144 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Lets talk salary v6

hercules899
post Dec 16 2013, 11:02 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(elephant7890 @ Dec 14 2013, 07:01 PM)
Not from Penang, but heard Penang salary will be higher. I know it's super low for 2.5 years experience.  cry.gif
Sorry to say that since you have got almost 3 years of experience, earning less than 3k is a very low salary .

The latest Kelly Guide specifies that engineers with 3 to 5 years of experiences should earn RM 3.5k to 6k
SUSchokia
post Dec 17 2013, 06:44 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(hercules899 @ Dec 16 2013, 10:59 PM)
I can straight away tell you that Jobstreet' Salary Sample is HEAVILY skewed towards Employers, which indeed is very unfair to job seekers .

The more reliable and accurate source is actually the Kelly Salary Guide.

Hiring Manager will overpower Human Resources Department most of the time provided he/she feels you are the suitable candidate.  I will let dreamer101 to provide his valuable opinions on this matter. I actually tried his suggestion especially on the salary negotiation part, it worked quite well for me for the 3rd attempt after failing to follow his advice on the 1st and 2nd attempt. A big thank you from me to him.

Judging from your tone, you are probably working in the HR team , and as dreamer101 have said repeated in this forum, HR people are most probably our enemy especially on salary negotiation part , you all need to play your cards right .
Kelly Salary is only a guide which serve only 550k clients, while Jobstreet's has millions with real workers with the real salaries entered their database.

And yes some lowyaters are good businessmen, probably can check out their successsful tradelist but remember in the workplace the one that doing business is the employer.

HR only playing the part to ensure that.
SUSWintersuN
post Dec 17 2013, 01:13 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(hercules899 @ Dec 16 2013, 10:59 PM)
I can straight away tell you that Jobstreet' Salary Sample is HEAVILY skewed towards Employers, which indeed is very unfair to job seekers .

The more reliable and accurate source is actually the Kelly Salary Guide.

Hiring Manager will overpower Human Resources Department most of the time provided he/she feels you are the suitable candidate.  I will let dreamer101 to provide his valuable opinions on this matter. I actually tried his suggestion especially on the salary negotiation part, it worked quite well for me for the 3rd attempt after failing to follow his advice on the 1st and 2nd attempt. A big thank you from me to him.

Judging from your tone, you are probably working in the HR team , and as dreamer101 have said repeated in this forum, HR people are most probably our enemy especially on salary negotiation part , you all need to play your cards right .
What strategy u use from dreamer to get more money?
gloryglory888
post Dec 17 2013, 02:51 PM

50 posts

Just accepted an offer to work in neighboring country.

Job Title : Director of Engineering
Job Desciption : Solar panel assembly
Company : Pte. Ltd
Industry : Employer is big time player in commodity, solar is new venture
Terms : 2 years renewable contract
Experience before joining : 18yrs, i'm 35 years old
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Remuneration package:
Salary - USD 7.5k (net of tax)
Housing allowance - USD1.5k
Company car provided with allowances for fuel & driver.
3 weeks paid leave, 3x return flight

This post has been edited by gloryglory888: Dec 17 2013, 02:52 PM
g_kw2
post Dec 17 2013, 04:00 PM

317 posts

how is it possible that you are 35 and with 18 years of working experience? That makes you start work at the age of 17 (the age of taking form 5 spm). And still you having your degree.. Can you enlighten me please.

Also I am very impress with your salary at your young age. Bravo...
sendomike
post Dec 17 2013, 04:10 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Dec 17 2013, 05:00 PM)
how is it possible that you are 35 and with 18 years of working experience? That makes you start work at the age of 17 (the age of taking form 5 spm). And still you having your degree.. Can you enlighten me please.

thumbup.gif
SUSPhilHellmuth
post Dec 17 2013, 04:32 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Dec 17 2013, 04:00 PM)

probably part time degree wink.gif
sendomike
post Dec 17 2013, 04:38 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Dec 17 2013, 05:32 PM)
probably part time degree  wink.gif
with a lot of luck smile.gif
gloryglory888
post Dec 17 2013, 10:07 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(PhilHellmuth @ Dec 17 2013, 04:32 PM)
probably part time degree  wink.gif
i started working at the age of 17, immediately after SPM in 1995.
i could still fondly recall getting my first pay cheque in SGD, back then the exchange rate was around x1.7 brows.gif
i've spent 10 years in the company (wafer fabrication) working my way up from production operator to line leader, equipment technician& i left the company in 2006 as a shift engineer. On average, i got promoted every 2 years.
In between that i pursue & successfully obtained an engineering degree from UTM (space program)

i joined an OEM semiconductor; Swiss based company & spent the next 3 years as service engineer. i left as Senior engineer.

In 2009, i was headhunted by solar company & hired as staff engineer. Finally after 14 years abroad (Singapore) i decided to return to Malaysia.
Not too long after that i got promoted to Engineering Manager. i was already on 5 figures salary at time of joining.

