How many more premium outlets planned for Msia?

TSlOvEbItE
post Nov 19 2013, 02:20 PM, updated 13y ago

563 posts

just a quick question, how many more premium outlets they planned for malaysia?

i heard that there will be one in Penang new bridge, one in Rawang, one in Genting, and one in KLIA2 on top of the existing one in Johor (JPO)

question here, is that true? or its just a hoax?

if yes, are those JV with Simon? or its from a zapbalang company setting up a so called "premium" outlets mall?

if its JV with Simon then it's interesting, they have only 9 in Japan, 3 in Korea, and 1 in Malaysia, in this region. and now they are going to increase it to 5 in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by lOvEbItE: Nov 28 2013, 05:02 PM
LSIm
post Nov 19 2013, 02:31 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(lOvEbItE @ Nov 19 2013, 02:20 PM)
just a quick question, how many more premium outlets they planned for malaysia?

i heard that there will be one in Penang new bridge, another one in Rawang, on top of the existing one in Johor (JPO)

question here, is that true? or its just a hoax?

if yes, are those JV with Simon? or its from a zapbalang company setting up a so called "premium" outlets mall?

if its JV with Simon then it's interesting, they have only 9 in Japan, 3 in Korea, and 1 in Malaysia, in this region. and now they are going to increase it to 3 in Malaysia?

There will be one near KLIA2
TSlOvEbItE
post Nov 20 2013, 02:11 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(LSIm @ Nov 19 2013, 02:31 PM)
There will be one near KLIA2
then it doesn't make sense to have another one at Rawang, no? unless one of them is not belong to Simon group?
kochin
post Nov 20 2013, 02:16 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

how to answer such question?
i guess the same approach hollywood execs use lor.
they Plan for a trilogy. chapter 1 already bombed. so want to continue the trilogy or not?
or the trilogy is completed, but it was sooooo sucessful that they commission another trilogy on top of the original trilogy.
or they Plan for only one, but it's so ridiculously successful that it pressured them to have a second.
then there's always the reboot, the reimagination, the remake, the prequels, the sequels, the spin-offs, etc.

so in conclusion, it means anything can happen and depends on bottom line figure.
that goes the same with Simon group. if fees to high, they might even part ways.

LSIm
post Nov 20 2013, 02:25 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(lOvEbItE @ Nov 20 2013, 02:11 PM)
then it doesn't make sense to have another one at Rawang, no? unless one of them is not belong to Simon group?
I don't see any attraction to build it in Rawang. Who will go there?

The government wants to turn KLIA 2 into shopping heaven they are targeting transit travellers.

In fact, there is a plan to build a premium outlet at Science Park 2, Cyberjaya c/w a theme park+Putrajaya+ Cyberjaya + KLIA2 will turn into a tourist spot not only for transit travelers but tourists.

Currently you can see many Bus Persiaran with full load of tourists especially tourists from China stopped by Putrajaya to take photos

This post has been edited by LSIm: Nov 20 2013, 07:26 PM
kochin
post Nov 20 2013, 02:30 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(LSIm @ Nov 20 2013, 02:25 PM)
I don't see any attraction to build it in Rawang. Who will go there?

the first outlet also is in middle of no where.
when simon group approach banks for financing of the project, all banks laughed at them.
you want to build a what in where??!!!!
a premium mall in the middle of a plantation?
you must be a cuckoo!
now who's the cuckoo.

LSIm
post Nov 20 2013, 09:14 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Nov 20 2013, 02:30 PM)
the first outlet also is in middle of no where.
when simon group approach banks for financing of the project, all banks laughed at them.
you want to build a what in where??!!!!
a premium mall in the middle of a plantation?

QUOTE(manapergi @ Nov 20 2013, 08:38 PM)
current jpo between kiasuland and legoland and next to the new ghost town. is this not a prime lokasi?  hmm.gif
Even if u consider Premium outlet in Kulaijaya, Johor is in the middle of nowhere(but in actual fact it is not).

