Career and Education Fair 2006, Anyone going?

TSmasterelr
post Jun 20 2006, 11:28 PM, updated 20y ago

1,003 posts

So there will be a career and education fair which will be held in Midvalley KL (june23-25), City Square Johor Baru (july29-30), and Prangin Mall in Penang (Aug19-20).
Should I go or is anyone going? I heard the last time this fair was organized, a lot of people got jobs. So I'm thinking of trying it out.
Anyone who has been to this fair last year have any info to share? Like how will the interviews be conducted and all.

More info about the fair
jaychou1987
post Jun 20 2006, 11:42 PM

245 posts

got also tell me ya...smile.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 21 2006, 11:02 AM

52,874 posts

Since I'm unemployed, I'm going for it.

By the way, are there any walk-in interview? Should I wear a formal attire on that day?
TSmasterelr
post Jun 21 2006, 02:09 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 21 2006, 11:02 AM)

By the way, are there any walk-in interview? Should I wear a formal attire on that day?
Yeah you can do the interview one the spot if you want to. And yeah I also wanna ask if I should wear formal or not.
And how long does it take to get a reply from them whether they'll employ you or not?

This post has been edited by masterelr: Jun 21 2006, 02:15 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 21 2006, 08:14 PM

52,874 posts

Give them a call after you have attended their interview or you may ask them at the end of interview.
Vint
post Jun 21 2006, 08:18 PM

ºI'm ♫♪♫♪♫♪..
1,492 posts

In shopping complex ar?I don't think it will be a big fair.
cywings
post Jun 21 2006, 09:23 PM

415 posts

any idea on the list of exhibitors??
what companies are coming?
TSmasterelr
post Jun 21 2006, 09:48 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ Jun 21 2006, 09:23 PM)
any idea on the list of exhibitors??
what companies are coming?
Heres a list of those companies...
http://careerfair.jobsdb.com/career/defaul...&83832150697708
SUSDavid83
post Jun 21 2006, 10:17 PM

52,874 posts

I'm eyeing for Komag and Flextronics.
hans.excel
post Jun 22 2006, 10:41 AM

401 posts

just remember to stock up on your resume and try to be early. Early birds catch the worms.
vvv
post Jun 22 2006, 04:13 PM

835 posts

but cannot pre-register
SUSDavid83
post Jun 22 2006, 06:19 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(hans.excel @ Jun 22 2006, 10:41 AM)
just remember to stock up on your resume and try to be early. Early birds catch the worms.
Not just resume ... bring all the relevant stuffs; transcript, reports and etc.
goliath
post Jun 22 2006, 06:36 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 21 2006, 11:02 AM)
Should I wear a formal attire on that day?
Anybody?? unsure.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Jun 22 2006, 06:19 PM)
Not just resume ... bring all the relevant stuffs; transcript, reports and etc.
And 2 dozens of Passport Pictures too
PurpleDream
post Jun 22 2006, 07:07 PM

the website stated that need to bring soft copy resume
(thumb drive) too.... @@

my fren said wear smart casual is ok, wearing formal to shopping complex.... very weird...i jus wondering can i wear jeans? blush.gif

This post has been edited by PurpleDream: Jun 22 2006, 07:12 PM
AnimeAsia
post Jun 22 2006, 08:21 PM

358 posts

I went to the career fair before. I wear casual only. Usually they just ask you to fill in forms and submit resume only.
TSmasterelr
post Jun 22 2006, 09:49 PM

1,003 posts

The Ten Keys to Success at Job and Career Fairs
I read that they're only giving 5 minutes for the interview? Hhhhmmmmmm......
Gotta talk fast then. Rapping and stuff....
goliath
post Jun 22 2006, 10:53 PM

5,532 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jun 22 2006, 09:49 PM)
The Ten Keys to Success at Job and Career Fairs
I read that they're only giving 5 minutes for the interview? Hhhhmmmmmm......
Gotta talk fast then. Rapping and stuff....
You mean like Twista's rapping speed? blink.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Jun 22 2006, 10:53 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 22 2006, 11:12 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(PurpleDream @ Jun 22 2006, 07:07 PM)
the website stated that need to bring soft copy resume
(thumb drive) too.... @@

my fren said wear smart casual is ok, wearing formal to shopping complex.... very weird...i jus wondering can i wear jeans? blush.gif
I don't feel weird at all. Come on, it's held at MV.

