Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc
defuser
Apr 3 2014, 04:48 PM

dear sifus here, i wana get in the industry, I have a MSc in Eng (mechanical biased) and have a couple of year none related mehanical eng based work exp. is it possible to get into the idustry ?
If yes which eng position can command the best salary e.g. designer, mechanical, project, maintainese, well planer etc. etc. or which department to join.
also it is better to work for energy companies like petron, shell, or work for drilling companies ?
thank you sifus !!
defuser
Mar 23 2015, 11:54 AM

just wondering, after completing the SI, how long till your hear back to proceed to the medical check up ?
defuser
Mar 24 2015, 08:17 PM

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Mar 23 2015, 05:05 PM) uncertain. Depends on the urgency for the position to be filled up, and HR processing time. could be as soon as 1-2 weeks, but sometime could be as long as 1 year. #truestory thanks for your reply but omg #FML, its been exactly 3 weeks and a day since i attended the SI, I haven't received any email/calls from them since then, nor have I emailed or call them, should I ?
defuser
Mar 25 2015, 08:27 AM

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Mar 24 2015, 09:06 PM) By the end of SI, you should know the result of SI. Did you ask them at the end of your SI session? Else, you can call them ask for the result. For me, SI is very easy to pass. No wor, no one told me the results, I wasn't aware of this. After the SI i just had a chat with the HR, about the next steps etc etc. but he didn't say anything about the SI results how long after your SI did you receive next for the next step ? ( i assume this would be med. check up) ?
defuser
Mar 25 2015, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(msismail @ Mar 25 2015, 08:32 AM) about 1 - 1.5 hours i think
defuser
Mar 25 2015, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Mar 25 2015, 01:22 PM) I get SI result in the end of session and I'm doing the medical checkup on the following week.  did you get the results from the interviewer ? or the hr ?
defuser
Mar 25 2015, 10:20 PM

interesting, i didnt get from neither = ( does that mean thats it for me ?
defuser
Jun 1 2015, 03:42 PM

For those who are working right for awhile now in Petronas, after your confirmation will there be any adjustment to your salary ? if yes, whats the range of adjustment in % ?
defuser
Jun 1 2015, 07:54 PM

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Jun 1 2015, 07:24 PM) based on my friend's experience, adjustment only will be done after 1 year of service. there's no adjustment upon confirmation. I see, and would know know what sorta % are we talking about after a years service ?
defuser
Jun 1 2015, 09:52 PM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 1 2015, 08:33 PM) After 1 year, you should get the skill allowance which will be absorbed into your basic pay. For the Geoscience skill Group which is a Tier 1 group, you get 1K. Oohh and is that fresh grad or experience hire ? And please could you elaborate more on core skill groups
defuser
Jun 2 2015, 08:06 AM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 1 2015, 10:11 PM) In the case of my brother, he is a fresh grad. As for core skills, I am not sure if my info is up to date but AFAIK, there are multiple skill groups in PETRONAS. Drilling Engineers belong to one SKG, Petroleum and Reservoir Engineers belongs to another, Geoscientists belongs to SKG-09, and Mechanical Engineers etc etc. Previously there are Tiers for different SKGs. Drilling/PE/G&G belongs to Tier 1 so they get the highest skill group allowance and are on a different remuneration scheme (different increments/bonus etc) as compared to other tier groups etc. Again, I am not sure if this is till the case. Just letting you know the system before. Hope that helps. amazing ! thank you very much ! how long has your bro worked in Pet. ?based in KL ?
defuser
Jun 2 2015, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(azraeil @ Jun 2 2015, 10:39 AM) I think close to 3 years now ... he is based in the Towers yes. does he work crazy hours ? hows the career advancement / progression like ?