 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Lucassss @ Nov 22 2013, 09:56 AM)
Moving shouldn't be too hard, but you won't have any IO ports.
Wiring is going to be a pain to do and might even cost more than building a new PC.
So a custom case would be preferable. Could leave the parts the exact same layout as they were in the laptop.

This was from my other Sager laptop , but just to illustrate how the parts are easily removable. Probably easier to work with than a typical laptop.

Depending on the quality of the build, I'm happy to put down RM2k into this project.

Avesk2
post Nov 22 2013, 11:14 AM

18 posts

What's your output voltage and current from your adapter? If its more that 12V then its gonna be a pain to replace the adapter with a PSU since PSUs have a max 12V DC output.

My suggestion is to mod the laptop with extra fans, if you fan is dying and /modmake a stand so that your laptop stands vertical?
TScorad
post Nov 22 2013, 11:25 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Avesk2 @ Nov 22 2013, 11:14 AM)
What's your output voltage and current from your adapter? If its more that 12V then its gonna be a pain to replace the adapter with a PSU since PSUs have a max 12V DC output.

My suggestion is to mod the laptop with extra fans, if you fan is dying and /modmake a stand so that your laptop stands vertical?
Full Range 120W AC Adapter AC-in 100~240V, 50~60Hz
DC output 20V, 6.0A

Hence the need for some help since I don't want to mess anything up tongue.gif

Haven't set my mind on any layout, but it has to be one where the monitor is visible ... even better if the keyboard/trackpad is tacked on somewhere as well.

Perhaps something like this Sunray ? But with monitor being able to fold so I can hang it on the wall as a 2nd monitor

Avesk2
post Nov 22 2013, 11:52 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 22 2013, 11:25 AM)
Full Range 120W AC Adapter AC-in 100~240V, 50~60Hz
DC output 20V, 6.0A

Hence the need for some help since I don't want to mess anything up tongue.gif

Haven't set my mind on any layout, but it has to be one where the monitor is visible ... even better if the keyboard/trackpad is tacked on somewhere as well.

Perhaps something like this Sunray ? But with monitor being able to fold so I can hang it on the wall as a 2nd monitor

tricky stuff. as laptop mobos arent exactly user friendly. Gotta figure out where all the 12Vs, 3.3Vs, 5Vs. Lots of work dude.

cool thing is that for this work there's alot of challenges, for example gotta convert the KB ribbon and attach to a cable, stick the kb to a board or something. sleeve it up nicely just for the effect. guess gotta DIY the cable and same thing for the trackpad.

Or get somore of that ribbon cable, convert to connectors. can plug unplug em.

Methinks sticking to the laptop adapter is good enough, just hide it in a casing and stick it like a PSU. All you gotta do is just plug in the cable from the outside just like a regular PSU.
Gotta make a custom holder for it would be great.

There are guides online to convert your laptop display to a monitor, some parts gotta order from china IINM the adapter, circuitry for connection (HDMI, VGA etc) and the controller something2.

All the best dude. thumbup.gif
TScorad
post Nov 22 2013, 12:59 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Avesk2 @ Nov 22 2013, 11:52 AM)
tricky stuff. as laptop mobos arent exactly user friendly. Gotta figure out where all the 12Vs, 3.3Vs, 5Vs. Lots of work dude.

cool thing is that for this work there's alot of challenges, for example gotta convert the KB ribbon and attach to a cable, stick the kb to a board or something. sleeve it up nicely just for the effect. guess gotta DIY the cable and same thing for the trackpad.

Or get somore of that ribbon cable, convert to connectors. can plug unplug em.

Methinks sticking to the laptop adapter is good enough, just hide it in a casing and stick it like a PSU. All you gotta do is just plug in the cable from the outside just like a regular PSU.
Gotta make a custom holder for it would be great.

There are guides online to convert your laptop display to a monitor, some parts gotta order from china IINM the adapter, circuitry for connection (HDMI, VGA etc) and the controller something2.

All the best dude.  thumbup.gif
Thanks !

Reason for the PSU is so I can add in fans, extra HDD with more flexibility.
Clem1982
post Nov 23 2013, 09:57 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 22 2013, 12:59 PM)
Thanks !