QUOTE(AnimeAsia @ Jun 22 2006, 08:21 PM)
I went to the career fair before. I wear casual only. Usually they just ask you to fill in forms and submit resume only.
So, there's no walk-in interview. Like there, better reconsider what attire to wear. tongue.gif
TSmasterelr
post Jun 22 2006, 11:52 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Jun 22 2006, 10:53 PM)
You mean like Twista's rapping speed?  blink.gif
Yeah something like that. Try to talk as much as you can in 5 mins. rclxms.gif

But I thought its stated that there will be walk-in interviews? If I'm not sleeping the whole day I might go and check it out tomorrow.

It would be weird if everyones wearing casual and you're the only one wearing formal. People will be like...wa lau eh... smart dude!
I'll probably wear formal anyway. And quickly change back to casual once I'm done. Don't feel comfortable wearing formal. Hah! Prefer to just wear singlet and selipar jepun.

Heres what the site says about attire.
Is there a dress code?
No, but first impressions do count and are important. Whilst it is not necessary to wear a suit and tie, 'business casual' would be deemed the most acceptable attire. Be comfortable!

Whats business casual? Does it mean you have to wear one of those buttoned long sleeved shirt or just T-shirt will do?

This post has been edited by masterelr: Jun 23 2006, 12:01 AM
arsenal
post Jun 23 2006, 01:20 PM

THE GUNNERS
2,354 posts

QUOTE(masterelr @ Jun 22 2006, 11:52 PM)
Yeah something like that. Try to talk as much as you can in 5 mins. rclxms.gif
But I thought its stated that there will be walk-in interviews? If I'm not sleeping the whole day I might go and check it out tomorrow.

It would be weird if everyones wearing casual and you're the only one wearing formal. People will be like...wa lau eh... smart dude!
I'll probably wear formal anyway. And quickly change back to casual once I'm done. Don't feel comfortable wearing formal. Hah! Prefer to just wear singlet and selipar jepun.

Heres what the site says about attire.

Whats business casual? Does it mean you have to wear one of those buttoned long sleeved shirt or just T-shirt will do?
wat time is the event?
aH wAi
post Jun 23 2006, 05:09 PM

roar! who care?
838 posts

yea, that event from what time till what time?
TSmasterelr
post Jun 23 2006, 08:09 PM

1,003 posts

Its from 10am - 7pm.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 23 2006, 08:34 PM

52,874 posts

Who went today? Share your experience, thank you.
goliath
post Jun 23 2006, 08:59 PM

5,532 posts

It alright to dress/wear smart. Something different and you might have different (better) treatment when you enter a shop/restaurant too smile.gif

Either a long sleeve shirt or collar t-shirt with long pants. Damn, I always wear t-shirt with bermudas to Midvalley.

This post has been edited by goliath: Jun 23 2006, 09:11 PM
lipkhin
post Jun 24 2006, 10:31 AM

1,390 posts

--- deleted ---

This post has been edited by lipkhin: Dec 1 2010, 02:17 AM
louyeh
post Jun 24 2006, 01:09 PM

3,032 posts

you have to preregister with JobsDB.com. better to register at home so you dont have to waste time filling up the form.

upon entering.. youll be disappointed as there arent many booths around. walk around the corner and thank goodness there's Hall 2. but before that, if youre filling up the registration form, do take note the have a couple of mistakes in the form.

Emploment history: 1st column - From (mm/yy), 2nd column - From (mm/yy)

there isnt much space to fill in the job description also. best of all after filling up much, you'll tend to overhear this 'the only important part is the email address, the rest is not very important'. why bother filling up the form in the first place?

try requesting for a feedback form next. there is any to start with. great, hold an event and you dont want to know how well it went.

there are interview booths for on the spot one to one sessions.
thefryingfox
post Jun 24 2006, 01:12 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

i had enough of all this job fair
its like throwing my resume to teh dustbin
vvv
post Jun 24 2006, 01:53 PM

835 posts

anyone went to the talk by BAT?
my timing not rite leh...
swlong
post Jun 24 2006, 01:59 PM

548 posts

QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Jun 24 2006, 01:12 PM)
i had enough of all this job fair
its like throwing my resume to teh dustbin
dun be so bad....is become the company's recycle paper biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 24 2006, 07:07 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(louyeh @ Jun 24 2006, 01:09 PM)
there are interview booths for on the spot one to one sessions.
Can you remember what're the companies?
lipkhin
post Jun 24 2006, 07:23 PM

1,390 posts

--- deleted ---

louyeh
post Jun 24 2006, 07:28 PM

3,032 posts

QUOTE(lipkhin @ Jun 24 2006, 07:23 PM)
normally on the spot interview only on first day...
last day i think only can submit resume...
oh yes
so the people inside the booth are just trying to get to know each other better
TSmasterelr
post Jun 24 2006, 09:05 PM

