As the title suggest..which program do i need to use.I'm not planning to burn, just want to have it hardsub..
Thanks in advance for your help!!
Conversion convert softsub to hardsub, which program do i need to use
Jun 20 2006, 06:36 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
351 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
hi everyone..
As the title suggest..which program do i need to use.I'm not planning to burn, just want to have it hardsub.. Thanks in advance for your help!! |
Jun 20 2006, 07:49 PM
2,671 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Bestine, the capital of Tatooine |
u need to convert ur video too if u wanna make softsub into hardsub.. it takes long time n skill.. otherwise u will get crappy video.. |
Jun 20 2006, 08:00 PM
4,506 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
Jun 20 2006, 09:25 PM
19,316 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Nope you can't for hardsub, if its softsub then no problem
I would suggest you to install VobSub to allow VDub to use the VobSub filter to add the ass, srt files and etc. For the video, convert it to lossless then reencode back to the destinated file in order to not lose much of the quality. Remember to use 2 pass encodes for best output of quality. This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 20 2006, 09:25 PM |
Jun 20 2006, 11:58 PM
1,271 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Terengganu |
QUOTE(allvin @ Jun 20 2006, 08:00 PM) I think few tools can do that job:
Jun 21 2006, 12:06 PM
It will be softsubbed only, not hardsub if you mux
Jun 21 2006, 12:34 PM
Well, I just reply allvin, so it's not related to the thread starter topic.
QUOTE(allvin @ Jun 20 2006, 08:00 PM) QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 21 2006, 12:06 PM) Eh...soft sub mean subtitle must be loaded externally and hard sub is in the movie itself right ?Those 3 tools I listed do hard sub without reconvert.Maybe I can say like "wrapping" the audio, video, subtitle in one video package.Just my guest only.I didn't read it's manual or help file. |
Jun 21 2006, 12:48 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
MKV will not make it hard sub, it will just include it in the package. I prefer softsub, unless I'm making karaoke effects for PV.
Jun 21 2006, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(keyz @ Jun 21 2006, 12:34 PM) Well, I just reply allvin, so it's not related to the thread starter topic. Muxing into a container only but you still need DirectVobSub to decode it which means it is still considered as an external subtitle which is softsub. Hardsubbed videos you can't extract the subtitles out. Its best to use the VobSub filter in Vdub and reencode it into the movie. Eh...soft sub mean subtitle must be loaded externally and hard sub is in the movie itself right ?Those 3 tools I listed do hard sub without reconvert.Maybe I can say like "wrapping" the audio, video, subtitle in one video package.Just my guest only.I didn't read it's manual or help file. Hope this clears all doubts. This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 21 2006, 01:05 PM |
Jun 21 2006, 01:06 PM
Jun 21 2006, 01:29 PM
Great discussion.I hope we don't deviate from the topic.I dig this from Wikipedia :
QUOTE "Soft" subtitles, or soft subs, are subtitles which are contained in a separate file from the footage being viewed. They're synched to the spoken dialogue and usually are contained in a file separate from the file containing the episode. It is therefore possible to edit the file yourself, if you have a conflicting opinion on a translation, by editing this separate file. With the correct media player or an auxiliary program, they can be superimposed at the correct time just like hard subs. QUOTE "Hard" subtitles, or hard subs, are contained within the same file as the footage. Subtitles are traditionally done hard, but some early-version fansubs do have "soft" subs. In the case of hard subtitles a video editor (commonly VirtualDub) uses an AVISynth script to load the raw video file and the subtitle file (created by the translators) then the video software applies the subtitles on the video and captures video with the subtitles "burned" in. |