Reason for the PSU is so I can add in fans, extra HDD with more flexibility.
Well you could run an additional PSU as a separate unit to the laptop to power up other things, but the data connectivity will still be a pain... I saw that you have an m-sata port so that maybe you could get a splitter for it
Hakimi90
post Nov 23 2013, 10:03 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 21 2013, 10:29 PM)
Hi guys,

Have never modded nor am I particularly good with my hands. Hence would appreciate if I could contract this to someone on the forum  blush.gif

Thanks for reading !

EDIT : Budget RM2000
hi this my freetime plus free lying laptop part around..
have a look...

Laptop to photoframe
TScorad
post Nov 23 2013, 07:16 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(Hakimi90 @ Nov 23 2013, 10:03 AM)
hi this my freetime plus free lying laptop part around..
have a look...

Laptop to photoframe
Looks close to what I'm after !

But logistics is going to be a problem since you're in KT and I'm in Swak sweat.gif
gxthelord
post Nov 27 2013, 11:32 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

Great idea. biggrin.gif I also recently come across this idea but I think you can custom make those closure online, maybe u can Contact Mod N Go about your idea.
My idea is basicly taking apart everything, screw the mobo tray onto a wooden board. Cover up the sides with arcylic panel. So basicly it will look like a box with all the ports that came along with it. Then maybe put 3 fans on top and bottom to increase airflow. If going more extreme can even try mod the board to put in AIO wc. biggrin.gif
Also if wanted it to be more neater can hide hide the Power Brick itself inside the box. ^^
It's just an idea tho, never really got the time to experiment with it yet. smile.gif
SUSGregyong
post Nov 27 2013, 11:34 PM

1,167 posts

Consider this, sell your laptop and get a good 3k return.
Have 5K in hand, get a desktop that will run BF3 @ Ultra @ 1600p
TScorad
post Nov 28 2013, 09:14 AM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Nov 27 2013, 11:32 PM)
Great idea. biggrin.gif I also recently come across this idea but I think you can custom make those closure online, maybe u can Contact Mod N Go about your idea.
My idea is basicly taking apart everything, screw the mobo tray onto a wooden board. Cover up the sides with arcylic panel. So basicly it will look like a box with all the ports that came along with it. Then maybe put 3 fans on top and bottom to increase airflow. If going more extreme can even try mod the board to put in AIO wc. biggrin.gif
Also if wanted it to be more neater can hide hide the Power Brick itself inside the box. ^^
It's just an idea tho, never really got the time to experiment with it yet. smile.gif
Thanks will drop them a message. Main reason for PSU instead of adapter is so I can add fans/HDD without worrying about power.

QUOTE(Gregyong @ Nov 27 2013, 11:34 PM)
Consider this, sell your laptop and get a good 3k return.
Have 5K in hand, get a desktop that will run BF3 @ Ultra @ 1600p
I could get a PC straight off, without selling this laptop but there's no point. I hardly use either so may as well make the most of what I have smile.gif
haxard
post Nov 28 2013, 09:56 AM

37 posts

-

This post has been edited by haxard: Jun 17 2021, 08:51 AM
k3lvinNdad
post Nov 29 2013, 08:16 PM

Uulala
511 posts

Custom made case with aluminum or acrylic
TScorad
post Nov 29 2013, 11:37 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Nov 29 2013, 08:16 PM)
Custom made case with aluminum or acrylic
do you provide this service ? Will also need installation smile.gif
k3lvinNdad
post Nov 30 2013, 12:53 AM

Uulala
511 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Nov 29 2013, 11:37 PM)
do you provide this service ? Will also need installation smile.gif
i like to do this kind of stuff but i dun have the equipment and talent on designing the enclosure for it sad.gif
if u got someone who can design a custom enclosure then make it out should be no problem just send the design to the shop and machine will do the job smile.gif
irienaoki
post Dec 6 2013, 08:55 PM

Janitor
3,428 posts

u can stick with current power adapter and make something slimmer.
a slim desktop with extensive cooling solution.

0.0367sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:25 AM