1,003 posts

So I went to the fair today. I'm glad I registered through the internet so I get to go in straight away. Those who didn't register need to fill in form in a crowded place with others who haven't registered.
Coudn't really find a job that I was really interested in. But then again it was too crowded and I'm too lazy to have a better look and stuff.
When I was there, there were a few companies up on stage talking stuffs. One of them was SONY and no one in the crowd seems interested. Those who were sitting down on the front row are probably only pretending to be listening while they're just resting their ass. But those guys from True Fitness gave a cool performance because they were kinda like dancing and figthing with loud music on. People started gathering around and watch. Now that was entertaining. After that there this old man who gave speech about success and stuff and everyone started leaving. Finally theres this guy from JobsDB who is giving tips about writing good resumes. Sounds interesting but I was just too tired and left.
As for jobs, I only applied two. I applied for Shift Supervisor at the Starbucks booth. Can't remember what the other job I applied for was. After I fill in the form, they say the interview will be held in the Starbucks shop at groud floor. I was like "wtf? I have to go downstairs?". But yeah I went anyway and waited for more than an hour. And I screwed up the interview because lots of question don't know how to answer.
The fair isn't as fun as I expected....
vvv
post Jun 24 2006, 09:35 PM

835 posts

thx for sharing...
lipkhin
post Jun 24 2006, 10:32 PM

1,390 posts

--- deleted ---

aH wAi
post Jun 25 2006, 02:28 AM

roar! who care?
838 posts

ops, edited... wrong post

This post has been edited by aH wAi: Jun 25 2006, 02:28 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2006, 02:38 AM

52,874 posts

I'm planning to go tomorrow ... heard that the 8 Team from 8TV will be there too.
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Jun 25 2006, 10:15 AM

263 posts

Better just send ur resume to the company than give them the resume for recyling to the ....paper lama!...paper lama!
mastervj
post Jun 25 2006, 11:19 AM

Reigning in Blood
866 posts

i went there yesterday, applied to a few positions (the one's i remember is EDS, Sony, Great Eastern Life, Manulife, Southern Bank) and registered with a the job recruitment agencies. I took all my cert's and went and but nvr use also, coz most of them want to see resume only (and i brought only 1 hardcopy sad.gif...now have to go send my softcopy to all the company's e-mail, coz although u can get JobsDB to do that by filling up a 'shopping list', i saw the number of ist inside the box, all look like sampah smile.gif )..better go and send it myself
izzuelaw1986
post Jun 25 2006, 11:29 AM

171 posts

planning to go for it actually...but too bad my weekend timetable already full
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2006, 11:48 AM

52,874 posts

You can bring your resume in pen drive and let me copy to their laptop right? I read this somewhere at jobsdb website.
e-jump
post Jun 25 2006, 12:46 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

owh man...
gonna missed it, as i got something to attend to today [as i forgot bout it yesterday]
gonna be jobless, continuing.... doh.gif

good luck to u guys wink.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2006, 04:10 PM

52,874 posts

Back from it ... it's really nothing. Just resume submission ...

The fair is small and occupies only 2 halls.
Vexper
post Jun 25 2006, 08:18 PM

45 posts

Just went there yesterday, and those staff was busy asking u to fill-up thier application form and submit resume ... most are submitted in softcopy
was wondering... there's so much application were throw inside thier box ler..
better way is u telling the related staff which field u actually interested.. if they hv suitable position they will get u to fill up the form and put u into the rite place... there was one i told the staff where i'm interested... yet they put my resume under the related field ... they categorize those fields dy.... is better than the rest just throw the resume inside one folder without categorize it..
lipkhin
post Jun 25 2006, 08:35 PM

1,390 posts

--- deleted ---

This post has been edited by lipkhin: Dec 1 2010, 02:18 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 25 2006, 09:03 PM

52,874 posts

What's your university?
lipkhin
post Jun 25 2006, 10:03 PM

1,390 posts

--- deleted ---

This post has been edited by lipkhin: Dec 1 2010, 02:16 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jun 26 2006, 03:07 AM

52,874 posts

Flextronics (Shah Alam) had walk-in interview at the nearby hotel ... Anybody went for it?
i am sam
post Jun 26 2006, 11:10 AM

QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 25 2006, 12:46 PM)
owh man...
gonna missed it, as i got something to attend to today [as i forgot bout it yesterday]
gonna be jobless, continuing.... doh.gif

good luck to u guys wink.gif
Oh, don't be a crybaby. Just submit your resume to the respected companies through their official website. I'm sure they will glad to view it.
smellyocheese
post Jun 26 2006, 01:22 PM

Quack
2,599 posts

oh man, I missed it. was working. sigh. I think I"ll go to the UK study fair since I intend on going to Uni there... not sure if the uni that I'll be going to will be there though,

0.0215sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:41 AM