I've been lucky in the sense that i joined the right industry at the right time. But make no mistake, its nothing but hard work. There's no easy way or shortcuts to get to where i am now.

Imagine a 17 years old boy without any exposure to outside world (the furthest i've been to was Langkawi) packed my suitcase & headed to Singapore arm with nothing but SPM trial result whereas friends my age are still enjoying post SPM & having fun.

I'm presently leading an engineering department with 70 direct reports ( engineers & technician).

Vannus
post Dec 17 2013, 10:36 PM

Geeks
909 posts

Hi guys, just want to check if salary is 7k, how much is the tax impose?
potatoes
post Dec 17 2013, 10:58 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Dec 17 2013, 10:07 PM)
i could still fondly recall getting my first pay cheque in SGD, back then the exchange rate was around x1.7  brows.gif
i've spent 10 years in the company (wafer fabrication) working my way up from production operator to line leader, equipment technician& i left the company in 2006 as a shift engineer. On average, i got promoted every 2 years.
In between that i pursue & successfully obtained an engineering degree from UTM (space program)

i joined an OEM semiconductor; Swiss based company & spent the next 3 years as service engineer. i left as Senior engineer.

In 2009, i was headhunted by solar company & hired as staff engineer. Finally after 14 years abroad (Singapore) i decided to return to Malaysia.
Not too long after that i got promoted to Engineering Manager. i was already on 5 figures salary at time of joining.

I've been lucky in the sense that i joined the right industry at the right time. But make no mistake, its nothing but hard work. There's no easy way or shortcuts to get to where i am now.

Imagine a 17 years old boy without any exposure to outside world (the furthest i've been to was Langkawi) packed my suitcase & headed to Singapore arm with nothing but SPM trial result whereas friends my age are still enjoying post SPM & having fun. 

I'm presently leading an engineering department with 70 direct reports ( engineers & technician).
I'm impressed with your hard work and determination. Wishing you best of luck.

conqu3ror
post Dec 17 2013, 10:58 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Dec 17 2013, 10:36 PM)
Hi guys, just want to check if salary is 7k, how much is the tax impose?
When the time u get paid then you will see how much the PCB. tongue.gif

Just kidding...

The PCB tax will be about RM500-600, almost 10% gone to tax doh.gif
Vannus
post Dec 18 2013, 07:37 AM

Geeks
909 posts

My friend told me about 650 is the tax about near to 10%, is this amount correct? I check from hasil website5-10k salary bracket tax is only 2-3%... Need you guys to enlighten me?
g_kw2
post Dec 18 2013, 01:53 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(gloryglory888 @ Dec 17 2013, 10:07 PM)
i could still fondly recall getting my first pay cheque in SGD, back then the exchange rate was around x1.7  brows.gif

Nice brother.. 70 direct reports and as an Engineer Director... Can imagine the hard work put in.
sendomike
post Dec 18 2013, 02:33 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(g_kw2 @ Dec 18 2013, 02:53 PM)
Nice brother.. 70 direct reports and as an Engineer Director... Can imagine the hard work put in.
Hope he is happy with his job rclxms.gif
I do hope one day i can be as good as him.. gonna put more effort in my work.. performance review just around the corner sweat.gif
BRC
post Dec 18 2013, 02:51 PM

555 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Dec 18 2013, 07:37 AM)
My friend told me about 650 is the tax about near to 10%, is this amount correct? I check from hasil website5-10k salary bracket tax is only 2-3%... Need you guys to enlighten me?
LHDN website is for annual income doh.gif
use payroll.my to see...

its accurate....

btw i think the guy's asking about the USD7k pay...
whether its taxable and at what rate
escargo75
post Dec 18 2013, 03:40 PM

630 posts

The salary posted here is unbelievable high. Is this real?? I have worked in 3 MNCs but yet the salary as I know off is not as high as what forumers posted.

This either could mean that I have been duped for so long or it is simply that people are boosting here?
sendomike
post Dec 18 2013, 03:44 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Dec 18 2013, 04:40 PM)
The salary posted here is unbelievable high. Is this real?? I have worked in 3 MNCs but yet the salary as I know off is not as high as what forumers posted.

This either could mean that I have been duped for so long or it is simply that people are boosting here?
well, it IS a forum smile.gif Don't believe everything people says..
escargo75
post Dec 18 2013, 03:57 PM

630 posts

QUOTE(sendomike @ Dec 18 2013, 04:44 PM)
well, it IS a forum smile.gif Don't believe everything people says..
What's the point of boosting when ppl dun know you and what benefit they get by telling the lie?

sendomike
post Dec 18 2013, 04:04 PM

855 posts

QUOTE(escargo75 @ Dec 18 2013, 04:57 PM)
What's the point of boosting when ppl dun know you and what benefit they get by telling the lie?
i guess some people finds their happiness in trolling other people.
people with no life i guess yawn.gif

144 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0338sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:35 AM