Working for PETRONAS V2, How to get a job, benefits, culture etc

post Feb 4 2014, 04:35 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Hi, I just got an invitation for interview 1st round with Petronas under Innov@tion and teknologi dept. Can anyone tell me more on this particular dept
post Apr 3 2014, 11:01 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

Guys, i passed the SI and the HR inform me through email i passed the interview after a week and subject to placement.

So far, it has been 2 weeks with no new news on my job position, pay and renumeration package. Should i ask the HR or wait for them to contact me. This is my first time dealing with the company so no idea how it works. I dont want to annoy or sound rude to them. I need to know the time to tender my resignation in my current company

This post has been edited by 779364: Apr 3 2014, 11:03 PM
post Apr 4 2014, 09:15 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(vox9802 @ Apr 4 2014, 08:38 AM)
You should call them. For your TA, which division interviewed you?

There were two technical manager from Downstream business division interviewing me.
post Apr 25 2014, 07:53 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(duckverve @ Apr 25 2014, 06:06 PM)
Still waiting for the result. Haiiihhhhh why take so long. I knw others took abt a year even. But seriesly cannot tahan waiting.
Haha, its a pain waiting for the results from Petronas. But I got my results for SI the next day which coincidentally falls on my birthday. However, my application put into KIV cause the position I interviewed for has been withdrawn. So now back to waiting game again for placement.

Good luck and patient is the key.

post Jul 4 2014, 09:54 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Jul 4 2014, 09:50 PM)
hello guys, i got chitchat session for HSE position. i'm fresh grad, so what should i expect in a chitchat session in this particular position?

would they be asking technical hse stuff? what kind of candidate would they be looking for?
A brief introduce yourself session, what you did during your uni times, extra-curricular activities, competition

On the technical basis, you should know the skills to be expected from a HR staff. Probably maybe they would put in a scenario and ask you to come up with a solution or answer.

Expect it to last 30 minutes to 1.5 hr
post Jul 4 2014, 09:59 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Jul 4 2014, 09:56 PM)
excellent answer n tips. thanks!
A word of caution is do not lie or create fake achievement. The interviewers are damn good at smelling a lie. When you talk about an achievement, always back up with facts about your contribution, hardship faced, and what you learn from it.

All in all, enjoy the chit chat because SI is a much tougher nut to crack

This post has been edited by 779364: Jul 4 2014, 10:00 PM
post Jul 4 2014, 11:46 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Jul 4 2014, 11:40 PM)
Oh right haha thanks for the tips. The interviewer asked for my transcript, are they gonna ask why some of my grades crappy tongue.gif lollll or is it just normal procedure.
Its for record only. As long as ur CGPA above 3.0 they won't ask. If below, they might question you
post Mar 6 2015, 08:03 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Mar 6 2015, 06:29 PM)
hye guys,

I'm am on the verge of receiving my offer letter from Petronas. I attended SI at PGB last month and asked to do medical examination yesterday. I completed the examination this morning. I checked with the HR the offer letter should be out by next week.

I have few questions here

1. If the offered salary lower than our expected, can we still negotiate with HR to increase, a bit if not up to the expected?

2. Can we nego with them on the report duty date? delay it by few days or a week or so.

I'm trying to look for a complete employment benefits from Petronas, in terms of leaves, medical, etc. I've seen once in the thread. If anyone here have any reference, appreciate if you could share with me. Would like to do some comparisons. =)
medical leave is standard 30 days. For annual leave, you start off with 15 days of AL

So you will be reporting for duty in PGB based in Kerteh then?

post Oct 11 2015, 09:30 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Oct 11 2015, 02:55 PM)
Cos they use the time mostly for smoking and tea time. When issue arise, everyone point each other but nobody giving a solution. Ball game hanging on the air. biggrin.gif
Not to mentioned for ACD that makes engineer good in theory but very poor in real-time problem solver. PPA = wayang time! brows.gif
Shhhhhhhh, not too loud. Later you scare the newcomers into PET.

On the bright side, PET is a good place for a freshie to ply your trade and get accustomed to plant working environment. If you are a hardworking, smart and proactive you will rise up the rank fast with the accelerated development.

post Oct 22 2015, 11:43 AM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 12 2015, 09:53 PM)
I got offer from PCG..however I had 10yrs experience in upstream...they offer me for downstream project under G4 scheme.. am not sure am suitable or not for this position..
G4 should be senior E2 right? Where are you based at bro? Kerteh?
post Oct 22 2015, 05:19 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Oct 22 2015, 02:19 PM)
Not sure which executive level bro..only mentioned grade G4...yes based in Kerteh..
salary grade G4 should be senior E2 based on new salary scheme. Let me guess, you are based in KIPC PE*S

This post has been edited by 779364: Oct 22 2015, 05:20 PM
post Mar 17 2016, 11:31 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

People in pet are starting to get shuffled around within. Two friends from hse group just got transferred to sko

Brace yourself comrades.

This post has been edited by 779364: Mar 17 2016, 11:32 PM
post Oct 19 2016, 03:22 PM

Starry Starry Night
1,696 posts

QUOTE(urepunked @ Oct 11 2016, 10:47 AM)
Thank you for the info.. I have working experience.. icon_question.gif
validity should be 6 months from date of SI. There are exceptions though but pretty rarely HR will still pursue your application after that long sad.gif

0.0272sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:23 PM