128 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestions Thread V4

Sentinel92
post Mar 10 2014, 01:24 PM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 10 2014, 08:43 AM)
Again no to 350D. This casing is too small for me.

Ok, i expand my budget for my casing within RM300-400, In my list now:
1. Corsair Carbide 400R (Very good review in techpowerup)
2. Cooler Master RC-690 III (very good review in guru3d)

My 1st priority is CM RC-690III, the attractive point is there are 3 grommet holes for WC tubing, if let say i hook the 240mm radiator on top, most probably I will not be able to mount 120mm raditor on rear inside the casing. So i can extend the tubing outside the casing and mount the 120mm casing outside the casing.

Actually for radiator i more prefer mount outside the case like my current setup, the cooling performance is better.
Hahahahahha. Okay okay. But you won't consider the Phantom 410? It's a pretty good case. biggrin.gif

Yeah the Corsair and CM are good mid sized caxes that would suit you fine.

As for radiator mounts, its up to you. My preference is to mount it inside. Haha.
Btw for the CM690III you can actually mount the second rad at the bottom of the case.
So Swiftech H220 pump/Waterblock > CPU > 240mm Rad > GPU > 120mm Rad > Pump/Waterblock again.

coolkwc
post Mar 10 2014, 02:05 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 10 2014, 01:24 PM)
Hahahahahha. Okay okay. But you won't consider the Phantom 410? It's a pretty good case.  biggrin.gif

Yeah the Corsair and CM are good mid sized caxes that would suit you fine.

As for radiator mounts, its up to you. My preference is to mount it inside. Haha.
Btw for the CM690III you can actually mount the second rad at the bottom of the case.
So Swiftech H220 pump/Waterblock > CPU > 240mm Rad > GPU > 120mm Rad > Pump/Waterblock again.
Haha, no plan to cool my ancient 6870 GPU at all as i seldom gaming and nv OC GPU.

I actually want my extra 120mm radiator give extra cooling for CPU as well.

Meaning water block/pump -> 240mm radiator -> 120mm radiator -> water block/pump. Haswell is a hot chip, i plan to OC at least 4.6Ghz, means also with high voltage, so i predict alot of heats will be generated by the chip.
Sentinel92
post Mar 10 2014, 04:21 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 10 2014, 02:05 PM)
Haha, no plan to cool my ancient 6870 GPU at all as i seldom gaming and nv OC GPU.

I actually want my extra 120mm radiator give extra cooling for CPU as well.

Meaning water block/pump -> 240mm radiator -> 120mm radiator -> water block/pump. Haswell is a hot chip, i plan to OC at least 4.6Ghz, means also with high voltage, so i predict alot of heats will be generated by the chip.
Oh. Hahaha okay. But i think the H220 by itself should be sufficient for cooling the 4770K. But again you already have the radiator. Just make sure you buy the right fittings and tubing for the loop. Primochill Advance LRT Tubing and XSPC Compressions are good cheap alternatives.

Chosen one
post Mar 10 2014, 09:31 PM

217 posts

Could you guys quote me a Gaming rig

Going to play sc2 dota2 diablo3 titanfall darksoul cod franchise

Budget rm 2.5k and a small casing with good ventilation

And please suggest a good monitor for the digested rig
TSCable707
post Mar 10 2014, 09:48 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Mar 10 2014, 09:31 PM)
Could you guys quote me a Gaming rig

Going to play sc2 dota2 diablo3 titanfall darksoul cod franchise

Budget rm 2.5k and a small casing with good ventilation

And please suggest a good monitor for the digested rig
Intel Core i5 4440 3.0GHz RM579
Asrock B85M Pro4 mainboard RM279
Kingston KVR1600MHz 8GB RM239
Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB RM849
Antec VP-550 80+ Bronze PSU RM199
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM199
Cooler Master N200 case RM149
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59

Total - RM2,552.00

Monitor :

- Viewsonic VX2370S 23" IPS RM499
- Dell S2340L 23" IPS RM539
Chosen one
post Mar 10 2014, 10:08 PM

217 posts

Thanks for the quote smile.gif if I need a wifi connection, because I'll need to bring it to my university, what hardware would meet that requirement, Internet card?
TSCable707
post Mar 10 2014, 10:17 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(Chosen one @ Mar 10 2014, 10:08 PM)
Thanks for the quote smile.gif if I need a wifi connection, because I'll need to bring it to my university,  what hardware would meet that requirement, Internet card?
Do you mean a wifi adapter?TP-Link TL-WN8200ND at RM79.
Chosen one
post Mar 10 2014, 10:22 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Mar 10 2014, 11:17 PM)
Do you mean a wifi adapter?TP-Link TL-WN8200ND at RM79.
yes that what I meant, thanks smile.gif
zkhin
post Mar 10 2014, 11:06 PM

184 posts

2k-3k

Gaming, watching movies, heavy multitasking

nothing to be reused

Full HD resolution, 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz

dota2, cs:go

nvidia graphic card, chio casing

Penang

p/s currently using steelseries keyboard, mouse, pad and headphone.

coolkwc
post Mar 10 2014, 11:19 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 10 2014, 04:21 PM)
Oh. Hahaha okay. But i think the H220 by itself should be sufficient for cooling the 4770K. But again you already have the radiator. Just make sure you buy the right fittings and tubing for the loop. Primochill Advance LRT Tubing and XSPC Compressions are good cheap alternatives.
f***...my appetite is getting bigger after i come back from Jayacom at JB.

