XIAOMI hongmi Official Thread V1, Official JHBCNAL5, Root, Rec, ROM baidu

TSdavidmu
post Nov 14 2013, 11:14 PM, updated 12y ago

787 posts

XIAOMI hongmi (小米红米)

Not all smartphone brands have had the opportunity to make it big on a global scale, but some have managed to make a name for themselves in local markets. Xiaomi, a Chinese company that has gained such kind of popularity, has removed the covers on their rumored “Red Rice” phone. And the features are impressive and, should I say, colorful.

The multimedia capabilities of the Hongmi are also noteworthy. An 8 MP Samsung camera is located at the back with a 28 mm wide angle lens and is capable of recording 1080p videos. On the front is a 1.3 MP camera that can record 720p videos. The Hongmi also boasts of an audio system that comes from Dirac, the same Swedish manufacturer that provides audio systems for luxury cars.

On the software side, Hongmi is running Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. It does have a unique twist, as it has opted to put the MIUI Launcher on top. It also has two SIM card slots, allowing users to use two TD-SCDMA or GSM cards at the same time on standby.

The Hongmi comes in three colors: ivory, metallic gray, and Chinese red. The back covers, however, are changeable, with the additional colorful options of blue, green, and yellow. For all these features, you’d expect to pay an arm and a leg to get one. You can safely keep your limbs, as the Red Rice smartphone only costs RMB 799, which is roughly $130. Unfortunately, there is no word if this will ever be available in international markets.

Specs:

MTK 6589T Quad-core 1,5GHz CPU
1GB RAM + 4GB ROM
4.7" IPS retina screen, 312PPI
Resolution:1280*720
Samsung/OV camera, 8 MPx back camera, 1.3 MPx front camera, supports 1080p video recording
Dual cards dual standby (TD-SCDMA+GSM)
GPS/OTG/WIFI Direct/MI Sound/Gyroscope/Electronic Compass/Dual mic/Bluetooth 4.0
Running MIUI V5
got a score of 14310 at ANTUTU

Updated version:
WCDMA version is released now

Video review:

01. INTRO (chinese)

02. Unboxing

Related pages:

01. Official Chinese page
02. GSMARENA spec page

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by davidmu: Feb 5 2014, 02:51 PM
TSdavidmu
post Nov 14 2013, 11:15 PM

787 posts

ROOT learning &
CUSTOM ROM & 3rd party RECOVERY (Official / Unofficial)

(Sorry for the step by step is... 7 steps

0. Of coz u need to backup all data u want~ like, Contacts, call records, SMS, whatsapp, wechat, bookmarks...
1. Download Custom roms (better download 2-3 roms)
2. Root with Vroot, copy ***IMG & tools APK in SD card, install 移动叔叔工具箱 apk, Update with ***img in SD card
3. Restart phone with Recovery...
4. Clear both System & Cache
5. Install the CUSTOM ROM from SD
6. Restart with new Environment as u wish....)

A. 百度ROOT
http://root.baidu.com/home_fc.html

B. ROOT大师
http://www.mgyun.com/vroot

1. ROM >> MIUI - JHBCNAL5.0

Go to

SETTING > ABOUT PHONE > System Updates

and this

【联通版】红米手机开发版 - 第167周发布 JNJ 优化 稳定 3.12.8

2. ROM >> Baidu Yun(Cloud) ROM

【联通版】红米手机 - 百度云ROM炫5.1正式版,专注性能优化
Click here >> CHINA HONGMI FORUM

pls take note : 【联通版】 is WCDMA version, 【移动版】is TD version

3. ROM >> LEWA os

omg...this is TD version rom sad.gif sad.gif

LEWA os ROM

4. Unofficial RECOVERY

移动叔叔工具箱

This is 3rd party recovery, if you want to use CUSTOM ROM, you must use this ~

MOBILE UNCLE TOOLs
Download --->>>http://pan.baidu.com/share/link?shareid=10...2&uk=1023860164
WCDMA uncle recovery.img
Download --->>>http://pan.baidu.com/s/1xNAZr

移动叔叔工具箱

5. Official RECOVERY

【红米刷机】红米手机卡刷详细教程
http://bbs.xiaomi.cn/thread-8812292-1-1.html
【红米刷机】红米手机卡刷详细教程

Conclusion: Root risk, the brush into the need to be cautious. The tutorials are best seen through the re-start, not a trace of the solution of a hurry to start the half. I hope the above tutorial to help you better understand your entire card swipe process, thank you support.