Jun 21 2006, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 20 2006, 09:25 PM) Nope you can't for hardsub, if its softsub then no problem shinjite..can u explain it again?i'm a bit blur!what u've written there is how to hrdsub it isn it?I would suggest you to install VobSub to allow VDub to use the VobSub filter to add the ass, srt files and etc. For the video, convert it to lossless then reencode back to the destinated file in order to not lose much of the quality. Remember to use 2 pass encodes for best output of quality. |
Jun 21 2006, 03:01 PM
4,784 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: MY |
to hardsub, u need to re-encode the media, together with the subs using sub-filters.. u can do this even with virtualDub +vobSub filter
having a sub in a container like ogm n mkv is still considered softsub,as user can disable the subs |
Jun 21 2006, 05:21 PM
QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 21 2006, 04:01 PM) to hardsub, u need to re-encode the media, together with the subs using sub-filters.. u can do this even with virtualDub +vobSub filter Yep! That's the downside. To hardsub, u need to re-encode the video. Need to set the bitrate high high, if not your video will be "cacat" version having a sub in a container like ogm n mkv is still considered softsub,as user can disable the subs |
Jun 21 2006, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(atrash @ Jun 21 2006, 02:45 PM) Basically hardsub videos have the subtitles in the video itself where you as the user will not be able to extract it off anymore or edit it. As for softsub, the subtitles comes with the movie itself in the same container where it can be extracted out and be edited. So if you want to hardsub the subtitles into the video, there are 2 ways:- 1) Download VirtualDubMod (freeware) and download VobSub and install. Once installed, you open VirtualDub and go to its filters. In the filter section, there will be a filter call TextSub. Open it and add in the subtitle that is supported like .srt, .ass, .ssa and etc. Once loaded, you can check the subtitles with VirtualDub b4 encoding the movie. 2) Install Avisynth and get the VSFilter.dll file. Its the best framework available for videos. ----Script---- Open notepad and type this :- LoadPlugin("C:\avisynth\plugins\VSFilter.dll") a) If the source is AVI, type:- AviSource("C:\xxxx\xxxx.avi") TextSub("C:\xxxx.srt") <--- example of loading a srt sub file, if others just change the extension If the source is in mkv or other containers, type :- DirectShowSource("C:\xxxx\xxxx.mkv") <--- same as above, follow the video's extension b) Save the notepad into a .avs file and open it up in VirtualDub and encode it PS : Make sure use 2 passes for your encode to achieve the quality. Best is to use a lossless source |
Jun 21 2006, 06:10 PM
thanks shinjite..Gonna try it later today!Hope it helps!
This post has been edited by atrash: Jun 21 2006, 07:35 PM |
Jun 21 2006, 10:50 PM
shinjite, where can i find '2 passes' option? and i can't use xvid compression mode..got error there!
Jun 21 2006, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(atrash @ Jun 21 2006, 10:50 PM) shinjite, where can i find '2 passes' option? and i can't use xvid compression mode..got error there! The 2 pass option is in the Xvid codec configurationEncoding type use multipass, 1st pass then go to file>save as and check the first checkbox at the bottom to enable encoding in batch mode. Then go back to the Xvid configuration and choose multipass, 2nd pass and repeat the same provess. Then go to File > Job control and start the encoding process |
Jun 21 2006, 11:29 PM
Jun 22 2006, 12:37 AM
Jun 22 2006, 01:06 AM
502 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
shinjite, you're not aware that VSFilter.dll is also a VirtualDub plugin. just load the dll in VDub (or rename to VSFilter.vdf and put in plugins dir) and you will get the TextSub filter. however, i would never recommend anyone to use VD filters...just use AviSynth scripts with fast recompress in VDub...
and why would you need to convert to loseless when using AviSynth? avisynth is already serving the original frames as decoded from the source |
Jun 22 2006, 01:43 AM
Of course I am aware of it, that is why I put it in 2 ways. People won't know about it since its comes in packages like that.
About why need to convert it to lossless, you find it out for yourself then you know This post has been edited by shinjite: Jun 22 2006, 01:43 AM |
Jun 22 2006, 11:37 AM
i tried last nite!but got some weird error!