There is no way u can compare JB with Rawang.

The situation is difference: JB outlet have many Singaporeans who come over to JB to shop (bargain hunting) and spend their weekend in Malacca. What the Singaporeans need to do are just stopped over at Premium outlet on their way back.

How to compare if they open an outlet in Rawang? Who will go all the way to shop at Rawang? If yes the crowd will be very small to sustain the business.....

In business u r talking about sustainability in the long run.. I don't think the feasibility study of opening an outlet there is viable ...

This post has been edited by LSIm: Nov 20 2013, 09:22 PM
Iceman74
post Nov 20 2013, 09:41 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(LSIm @ Nov 20 2013, 09:14 PM)
Even if u consider Premium outlet in Kulaijaya, Johor is in the middle of nowhere(but in actual fact it is not).

There is no way u can compare JB with Rawang.

The situation is difference: JB outlet have many Singaporeans who come over to JB to shop (bargain hunting) and spend their weekend in Malacca.  What the Singaporeans need to do are just stopped over at Premium outlet on their way back.

How to compare  if they open an outlet in Rawang? Who will go all the way to shop at Rawang? If yes the crowd will be very small to sustain the business.....

In business u r  talking about sustainability in the long run..  I don't think the feasibility study of opening an outlet there is viable ...
Agreed, went there recently. Mostly not malaysian are buying from those branded shop. Personally, I can get better deal elsewhere. Mainly for those SG ppl clear those itchness b4 going back to SG.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Nov 20 2013, 09:41 PM
kochin
post Nov 20 2013, 10:21 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Do u know that premium outlet in USA is somewhat equivalent to factory outlet stores in Malaysia?
It is used to clear outdated goods and reject stocks.

While it jpo is more noticeable now, you should know the history of jpo prior to its commencement.
Legoland wasn't even announced back then when jpo was constructed. There was literally nothing there.

And pls don't get me wrong. I am not saying a premium outlet in rawang is justified either. It could be, it might not.
Who knows and who cares?

peri peri
post Nov 27 2013, 03:44 PM

10k nonsense talkative club
11,943 posts

maybe its just me, some how i think those apparel really out dated one.

yltoh
post Nov 27 2013, 07:17 PM

608 posts

I I think the reason that gave them the confidence to to build a premium outlets in Rawang is because of the overall development where there will be a huge retail and wholesale mall waiting to debut.Last but not least, a theme park managed by a management team which has the experience of managing international theme parks before.

iamWill
post Nov 27 2013, 08:39 PM

650 posts

there'll be one at genting. it'll do well when open with Fox theme park. don't know about the rest
TSlOvEbItE
post Nov 28 2013, 05:03 PM

563 posts

QUOTE(iamWill @ Nov 27 2013, 08:39 PM)
there'll be one at genting. it'll do well when open with Fox theme park. don't know about the rest
So soon we will have 3 Premium outlets malls in an hour of driving distance from KL
tigana
post Nov 28 2013, 06:22 PM

560 posts

The thing is, what attracts people to premium outlets is the low price.
So these outlets also need to reduce cost by opening in a place where rental is cheap. You also wouldn't see them in cities, (apart from cheap rental) to avoid cannibalising sales of latest products. I remember in California, they have quite a sizable factory outlet a few hours from San Francisco, literally in the middle of nowhere.

This post has been edited by tigana: Nov 28 2013, 06:22 PM
Kevin Chan
post Nov 28 2013, 11:29 PM

1,997 posts

Petaling street... OUR premium outlet... All brand... All cheap
lowprice
post Nov 28 2013, 11:45 PM

71 posts

at least 7 premium outlets from now till year 2017.
yltoh
post Nov 29 2013, 12:25 AM

608 posts

QUOTE(Sikit2JadiBukit @ Nov 29 2013, 12:34 AM)
rawang where?
Along the north south highway. Not far away from Emerald West

0.0207sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:45 AM