All new Kia Rio SX or Toyota Vios G 2013?
blueyan
Nov 9 2013, 04:57 PM
Reliability and Maintenance / spare parts - vios Fancy gadget + safety - Rio
I will take vios if I am going to use it for 10 years. But if I plan to use for 3~5 years, Rio ,so I no need worry bout reliability . Kia is getting better but reliability wise is still not good as toyota . If you really take care of toyota car well, they can last quite longer, not the longest but longer than kimchi car . Kimchi car is suitable for those who dont care about reliability(8 9 years ++), resell value , like new tech , gadget and more safety feature
This post has been edited by blueyan: Nov 9 2013, 05:02 PM
ironfolic
Nov 9 2013, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(geek8585 @ Nov 9 2013, 01:46 PM) Try have a ride on it... Not test drive unit, a consumer unit.. Test 1: drive in a raining day, you have to shout to your passenger in order for them to hear what you say.. Test 2: drive in a sunny day... Off the radio n aircon and press the pedal harder to accelerate.... At first I thought the exhaust piping got hole... Sounds like aeroplane pick up... After fren send to a 3rd party exhaust pipe shop checking, only know they are using very thin and low grade metal to do the piping... Don't hit bump with the stock piping... One hit KO...  When they refuse to adjust their supplier price.  What can their supplier do?
hafizhans
Nov 9 2013, 05:31 PM
Rio la..88k for vios is too much la can get City and upcoming polo sedan at 85k
larrytty
Nov 9 2013, 07:37 PM
if u are sales man....
Vios 3 years warranty and limit to 100k whichever comes first Rio 5 years warranty and no limit of mileage - Pls read T&c when u test drive
assange
Nov 9 2013, 10:13 PM
Based on your requirement, vios is your choice.... If you buy rio, u will cry for that none of the requirement you listed is met.
kadajawi
Nov 9 2013, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(assange @ Nov 9 2013, 10:13 PM) Based on your requirement, vios is your choice.... If you buy rio, u will cry for that none of the requirement you listed is met. If you buy Vios your wife will cry cause you died in an accident involving a car hitting you from the side. I'd take the Rio. Or, perhaps, the Polo sedan, though it isn't as safe as the Rio, but at least better than the Vios.
amduser
Nov 9 2013, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(geek8585 @ Nov 9 2013, 12:46 PM) Try have a ride on it... Not test drive unit, a consumer unit.. Test 1: drive in a raining day, you have to shout to your passenger in order for them to hear what you say.. Test 2: drive in a sunny day... Off the radio n aircon and press the pedal harder to accelerate.... At first I thought the exhaust piping got hole... Sounds like aeroplane pick up... After fren send to a 3rd party exhaust pipe shop checking, only know they are using very thin and low grade metal to do the piping... Don't hit bump with the stock piping... One hit KO...  wow....what kind of vios is that? cross bump that time wont bottom out la, even if bottom out it wont hit the exhaust system, only the side of the chassis where they use it to jack up and support the car for the exhaust sound, i didnt hear anything at all even though i always off aircon and radio while driving btw mine is vios first gen facelift version
assange
Nov 9 2013, 10:54 PM
Come on, look at his requirement, he dont cRe bout safety. Reliability, fuel saving, low maintenance are his requiremnt. Sure vios win hands down
geek8585
Nov 9 2013, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(amduser @ Nov 9 2013, 10:51 PM) wow....what kind of vios is that? cross bump that time wont bottom out la, even if bottom out it wont hit the exhaust system, only the side of the chassis where they use it to jack up and support the car for the exhaust sound, i didnt hear anything at all even though i always off aircon and radio while driving btw mine is vios first gen facelift version 1st gen and the new vios big diff eh
WaCKy-Angel
Nov 9 2013, 10:55 PM
QUOTE(artisan8 @ Nov 9 2013, 11:43 AM) Dear all, Within my budget (below 90k), I have shortlisted my choice to this two. 1.4 Kia Rio SX & 1.5 Vios G spec.I dont really care about the resell value as Im planning to use the car for 10 years. Therefore, my main concern would be the reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumption hopefully not too bad. I really like the design of the all new Kia Rio though. Btw, sorry for the noob question, but does the sunroof affect it's NvH. I am very particular with this as well. I like my car to be silent  Which will be a better choice? Kia Rio SX 79,888 Vios G spec 88,500 That price for sedan or hatchback?
dauf87
Nov 9 2013, 10:58 PM
QUOTE(assange @ Nov 9 2013, 10:54 PM) Come on, look at his requirement, he dont cRe bout safety. Reliability, fuel saving, low maintenance are his requiremnt. Sure vios win hands down Even when someone doesnt care about safety, we should really recommend cars for its safety features. IMO.
linkinawe
Nov 9 2013, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(dauf87 @ Nov 9 2013, 10:58 PM) Even when someone doesnt care about safety, we should really recommend cars for its safety features. IMO. true..Everyone has different requirement on buying a car but let just focus in TS main requirement reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumptionWhat is the point TS get more safety measure but a car doesnt meet his requirement  ? Vios has been here for 10 years ++ , spare part are easily to be found , and Toyota prove to have longer reliability, and adequate fuel consumption for a sedan. If TS want to focus in safety , there are other few cars apart from these two can be added in consideration , but most of them wont fullfill these main 3 requirement reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumptionThis post has been edited by linkinawe: Nov 9 2013, 11:40 PM
TSartisan8
Nov 9 2013, 11:46 PM