Final thought about casing and WC.

Corsair Carbide 500R + Corsair H110... doh.gif

Anway, Kingston hyperX 2400Mhz 16GB @ RM599...nice grab is it?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Mar 10 2014, 11:20 PM
TSCable707
post Mar 10 2014, 11:23 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(zkhin @ Mar 10 2014, 11:06 PM)
2k-3k

Gaming, watching movies, heavy multitasking

nothing to be reused

Full HD resolution, 1920 x 1080 at 60 Hz

dota2, cs:go

nvidia graphic card, chio casing

Penang

p/s currently using steelseries keyboard, mouse, pad and headphone.
Intel Xeon E3-1230v3 3.3GHz RM799
Asrock H87 Pro4 mainboard RM319
Kingston KVR1600MHz 8GB RM239
Gainward GTX760 Phantom 2GB RM849
Seasonic S12 II 620W 80+ Bronze RM299
WD Caviar Blue 1TB HDD RM199
NZXT Source 210 Elite case RM179
Liteon 24x DVDRW RM59

Total - RM2942.00

This was KL's price.Penang's might be slightly different.
Sentinel92
post Mar 10 2014, 11:28 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 10 2014, 11:19 PM)
f***...my appetite is getting bigger after i come back from Jayacom at JB.

Final thought about casing and WC.

Corsair Carbide 500R + Corsair H110... doh.gif

Anway, Kingston hyperX 2400Mhz 16GB @ RM599...nice grab is it?? rclxub.gif
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAA. Who ask you go self poison. Hehehe. tongue.gif

Not sure if the Carbide 500R can fit the 280mm H110 on top. I think sticking to the Swiftech H220 is still better since its at 240mm, but an extremely powerful one.. But the 500R is a good case. Lots of fans placements to keep it cool.

And bro you need make sure the RAM is not above CL10 timing. Even at 2400MhZ if its at cL11, you might as well get a 1600MHz CL9.

evo.com
post Mar 11 2014, 07:38 AM

2,234 posts

<5k

movies, multitasking, some video recording/editing

high res, preferably 25**x1600

dont game

super silent cooling

PJ/KL

currently using MBP.
coolkwc
post Mar 11 2014, 08:52 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 10 2014, 11:28 PM)
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHAA. Who ask you go self poison. Hehehe.  tongue.gif

Not sure if the Carbide 500R can fit the 280mm H110 on top. I think sticking to the Swiftech H220 is still better since its at 240mm, but an extremely powerful one.. But the 500R is a good case. Lots of fans placements to keep it cool.

And bro you need make sure the RAM is not above CL10 timing. Even at 2400MhZ if its at cL11, you might as well get a 1600MHz CL9.
Can fit. Stated in official page. Just set as pull configuration will do.

I know H220 has powerful pump which can expand later on, but most probably i won't expand the setup. Yesterday i checked my left over radiator, it measure 140mm width, which most casing will not support, so basically expand using this radiator is no more possible now. Buy new radiator? Mostly i won't. So H110 maybe is better choice for me. In stock, H110 is silent, yet cooling performance is better than H220 due to larger radiator area.

As for the RAM, from what i understood, if 1600Mhz is at CL9, most probably 2400Mhz will be at CL11 (1866Mhz CL10), will look and see. But from Kingston website, yes, 2400Mhz will be at CL11. Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400Mhz also CL11, but is almost RM200 more than Kingston Hyper X. rclxub.gif Any concern if i use CL11 RAM for i7 4770k? The internal memory controller not support?
Sentinel92
post Mar 11 2014, 11:36 AM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 11 2014, 08:52 AM)
Can fit. Stated in official page. Just set as pull configuration will do.

I know H220 has powerful pump which can expand later on, but most probably i won't expand the setup. Yesterday i checked my left over radiator, it measure 140mm width, which most casing will not support, so basically expand using this radiator is no more possible now. Buy new radiator? Mostly i won't. So H110 maybe is better choice for me. In stock, H110 is silent, yet cooling performance is better than H220 due to larger radiator area.

As for the RAM, from what i understood, if 1600Mhz is at CL9, most probably 2400Mhz will be at CL11 (1866Mhz CL10), will look and see. But from Kingston website, yes, 2400Mhz will be at CL11. Corsair Vengeance Pro @ 2400Mhz also CL11, but is almost RM200 more than Kingston Hyper X. rclxub.gif Any concern if i use CL11 RAM for i7 4770k? The internal memory controller not support?
Well you've pretty much made up your mind. So Corsair Carbide 500R and Corsair H110 then. Or you can get the NZXT Kraken X60 which is also the same Asetek 280mm cooler for RM399. smile.gif

Yeah pretty much. Try get tight CL9/CL10 timings and reasonable speeds of 1600Mhz and above. But of course the higher the performance of the RAM, the pricier it is. And as for support, the 4770K is fine. It's your motherboard you have to watch out for. You have to make sure it allows XMP mode or allows overclocking to fully utilize the 2400MHz. Most will run at 1600MHz stock if you don't get a mobo that allows faster speeds or turn on XMP.

