20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Bottom

LYN string family thread. All welcome!, Violin,Viola,Contrabass and Cello.

onelove89
post Dec 12 2007, 05:58 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(robertonikammio @ Dec 12 2007, 05:51 PM)
hi all...

i learned violin for almost 3 months but seems no improvement.. i dun even can hold the bow correctly and quite hard for me to get correct note with my left hand... feel sad...

i hv to change violin teacher due to i'm not able to catch my class on time... already register another music school but yet still no teacher for me...
dont worry, learn slowly. I started my violin without the silotape on it, my friends did, well i think its a good thing. anyway, hold the bow as told by ur teacher ^^ and the pitch of the note, just try to remember the point where the note is, when u play or practice more i think you'll get a hang of it. ^^ Gambate! we're all rooting for u.
kimmie
post Dec 13 2007, 09:51 AM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 12 2007, 04:56 PM)
pirastro is really really expensive rite? >.<
slightly more than dominant i think:)

Added on December 13, 2007, 9:57 am
QUOTE(robertonikammio @ Dec 12 2007, 05:51 PM)
hi all...

i learned violin for almost 3 months but seems no improvement.. i dun even can hold the bow correctly and quite hard for me to get correct note with my left hand... feel sad...

i hv to change violin teacher due to i'm not able to catch my class on time... already register another music school but yet still no teacher for me...
i got contacts but i dont think he want to take in any student as there is a waiting list but he has former students who turn into teachers....if interested pm me

This post has been edited by kimmie: Dec 13 2007, 09:57 AM
onelove89
post Dec 13 2007, 01:17 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Dec 13 2007, 09:51 AM)
slightly more than dominant i think:)

Added on December 13, 2007, 9:57 am
i got contacts but i dont think he want to take in any student as there is a waiting list but he has former students who turn into teachers....if interested pm me
just tried out the dominant sound. really smooth and nice, unlike china string, loud and noisy >.< dunno how to say it out in words, it just feels good using dominant =D
crabjim
post Dec 13 2007, 01:39 PM

145 posts

i also wished to change to synthetic strings, my core strings are harsh!!
BTW, im still newbie... maybe a few mths later la!! happy.gif
kimmie
post Dec 13 2007, 02:16 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 13 2007, 01:17 PM)
just tried out the dominant sound. really smooth and nice, unlike china string, loud and noisy >.< dunno how to say it out in words, it just feels good using dominant =D
china strings are like rubber bands lol hard and painful to play with.dominant is nice but i find them easily broken compared to Pirastro laugh.gif quality over melody? wink.gif

Added on December 13, 2007, 2:16 pm
QUOTE(crabjim @ Dec 13 2007, 01:39 PM)
i also wished to change to synthetic strings, my core strings are harsh!!
BTW, im still newbie... maybe a few mths later la!! happy.gif
stick to it for time being,dont waste icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by kimmie: Dec 13 2007, 02:16 PM
robertonikammio
post Dec 13 2007, 02:49 PM

17 posts

i wish my skill will improve after changing teacher... but i think i'm not good enuf...
i was told if you are not using good violin.. dun change to Dominant or Pirastro string (high quality string) coz it will not produce nice sound with low quality violin board...

kimmie
post Dec 13 2007, 02:57 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

robertonikammio dont give up.i had 3 teachers the last one was the best and i learned under him till grade 8:P he asked me to continue my diploma when the time is rite for me
crabjim
post Dec 14 2007, 12:47 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Dec 13 2007, 02:16 PM)
china strings are like rubber bands lol hard and painful to play with.dominant is nice but i find them easily broken compared to Pirastro laugh.gif  quality over melody?  wink.gif

Added on December 13, 2007, 2:16 pm
stick to it for time being,dont waste  icon_idea.gif
Thanks, I will change it after iimproved more. but i may change my violin too happy.gif
i need darker sound!!

QUOTE(robertonikammio @ Dec 13 2007, 02:49 PM)
i wish my skill will improve after changing teacher... but i think i'm not good enuf...
i was told if you are not using good violin.. dun change to Dominant or Pirastro string (high quality string) coz it will not produce nice sound with low quality violin board...

other than correct postures and techniques, practising hard is the key to success!!
here's some violin teacher from youtube, if you cannot work with your teacher's method, you can try what they teach.
http://www.youtube.com/professorv
http://www.youtube.com/benchanviolin
good luck!!
kimmie
post Dec 14 2007, 09:08 AM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

crabjim thanks for the links!:)
robertonikammio
post Dec 14 2007, 03:27 PM

17 posts

crabjim... thanks for the links... will check it later as my company network block it...

kimmie... thanks for your encouragement... since i'm going to change teacher... i hope my skill will improve... currently i play same song for almost 3 months... feel sien... if i wan to get teacher from u, i will pm u... thanks in advance...

