We did a feasibility study for this and here were the challenges;
1. Malaysians, are attracted to hit the gym for very very social reasons. We're a highly social culture and the density of our population makes it quite interesting when it comes to choosing for locations. Unlike in different countries, you can run one in a real industrial area and people will search for you.
But in Malaysia, unless your online marketing is solid beforehand, you'll have a hard time persuading a Malaysian to go into some jinjang industrial area. Especially women, as our study out of a sample size of 300 women from ages 18-55, about 80% were unwilling to go into hard to find areas. They mostly attributed this to the safety factor and this perception that many women have of industrial areas is mechanics, welders and foreign workers.
This itself, was the reason I moved my business outside of Malaysia.
Then there's challenge number 2.
The operational costs of such gyms, is actually quite bloody high. Rental alone will set you back around RM10,000/month. Utilities, albeit no air-conditioner except in the office is still roughly about RM3000/month. Then due to the size you'll have to handle, the costs to build is roughly RM250,000. We're talking about a 10,000 square feet warehouse. This is in areas like Jelutong. IF you're looking into Subang, Damansara, area where density is higher, you're looking into I think RM3-4/sqft.
We aimed to bring in about RM25,000/month so at RM150/month, we needed about 167 members. Any extras would be from merchandise and drinks and PT services.
AND THEN!! And then we found out about the tax for commercial land. Due the the nature of our business, I think we had to fork an additional RM30,000 or something like that for yearly taxes. A mamak, for the same floor space would for about RM1,000. And their profits are WAY higher than ours.
I modelled the gym after my friend's gym in Melbourne, called Results based training. His costs were roughly AUD 265,000/year. Due to the size of Melbourne and the personality of the people, it was much more workable there. Also he had a huge online presence beforehand so it wasn't too difficult.
All in all, it proved to be a gigantic hassle, which is likely why such gyms hasn't surfaced in Malaysia.
Trust me, when we finally sat and did the figures, we were like "OH SHIT! No wonder nobody has done this." You actually make more money, selling espresso shots in places like KL Sentral, the Curve or selling pancakes in SS15.
EDIT: THIS IS JUST OUR OPINION!
This is very very eye opening. Answered a shitload of questions