iPod Can I delete all the files in the iPod?

TSmypetridish
post Jun 20 2006, 03:58 AM, updated 20y ago

1,313 posts

When you connect your iPod to you computer it will be detected as a thumbdrive with a lot of *files* and folders which do not make sense to me at all.

Can I reformat or delete all the files? I just like seeing things clean.
tinkerfy
post Jun 20 2006, 07:56 AM

Look left, look right, shoot shoot shoot
1,317 posts

better not delete files/folders you don't recognise..
else, you'd be cleaning your IPOD more often as it would be collecting dust on your table.. tongue.gif
TSmypetridish
post Jun 20 2006, 08:32 AM

1,313 posts

wah, sure kah? I want to be sure to delete stuff... but you really made it sound funny haha..
goliath
post Jun 20 2006, 08:49 AM

5,533 posts

just leave it alone coz i guess those files are need by ipod itself
arsnl
post Jun 20 2006, 09:33 AM

385 posts

If those are system files, iPod ones, best not..
wei
post Jun 20 2006, 09:48 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

Can I delete all the files in the iPod?

Yes yes, you can ofcourse! icon_idea.gif
It's your iPod anyway, you can do whatever you like to it.

Just don't come back and cry when ur songs are all gone, iPod doesnt start up and so on whistling.gif
THTgadgets.com
post Jun 20 2006, 10:11 AM

Bigger than Bigger
5,005 posts

Hahaha, that's a good one, wei... laugh.gif

But its best not to simply delete any files that you see on the iPod... What if it's a system file and u deleted it not knowing about that? Then its byebye to your Pod!

This post has been edited by ClieNut Gadget Freak: Jun 20 2006, 10:11 AM
wei
post Jun 20 2006, 10:21 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

If you didn't mess with the firmware, those system file can be restore by "iPod Updater" wink.gif
tang
post Jun 22 2006, 01:28 AM

250 posts

Need advise.....thanks
when i connect ipod nano to my pc it require me to format the ipod but i have songs in that ipod...what am i suupose to do? i'm new to ipod stuff.

What i want to do is download songs from i tunes...is it download the songs automatically?
TSmypetridish
post Jun 22 2006, 01:44 AM

1,313 posts

uhhh... shut up, open your own thread biggrin.gif

anyway, i really need to delete the files/folders as they are interfering with my Kenwood player that can read from thumbdrives... sad.gif
goliath
post Jun 23 2006, 09:16 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(tang @ Jun 22 2006, 01:28 AM)
Need advise.....thanks
when i connect ipod nano to my pc it require me to format the ipod but i have songs in that ipod...what am i suupose to do? i'm new to ipod stuff.

What i want to do is download songs from i tunes...is it download the songs automatically?
I guess you have to format, then..
Yes, it will automatically download into your iPod. Or should I say update the list.

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Jun 22 2006, 01:44 AM)
uhhh... shut up,  open your own thread biggrin.gif
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Jun 22 2006, 01:44 AM)
anyway, i really need to delete the files/folders as they are interfering with my Kenwood player that can read from thumbdrives... sad.gif
Don't mess with the files in there. shakehead.gif You will never know what will happen next once you delete those files.
xaw5126
post Jun 23 2006, 01:55 PM

3,488 posts

but I know what will happen... when you press the buttons on your iPod, nothing will happen...

dude, thats the software for the iPod... don't simply delete it, k? smile.gif
TSmypetridish
post Jun 24 2006, 01:52 AM

1,313 posts

oh guess what.. what if i backup the files first then only i reformat the drive tongue.gif

k, i guess ill try that. i have an ipod to spare too biggrin.gif and they are both under warranty hehe
TSmypetridish
post Jun 24 2006, 01:52 AM

1,313 posts

oh guess what.. what if i backup the files first then only i reformat the drive tongue.gif

k, i guess ill try that. i have an ipod to spare too biggrin.gif and they are both under warranty hehe
goliath
post Jun 24 2006, 01:59 AM

5,533 posts

I guess the files will be forever there regardless how many times you format it. It is the software to run the iPod. No software, no go. Correct me if I'm wrong smile.gif

Btw, don't waste your iPod le. Donate one to me if you don't want it. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by goliath: Jun 24 2006, 02:01 AM
TSmypetridish
post Jun 24 2006, 03:35 AM

1,313 posts

meant to be given to my sis, but if rosak ill still give it to her and have her send them to apple store in leeds... apple products warranty world wide kan?
aaronchin
post Jun 24 2006, 04:02 AM

251 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Jun 24 2006, 04:52 AM)

You don't have to backup the system files. Delete all you want and restore it with iPod Updater when you run into trouble. http://www.apple.com/ipod/download/

0.0178sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:02 AM