I really suggest you find a nice 1600MHz CL8 or lower RAM would be sufficient. No need to get too fancy.
coolkwc
post Mar 11 2014, 01:29 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 11 2014, 11:36 AM)
Well you've pretty much made up your mind. So Corsair Carbide 500R and Corsair H110 then. Or you can get the NZXT Kraken X60 which is also the same Asetek 280mm cooler for RM399. smile.gif

Yeah pretty much. Try get tight CL9/CL10 timings and reasonable speeds of 1600Mhz and above. But of course the higher the performance of the RAM, the pricier it is. And as for support, the 4770K is fine. It's your motherboard you have to watch out for. You have to make sure it allows XMP mode or allows overclocking to fully utilize the 2400MHz. Most will run at 1600MHz stock if you don't get a mobo that allows faster speeds or turn on XMP.

I really suggest you find a nice 1600MHz CL8 or lower RAM would be sufficient. No need to get too fancy.
Haiz, now the most difficult part is mobo for me.

As mentioned before, few in my option list:
1. Asrock Z87-Extreme4/6
Best connectivity, Best value to performance, best features in this price range. Most imporatnt, support for old PCI slot, which no need to sacrifice my Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic.
OC wise, so so only, also found online comments the BIOS is buggy and software is so so only.

2. Asus Z87-Pro
Poor connectivity compare to Asrock, expensive, but OC performance is decent. No PCI slot, onboard sound is so so, then i have to get rid of my XtremeMusic, how can??

3. MSI Z87-GD45
Above average features, so so OC performance, price is reasonable though. Same as ASUS, can't support my XtremeMusic. But software is attractive, especially the way it overclock in Windows environment.

4. Gigabtye Z87-D3H
Less review on this board, official site list out, everything is so so for me. How is the OC performance? The all Gigabyte Z87 board is damn expensive, this one no exception as well. RM595...but but but, it come with single PCI slot... drool.gif Anyway, my previous 3 boards also Gigabyte, from P965->EP35->EP43...all 2nd hand. From excellent -> nice -> ok ok lo... whistling.gif

Please, anyone help me out...

I just want a OC oriented board with not much features, no need SLI+CF, need at least 1 PCI slot, price RM600+-...some luxury feature is welcome such as CMOS switch (Tired with clear CMOS with jumper), useful OC software in windows, why so difficult. sad.gif
Sentinel92
post Mar 11 2014, 02:23 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 11 2014, 01:29 PM)
Haiz, now the most difficult part is mobo for me.

Please, anyone help me out...

I just want a OC oriented board with not much features, no need SLI+CF, need at least 1 PCI slot, price RM600+-...some luxury feature is welcome such as CMOS switch (Tired with clear CMOS with jumper), useful OC software in windows, why so difficult. sad.gif
The Asrock is fine. A lot of members here use the Extreme4. My board is also a variant of the Extreme6. You're not gonna OC a lot or tweak your bios settings alot right? The Asrock will be a fine choice. But the GD45 is also a good choice if you want stable BIOs and great OCing. Or you can get its big brother the GD65. brows.gif brows.gif

But I think you mean PCi Expresss slot? All boards have PCI 3.0 slots standard.

But if you want to spend a but more check out the ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 Mobo. Rock solid ASUS stability. biggrin.gif
coolkwc
post Mar 11 2014, 02:35 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ Mar 11 2014, 02:23 PM)
The Asrock is fine. A lot of members here use the Extreme4. My board is also a variant of the Extreme6. You're not gonna OC a lot or tweak your bios settings alot right? The Asrock will be a fine choice. But the GD45 is also a good choice if you want stable BIOs and great OCing. Or you can get its big brother the GD65.  brows.gif  brows.gif

But I think you mean PCi Expresss slot? All boards have PCI 3.0 slots standard.

But if you want to spend a but more check out the ASUS MAXIMUS VI HERO LGA 1150 Intel Z87 Mobo. Rock solid ASUS stability. biggrin.gif
Not PCI express (short), is old school PCI slot.(long one, slightly shorter than GPU PCIE slot)
The board you mentioned except Asrock didn come with this slot.
Sentinel92
post Mar 11 2014, 02:42 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Mar 11 2014, 02:35 PM)
Not PCI express (short), is old school PCI slot.(long one, slightly shorter than GPU PCIE slot)
The board you mentioned except Asrock didn come with this slot.
Oh that old school slot. Hahaha. Again guess you've made up your mind already. Hahah. tongue.gif

Corsair 500R, Asrock Extreme6. And either the H110 of X60. thumbup.gif

TSCable707
post Mar 11 2014, 04:24 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(evo.com @ Mar 11 2014, 07:38 AM)
<5k

movies, multitasking, some video recording/editing

high res, preferably 25**x1600

dont game

super silent cooling

PJ/KL