LYN string family thread. All welcome!, Violin,Viola,Contrabass and Cello.

liez
post Dec 21 2007, 12:13 AM

1,346 posts

I am a violinist. You guys can ask me anything about violin...techniques... practise methods...etc..provided I know it ^^

I p[lay violin, piano and some drums...I played trombone in KLSO though. long time ago.

This post has been edited by liez: Dec 21 2007, 01:27 AM
liez
post Dec 21 2007, 01:30 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Dec 21 2007, 01:26 AM)
hehe maybe he is Giovanni Pasini from MPO.

A violist who mastered both viola and violin laugh.gif
Lol...no man...I can't play viola...I tried ot once but my hand just felt so tired when i gotto extend them bigger than what I did normally.I palyed in MPO before but the junior's group...Lol...Murel was my sister's tutor last time...Too bad she went back to her country with her husband.
liez
post Dec 21 2007, 01:37 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Dec 13 2007, 02:16 PM)
china strings are like rubber bands lol hard and painful to play with.dominant is nice but i find them easily broken compared to Pirastro laugh.gif  quality over melody?  wink.gif

Erm...I used china strings but still get to produce nice sound...it's all depends on your violin...I am using a china made violin as well...

QUOTE(robertonikammio @ Dec 13 2007, 02:49 PM)

i wish my skill will improve after changing teacher... but i think i'm not good enuf...
i was told if you are not using good violin.. dun change to Dominant or Pirastro string (high quality string) coz it will not produce nice sound with low quality violin board...

yea...u r using nuclear reactor to genertate your alaem clock.

Added on December 21, 2007, 1:31 am
Cool but why not continue playing?
Gonna continue again...Too bad most of time given to my college...I dun even have time to practise and study now.

Added on December 22, 2007, 12:32 am
QUOTE(kimmie @ Jul 14 2006, 09:57 AM)
ive been learning almost 5 years already.going to take my grade 7 exam this coming month~aiks~~~ anywayz talking about pj tution classes.im studying at pj old town.reknown violin teacher Andrew Chye.ask around music shops they should know.He was the 1st chinese to play in the bbc ochestra and the 1st violin music school in malaysia back in the old days.if u r genuiely interested i can intro tho u must have an audition before u r taken in as a student
btw most of his students are well aclomplish...ex: joanne yeoh and some are the malaysian philiharmonic ochestra violinist...
Infact, Andrew Chye is one of the top violinist in M'sia. He is also my sister's tutor... I bet he will know who's my sister when you ask him about her. Btw...Erm..Mind telling me who are his students who are playing under MPO??? Are you mixing up betweem MPO and NSO???

Guys...Mind listing down your favourite violinist or strings instrumentalist??? I will start 1st..2 of them.

1) Joshua Bell - He is one of the top violinist in the world but that doesn't make him my favourite violinist until I watched 'red violin' at the age of 8 (Lol...There are so many xxxx in red violin and I watched it at 8). He is just awesome and I wanted to see his performance for once but too bad didnt get a chance to ...Until this year some where in August...He came to MPO to perform... His movement, expression, posture is perfectly match with the song and everything he played explain why he is an American Grammy Award-winning violinist.

2) Midori Goto - SHe is a cute short small girl during her 20s . I get to listen to her album when I am searching for a piece in my pc syllabus. Bartok- Consist of 6 movement. And she is god-like...Her sound is clear, clean and so wonderful that makes me feel desperate after listening to it.

This post has been edited by liez: Dec 22 2007, 12:32 AM
liez
post Dec 29 2007, 11:00 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(crabjim @ Dec 27 2007, 12:53 PM)
I wonder if there's anyone here using antique violin???
I am wondering anyone using stradivardi...lol...

A friend entered MPO at the age of 15??? MPYO or MPO??? If I am not wrong....there's only 1-2 malaysian in MPO. MPO and MPYO got big big big difference ya know?

Wanna see concert??? KLPAc's concert is not bad...I will update with you guys...

There's a girl here name Pizzicato, right??? Lol...Ask her to say sth here...

PIZZICATO!!!!

This post has been edited by liez: Dec 29 2007, 11:01 AM
liez
post Dec 31 2007, 12:07 PM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(crabjim @ Dec 31 2007, 12:33 AM)
where's KLPAc's concert? izzit at DFP? (sorry, i really dunno)
Sentul.
liez
post Jan 10 2008, 02:02 AM

1,346 posts

Can I know some of the good teachers that you think they are??? They don;t have to be as 'famous' as Andrea or Nora....As long as you think they are or they should be or they can be the top ones...
liez
post Jan 10 2008, 02:16 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(crabjim @ Jan 10 2008, 02:04 AM)
thumbup.gif yeah, provide their contact as well  rclxms.gif
Lol....I will ask this question because many people tend to look at those ultra famous teacher who got their students get into wad wad wad....thir students being wad wad and wad....But there are tutors who kept their profile low... So as long as you think your tutor is the best or a very very good tutor....then just post it here and how good they are...

okie...well...

Mr Teoh Thong Seng...Not much people know him because he kept his profile low... He didnt teach in KL anymore...IN fact... one of his student won the champion in the competition below 12 at the age of 9 and broke Malaysia's record as the youngest recital performer at the age of 12... I knew these so well because this student is my sister. Only after a while...this student went to Andrea Chai's class for some reasons. see??? There are many top teachers but not all of them are famous. so if you think your tutor is just super good....yopu can state down his name...his teaching method, his character...his passion...etc.

0.0215sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:44 AM