Footing size for two stories extension, footing size for two storey extension

aquaria87
post Nov 15 2013, 10:18 AM

129 posts

Type of foundation would be much dependant on type of soil ur house laid on. Normally even for double story, pad footing is adequate which size minimum 2 feet x 2feet x 2 feet depth and with Y20 rebar (for good soild condition)

aquaria87
post Nov 15 2013, 08:13 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Sydneguy @ Nov 15 2013, 01:46 PM)
That is bad advice, how did you come up with "Normally 2ft x 2ft is adequate" are you an Engineer and calculated it or have you ever referred to the Building Codes? I think not.

Don't give your tidak ada opinion and present it as sound advice. It is misleading to people that might foolishly follow your advice.

Cheers
Perhaps i put it wrong way.. the size of footing i given was based on my current renovation works and also another renovation works i did for double storey house. if the house situated at cut area (hill area laterit earth which is very dense) shud be no problem. but if ur house at fill area, it is may not suit.

But as i said, it is solely based on ur soil condition. It may not follow any building code but it was been practise so many years by the renovator contractor especially if u always lepak with indon workers which not using any laser for erection of column (just use tread n batu) or when leveling the laying of drain which just using water in the transparent plastic tube.... (i believe this practise also not written in any building code)... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by aquaria87: Nov 15 2013, 08:17 PM
aquaria87
post Nov 15 2013, 08:17 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(cheeshion @ Nov 15 2013, 04:12 PM)
first of all, I'm not expert in physics nor construction line. Just that I'm currently renovating my house.
You plan to extend with upper floor, you must get permit from local council together with architectural drawing. It must be fully endorsed by certified architect and engineer. From the drawing, there must have the specification on the foundations. Those experts must have taken into consideration on factors, like soil condition, load factor and future maximal weight bearing...
Can't be wrong if you comply details from them (somehow), else sue them if structure failure!!!
Agree, permit and approval by Local Authority is a must. for single storey reno just need the architecture drawing. but for double storey and above, u also need endorse structural dwg.

Frankly, for small renovation works, the engineer wont carry out any soil investigation unless u willing to pay (which in my view waste of money)... the engineer may just design based on typical foundation with twice working load (MY ASSUMPTION ONLY). cool.gif

aquaria87
post Nov 15 2013, 11:51 PM

129 posts

sydneguy, i respect ur view. tq for ur view. part of knowledge sharing i learn. smile.gif

This post has been edited by aquaria87: Nov 15 2013, 11:56 PM
aquaria87
post Nov 15 2013, 11:55 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(Sydneguy @ Nov 15 2013, 10:51 PM)
NOT TRUE!

The original developer would have had to lodge construction plans INCLUDING SOIL SAMPLE REPORTS to the local authorities. The Engineer doing the calculations for the renovations can easily refer to these soil tests and then apply the appropriate calculations to come up with the correct footing size.

Don't cut corners or follow most contractors tidak apa attitude, if you do uyou will be one of the many that come to this forum to post pictures of their problems and ask for help/advice to solve the problems.
For small reno job, i dont think ppl willing to pay profesional engineer to design such simple footing. maybe for deep pocket ppl can la..but for ppl like me... it is based on contractor experience and also neighbour reno works cud help for contractor to design the footing. A lot of reno works has been carried out this way and to b surprise those indon workers are sometime much brilliant and creative to solve design problem as they are more practical guy.... biggrin.gif
aquaria87
post Nov 16 2013, 12:00 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(stevie8 @ Nov 15 2013, 11:40 PM)
First I talked only about footing, not column. First thing first, are you disputing the suggested footing?

2nd, whether it is footing or specification for columns what you suggest TS to do? Hire engineer? Yes, that is the right way to do but that is a bomb to pay. There are shortcuts and alternatives and am suggesting if you cannot go by air go by sea, something like that. Shortcut sometime is even better and more effective, save time and effort and money.

There are many ways of solving a problem when we think out of box especially when the cost of doing it "correctly" is beyond reasonable as far as price/cost is concerned in this case.

One other think out of box or shortcuts is go to the developer and look for the architecture or structural drawing and follow. Another place to get such information is from the land office or local council (am not sure which one). The authority should have such information or request such information when approving housing projects.

So, hiring an engineer is also not a definite answer compare to what has been done by the developer more thoroughly done, than one personally hired engineer, in a big or bigger project of many houses.

It is healthy to dispute and everyone learn from each other. I was not thinking of column but only footing which is only a part of the whole reno consideration.

Cheers
I accord ur view bro... even engineer design are sometime has flaw bcoz they depend on what ever data they have. i cant imagine to do small reno job u hv to fork out so much money to engage profesional engineer... rclxub.gif
aquaria87
post Nov 17 2013, 09:43 PM

129 posts

Chill guys, everybody have their own view and experience. For instance, the indonesian wak kang have done all sort of construction (focus on housing ok).. they dont need laser kinda thiggy, the dont need calculator but yet they knw how to do it as experience play the main role..

for civil engineer, yes, it is undeniable their role to assist in designing the solid structure of the building or any other construction. Architect dreams, Engineer nightmare.

In a nut shell, both of u got the point....both of u r right. smile.gif
aquaria87
post Nov 18 2013, 11:17 AM

129 posts

I met a situation when i did my review on project for our company where there is 2 point of view. 1 engineer consultant (the employer's consultant) say no need soil improvement, u just pile (approx setting at 21-25 meter depth) only whereas the other engineer consultant (engage by the contractor) say yes it required soil improvement + piling (same dept setting). Both are using the same SI report. Even they conduct 3rd party to do another SI.

What we the reviewer conclude that both are in the position to state their profesional view based on their experience. in the other perspective, look at who are the paymaster. 1 engage by employer say differently (look at more on cost efficiency) whereas the other whom the paymaster is the contractor say differently (which i dunno, perhaps to get more $$ for his paymaster)..

In conclusion, the project are carried out without the soil improvement. Just piling only. And Yes, they can pile to set at average set of 23meter.

In this case, im not saying the other profesional Engineer are wrong, but it shows that sometime the one follow book+experience may give different view from ther other who strictly follow book only.

cheers.

aquaria87
post Nov 18 2013, 12:14 PM

129 posts

i wonder why Majlis does not required structural drawings if u just reno 1 storey only. Majlis only require structure drawings if u do 2 storey and above. hmm.gif

Is Majlis not concern on the safety for 1 storey extension works? i dont think so as the renovation drawings will be approved by their Unit Bangunan. whistling.gif

aquaria87
post Nov 18 2013, 12:44 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(platinum_12 @ Nov 18 2013, 12:36 PM)
Single story extension is considered a light weight structure, so it has less fatality risk. That is why majlis dont really bother to look at it. However if the extension involves slab roofing, its a whole diffent story.
Still there is structure involve. what if the soil is very bad then the structre collapse later even it is so call light weight but the risk still there rite? And even if involvse small section slab roof for water tank also the Majlis doesnt bother hv structure drawing... rclxub.gif

0.0235sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:32 AM