This post has been edited by davidmu: Feb 5 2014, 02:50 PM
cj7
post Nov 14 2013, 11:19 PM

357 posts

damn expensive leh
TSdavidmu
post Nov 14 2013, 11:43 PM

787 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Nov 14 2013, 11:19 PM)
damn expensive leh
quite value for money la... better than buy used set S3, or new Ace

cj7
post Nov 14 2013, 11:48 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 14 2013, 11:43 PM)
quite value for money la... better than buy used set S3, or new Ace
but wcdma version is around RM700-RM800 from RM430.
borednow
post Nov 14 2013, 11:50 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Nov 14 2013, 11:48 PM)
but wcdma version is around RM700-RM800 from RM430.
So it actually cost RM700, not rmb800? Why jack up so much? :/
cj7
post Nov 14 2013, 11:57 PM

357 posts

QUOTE(borednow @ Nov 14 2013, 11:50 PM)
So it actually cost RM700, not rmb800? Why jack up so much? :/
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...97202&hl=hongmi

another one sale rm630, but never had any feedback through whole his thread.

Because they all buy from resaler. Main cause is xiaomi, they purposely doing it. Jack up the price. They didn't have much stock because material cost is around $85 and is making losses when sale at $130(haven't include shipping fee, handling fee, etc). It is their intention to create keep market demand increase. Even the ppl from China cant get it. Dont get me wrong, i also want the phone, but they increase the price so much and the cheapest from resaler is rmb1000
zerohunter
post Nov 14 2013, 11:58 PM

M
6,996 posts

i think it's quite reasonable for only rm630, considering the import tax and the warranty covered by the seller, if anyone wonder who/where is selling, here u go

This post has been edited by zerohunter: Nov 15 2013, 12:00 AM
TSdavidmu
post Nov 14 2013, 11:59 PM

787 posts

Since no ppl willing to sell this brand now... the seller just wanna earn $$...

But this brand is hot out of Malaysia, just ppl here worry MADE IN CHINA label... sad.gif
cj7
post Nov 15 2013, 12:01 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 14 2013, 11:59 PM)

But this brand is hot out of Malaysia, just ppl here worry MADE IN CHINA label... sad.gif
if the price is rm500-rm600, i'm not worry since it is cheap enough. Even the phone heard suffered from some problem.
zerohunter
post Nov 15 2013, 12:03 AM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 14 2013, 11:59 PM)

i'm using xiaomi as my main phone, i always buy/sell and play with different phones, the xiaomi is the one i keep from day one till today, proud to let ppl around me play my xiaomi, many of them are impressed, indeed few of my friends who never heard of xiaomi now waiting for mi3 after playing my phone tongue.gif
TSdavidmu
post Nov 15 2013, 12:10 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Nov 15 2013, 12:03 AM)
i'm using xiaomi as my main phone, i always buy/sell and play with different phones, the xiaomi is the one i keep from day one till today, proud to let ppl around me play my xiaomi, many of them are impressed, indeed few of my friends who never heard of xiaomi now waiting for mi3 after playing my phone tongue.gif
im playing XIAOMI with Nexus One, HTC desire, Desire HD, Moto Razr Maxx...and some i forgotten... (MIUI is proven)

one thing i can tell is their quality not below HTC and Samsung...

zerohunter
post Nov 15 2013, 12:19 AM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 15 2013, 12:10 AM)
im playing XIAOMI with Nexus One, HTC desire, Desire HD, Moto Razr Maxx...and some i forgotten... (MIUI is proven)

one thing i can tell is their quality not below HTC and Samsung...
my xiaomi is close to a year, never send warranty, never have a problem, MIUI is butter smooth, love it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zerohunter: Nov 15 2013, 12:27 AM
TSdavidmu
post Nov 15 2013, 12:39 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Nov 15 2013, 12:19 AM)
my mi2 is close to a year, never send warranty, never have a problem, MIUI is butter smooth, love it tongue.gif
got one set Mi2 selling at MUDAH today~
zerohunter
post Nov 15 2013, 12:43 AM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 15 2013, 12:39 AM)
got one set Mi2 selling at MUDAH today~
really? then to those who wanna try xiaomi can consider that, if the price is good
TSdavidmu
post Nov 15 2013, 12:44 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Nov 15 2013, 12:43 AM)
really? then to those who wanna try xiaomi can consider that, if the price is good
850~ but i didnt buy...since its old ady...so i just bought new set
zerohunter
post Nov 15 2013, 12:48 AM

M
6,996 posts

QUOTE(davidmu @ Nov 15 2013, 12:44 AM)
850~ but i didnt buy...since its old ady...so i just bought new set
which model u bought? from where u bought?
TSdavidmu
post Nov 15 2013, 01:09 AM

787 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Nov 15 2013, 12:48 AM)
which model u bought? from where u bought?
from https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2797202

wkkm007
post Nov 15 2013, 01:27 AM

3,123 posts

Better buy Sony phone since this phone jack up expensively
SonnyCooL
post Nov 15 2013, 10:57 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(zerohunter @ Nov 14 2013, 11:58 PM)
i think it's quite reasonable for only rm630, considering the import tax and the warranty covered by the seller, if anyone wonder who/where is selling, here u go
provided they honest on warranty claim ...

40 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0244sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:54 AM