This post has been edited by robertonikammio: Dec 14 2007, 03:28 PM
crabjim
post Dec 14 2007, 11:51 PM

145 posts

im still playing twinkle twinkle little stars....i found out my fingering still very poor and my bowing grip still not correct.... i need more practise leh....tough!!
kimmie
post Dec 15 2007, 12:43 PM

KIM IMPOSSIBLE
1,532 posts

no probs robertonikammio smile.gif all the best...

crabjim 1st few months of learning violin is always tough.in fact its veyr boring for the 1st year but once u get ur basic its all up to u how far u wanna go
crabjim
post Dec 16 2007, 08:28 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Dec 15 2007, 12:43 PM)

crabjim  1st few months of learning violin is always tough.in fact its veyr boring for the 1st year but once u get ur basic its all up to u how far u wanna go
Ya, agree..really tough.im practising everyday. I know my intonation is a bit out but my teacher says its quite good. Anyway, Im still not very content with it and I wil surely get myself very involved with this instrument smile.gif
robertonikammio
post Dec 18 2007, 07:11 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(kimmie @ Dec 15 2007, 12:43 PM)

crabjim  1st few months of learning violin is always tough.in fact its veyr boring for the 1st year but once u get ur basic its all up to u how far u wanna go
thanks kimmie.. my teacher keep on persuing me change to Dominant string and better quality bridge.. but someone told me do not change it as i'm not using good violin.. i'm so confusing.. this week is the last week i'm learning from this teacher but he is still persuing me to change it.. can u pls advise.. will it be a huge difference after changing? icon_question.gif
onelove89
post Dec 18 2007, 10:09 AM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(robertonikammio @ Dec 18 2007, 07:11 AM)
thanks kimmie.. my teacher keep on persuing me change to Dominant string and better quality bridge.. but someone told me do not change it as i'm not using good violin.. i'm so confusing.. this week is the last week i'm learning from this teacher but he is still persuing me to change it.. can u pls advise.. will it be a huge difference after changing? icon_question.gif
dont change if ur using a rm200 starter violin. =D when u get ur 2nd violin, then change a better string like dominant and get a better bridge. ^^ its really not worth changing strings so fast on ur first violin, unless ur first violin is a good one.

my viola's bridge is sinking =D the wood aint tat good and the string is sinking into it. lol, making the strings uneven on position. i think my G string is omost parallel to my C string >.< need to get a new one.
liez
post Dec 21 2007, 12:13 AM

1,346 posts

I am a violinist. You guys can ask me anything about violin...techniques... practise methods...etc..provided I know it ^^

I p[lay violin, piano and some drums...I played trombone in KLSO though. long time ago.

This post has been edited by liez: Dec 21 2007, 01:27 AM
Cello
post Dec 21 2007, 12:33 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 21 2007, 12:13 AM)
I am a violist. You guys can ask me anything about violin...techniques... practise methods...etc..
Violinist or violist?
Violin or viola?

rclxub.gif

PetroToxin
post Dec 21 2007, 01:26 AM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 21 2007, 12:13 AM)
I am a violist. You guys can ask me anything about violin...techniques... practise methods...etc..
QUOTE(Cello @ Dec 21 2007, 12:33 AM)
Violinist or violist?
Violin or viola?

rclxub.gif
hehe maybe he is Giovanni Pasini from MPO.

A violist who mastered both viola and violin laugh.gif
liez
post Dec 21 2007, 01:30 AM

1,346 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Dec 21 2007, 01:26 AM)

Lol...no man...I can't play viola...I tried ot once but my hand just felt so tired when i gotto extend them bigger than what I did normally.I palyed in MPO before but the junior's group...Lol...Murel was my sister's tutor last time...Too bad she went back to her country with her husband.
Cello
post Dec 21 2007, 01:30 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Dec 21 2007, 01:26 AM)

Wow, then I want him to give us here all a master class. tongue.gif

Added on December 21, 2007, 1:31 am
QUOTE(liez @ Dec 21 2007, 01:30 AM)
Lol...no man...I can't play viola...I tried ot once but my hand just felt so tired when i gotto extend them bigger than what I did normally.I palyed in MPO before but the junior's group...Lol...Murel was my sister's tutor last time...Too bad she went back to her country with her husband.
Cool but why not continue playing?

This post has been edited by Cello: Dec 21 2007, 01:31 AM

20 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 >Top

0.0259sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:31 AM