1. after sometime encoding, task cannot finish because not enough space in c: -> b4 i sleep, i left c: with 24.6 gb free! after woke up, only 2gb plus free! The encoded thing is about 22gb and still unfinish? 2.for xvid compession, i've already uninstall and reinstall xvid codec with the lastest version, but got error 'startfile not found' ..why meh? |
Jun 22 2006, 12:24 PM
QUOTE 1. after sometime encoding, task cannot finish because not enough space in c: -> b4 i sleep, i left c: with 24.6 gb free! after woke up, only 2gb plus free! The encoded thing is about 22gb and still unfinish? coz its losslessisnt dvd already a good source? i dont see why we need to convert to lossless 1st before encode to desired compression |
Jun 22 2006, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(atrash @ Jun 22 2006, 11:37 AM) i tried last nite!but got some weird error! 1. Maybe compression not properly selected.That's why ended with a big file.Can you describe steps you've taken & end up with such that problem ?1. after sometime encoding, task cannot finish because not enough space in c: -> b4 i sleep, i left c: with 24.6 gb free! after woke up, only 2gb plus free! The encoded thing is about 22gb and still unfinish? 2.for xvid compession, i've already uninstall and reinstall xvid codec with the lastest version, but got error 'startfile not found' ..why meh? ![]() 2. That error most probably you've not setup the location when doing 2 pass encoding. |
Jun 22 2006, 03:17 PM
9,275 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: KL. Best place in Malaysia. Nuff said |
Lol.
he forgot to compress the audio 1. Go to Audio and select Full Processing Mode 2. Click Audio again and select Compression 3. Choose the compressor (LAME MP3 for me) Now you will not have a big AVI file ![]() anyway, if ppl having problem diffrenciating the two subs, i'll give an example : Link: For sub in MKV and AVI These two videos are of 2 formats, 1 is MKV and another is AVI What makes the MKV's softsub so appealing to me is that I can change the subs (there are 2 included in there). The AVI however are HardSub, but I need to use it as I want the sub to have Karaoke effects on them. SoftSub cannot do this kind of effects. Moderation: Link removed This post has been edited by keyz: Jun 22 2006, 04:31 PM |
Jun 22 2006, 06:06 PM
Better if you extract the audio out first and only deal with the video
Audio later can be muxed together |
Jun 24 2006, 06:20 AM
finally i managed to do it!
but the file got bigger almost 2x..i mean the source is 458mb while the result is 708mb. for video compression i use Microsoft MPEG-4 Codec V1 and for audio i use MPEG Layer-3 with 48kbit/s 24000Hz Stereo 6KB/s .. is it getting bigger coz i got wrong compression type for video n audio? which MP3 format is better? i still got problem with Divx codec and xvid.. divx: ![]() Divx's error ![]() xvid: ![]() errors: ![]() ![]() both i've reinstalled, but the problems still occur erm..for 2 passes, do i need to do the 1 pass first? |
Jun 24 2006, 08:08 AM
QUOTE erm..for 2 passes, do i need to do the 1 pass first? multipass 1st past, then multipass n'th passno need 1 pass |
Jun 24 2006, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(e-jump @ Jun 24 2006, 08:08 AM) I think 1st pass is mandatory.This step analyzes the source and records information needed for the subsequent pass. If you skip 1st pass maybe movie is playable, but is not at the best quality/file size and probably not MPEG-4 compliant). |
Jun 24 2006, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(keyz @ Jun 24 2006, 08:26 AM) I think 1st pass is mandatory.This step analyzes the source and records information needed for the subsequent pass. If you skip 1st pass maybe movie is playable, but is not at the best quality/file size and probably not MPEG-4 compliant). ehh?maybe these pic will give an idea.. been using only multipass 1st n n'th options [learned from some tuts] however, i have no idea what its called in divX as i dont use em ----------------- OH SHI~ i misunderstood the question This post has been edited by e-jump: Jun 24 2006, 08:48 AM |
Jun 24 2006, 08:45 AM
There is an article on how to setup passes using DivX 6 (latest DivX) :
http://www.divx-digest.com/articles/divx6_setup_page1.html |
| Change to: | 0.0208sec
5 queries