QUOTE(linkinawe @ Nov 9 2013, 11:39 PM) true..Everyone has different requirement on buying a car but let just focus in TS main requirement reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumptionWhat is the point TS get more safety measure but a car doesnt meet his requirement  ? Vios has been here for 10 years ++ , spare part are easily to be found , and Toyota prove to have longer reliability, and adequate fuel consumption for a sedan. If TS want to focus in safety , there are other few cars apart from these two can be added in consideration , but most of them wont fullfill these main 3 requirement reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumptionwhat other cars can be recommended around this price range below 90k? I can consider other cars even if it does not meet my main 3 requirement. Of course, dont be too far away with it as well. Like for FC, I do not expect to have it to be better than Vios, but dont too fuel sucking too. Spare parts dont be twice the price for the spare parts of Vios then should be alright for me. As for reliability, as long as it don break down so often then can already. Im still open up to all the sifu in FNF. Thank you all
linkinawe
Nov 9 2013, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(artisan8 @ Nov 9 2013, 11:46 PM) what other cars can be recommended around this price range below 90k? I can consider other cars even if it does not meet my main 3 requirement. Of course, dont be too far away with it as well. Like for FC, I do not expect to have it to be better than Vios, but dont too fuel sucking too. Spare parts dont be twice the price for the spare parts of Vios then should be alright for me. As for reliability, as long as it don break down so often then can already. Im still open up to all the sifu in FNF. Thank you all  jazz hybrid/jazz/inspira/fiesta/polo sedan This post has been edited by linkinawe: Nov 10 2013, 12:01 AM
kadajawi
Nov 10 2013, 12:12 AM
How about the Prius C?
Better FC than both cars. Better reliability than both cars (the big brother is pretty much the most reliable car there is). Good safety, on par with the Rio. Spare parts and maintenance: Good question. The Prius C at least requires fewer brakes. Battery should easily last one car lifetime or more, no worries there. (US taxis drive 400+k without changing the battery or losing capacity).
bakkutt3h
Nov 10 2013, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(artisan8 @ Nov 9 2013, 11:43 AM) Dear all, Within my budget (below 90k), I have shortlisted my choice to this two. 1.4 Kia Rio SX & 1.5 Vios G spec.I dont really care about the resell value as Im planning to use the car for 10 years. Therefore, my main concern would be the reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumption hopefully not too bad. I really like the design of the all new Kia Rio though. Btw, sorry for the noob question, but does the sunroof affect it's NvH. I am very particular with this as well. I like my car to be silent  Which will be a better choice? Kia Rio SX 79,888 Vios G spec 88,500 for long run i would say vios, why they are so reliable ? LoL, using the same old tech for few generation, apa pun stable....... skip rio if u prefer power/fc from my advice conclusion.... wanna try peugeot 208 ?
heshin
Nov 10 2013, 02:40 PM

Actually I am struggle between this two as well. Parents prefer vios. But I think Vsc and six air bag more important. Hmmm...appreciate if more people can reply. No need open new thread
pcm123
Nov 10 2013, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(heshin @ Nov 10 2013, 02:40 PM) Actually I am struggle between this two as well. Parents prefer vios. But I think Vsc and six air bag more important. Hmmm...appreciate if more people can reply. No need open new thread yea, that should be a priority when considering a car.
assange
Nov 10 2013, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(heshin @ Nov 10 2013, 02:40 PM) Actually I am struggle between this two as well. Parents prefer vios. But I think Vsc and six air bag more important. Hmmm...appreciate if more people can reply. No need open new thread If you want 6airbag and vsc, then you can skip umw toyota malaysia for sure. Dun waste time go umw show room to find your 6airbags with vsc c car there with your budget.. Even if u top up 100k more also cannot get a car with the spec you want at umw toyota.
SUSskyblu3
Nov 10 2013, 05:16 PM

QUOTE(artisan8 @ Nov 9 2013, 11:43 AM) Dear all, Within my budget (below 90k), I have shortlisted my choice to this two. 1.4 Kia Rio SX & 1.5 Vios G spec.I dont really care about the resell value as Im planning to use the car for 10 years. Therefore, my main concern would be the reliability, maintenance/spare part costs, and fuel consumption hopefully not too bad. I really like the design of the all new Kia Rio though. Btw, sorry for the noob question, but does the sunroof affect it's NvH. I am very particular with this as well. I like my car to be silent  Which will be a better choice? Kia Rio SX 79,888 Vios G spec 88,500 Vios. You can never go wrong with a Toyota.