wanna ask how does the iridium spark plug compared to normal spark plug? pro and cons, etc.
Iridium Spark Plug, vs Platinium, Copper
Nov 9 2013, 08:02 AM, updated 13y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
12 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
wanna ask how does the iridium spark plug compared to normal spark plug? pro and cons, etc.
Nov 9 2013, 09:41 AM
3,582 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
pros = last longer(longest)....iridium last 100,000KM
cons = expensive (but if u add up those spark plug that u changed every 20k, it all cost the same) iridium part u saved the labour fee only performance wise = i do see difference when using iridium(when startup) |
Nov 9 2013, 10:12 AM
1 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 9 2013, 08:02 AM) Iridium spark plugs are used in Toyota Camry and would last for 100km. So far I have not had any problem with them. Had them replaced by Toyota SC at last service schedule. |
Nov 9 2013, 10:15 AM
17,100 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
i am using iridium in my kelisa. my forum pals said wont make much difference. buy somehow i feel the car has stronger kick during start n responds better when i press the pedal. but costs over rm100.
worth trying it out if u can. my dua sen view only. |
Nov 9 2013, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(mikehwy @ Nov 9 2013, 10:15 AM) i am using iridium in my kelisa. my forum pals said wont make much difference. buy somehow i feel the car has stronger kick during start n responds better when i press the pedal. but costs over rm100. its over RM100 but u no need to change every 20kworth trying it out if u can. my dua sen view only. so if u add it up...it sums up the same iridium is like 1 cost while those copper ones divides into many i would say u saved the labour cost by using iridium...that is all |
Nov 9 2013, 01:07 PM
2,980 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Mount Chiliad |
RM100 for per plug or 1 set? 4plugs.
Nov 9 2013, 01:21 PM
ok ok.. seems like mostly is positive feedback. so maybe i going to try out on the next spark plug change
My spark plugs are located under the air box, so to change it, need to remove the air box also, so its more difficult to change & therefore maybe make sense to use iridium so i don't need to change so often. Anyone knows which iridium spark plug is suitable for hyundai/inokom i10 1.25 cvvt? I've been reading my owner's manual, it didn't state the spark plug type. on the service book it is stated inspect every 10k km & replace every 20k km for the spark plug. The authorised SC told me that hyundai car is replace spark plug every 40k km. I called up that SC to ask about if they're selling iridium spark plug. the guy told me that they didn't, they only have 'normal' spark plug for i10 which cost RM 26.50 / piece, which means RM 106 for a set of 4 unit spark plug. Now i dunno what he means by 'normal one spark plug', is it copper or platinum?? Now for RM106 a set of 4 spark plug, if i increase my budget a little big more then i can get iridium right??? but i need advice which iridium is compatible to my car. reading online there's cold plug la hot plug la need adjust gap la I think the real advantage of iridium is its durability?? replace at 100k km can save $$ by not buying new plugs every 20k km or 40k km. the possibility of better engine response is an added bonus |
Nov 10 2013, 08:32 PM
after quite extensive search on internet, narrow down to 2 OEM candidates for my car: Champion RER8YC, NGK LZKR6B-10E.
however the champion is 14mm dia whereas the NGK is 12mm! so in the end i still dunno which one my car is using. Guess that i need to call up hyundai malaysia to check check. btw, found that denso website says that Denso iridium power is good for 20k km, where as Denso iridium tough (the iridium-platinium combo) is good for 80k km. So is iridium tough a lot more expensive that iridium power? Or izzit that as long as it is iridium, then it is good for 100k km as commently said??? http://www.globaldenso.com/en/products/aft...tough/qa_5.html http://www.globaldenso.com/en/products/aft...idium/qa_6.html |
Nov 10 2013, 09:23 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 10 2013, 08:32 PM) after quite extensive search on internet, narrow down to 2 OEM candidates for my car: Champion RER8YC, NGK LZKR6B-10E. not sure the series that you're talking abt denso thoughhowever the champion is 14mm dia whereas the NGK is 12mm! so in the end i still dunno which one my car is using. Guess that i need to call up hyundai malaysia to check check. btw, found that denso website says that Denso iridium power is good for 20k km, where as Denso iridium tough (the iridium-platinium combo) is good for 80k km. So is iridium tough a lot more expensive that iridium power? Or izzit that as long as it is iridium, then it is good for 100k km as commently said??? http://www.globaldenso.com/en/products/aft...tough/qa_5.html http://www.globaldenso.com/en/products/aft...idium/qa_6.html i only know got 1...search iridium at "automotive garage" there...as i know, only 1 series for denso as for brand...best brand is still denso but bosch and NGK will do fine as well champion, not sure abt this brand oh and another advantage of iridium...not sure true or not its claimed(by manufacturer) that iridium spark plug can lower the emission of the engine This post has been edited by MR_alien: Nov 10 2013, 09:25 PM |
Nov 10 2013, 09:28 PM
2,730 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: In the shadows behind you |
Just beware of fake NGK and Denso Iridium plugs... It's almost impossible to tell the fakes from the original unless you have a known original plug to compare side by side.
Nov 10 2013, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 10 2013, 09:23 PM) not sure the series that you're talking abt denso though Denso Iridium Power (Ix00 series eg IK20) : 0.4mm Iridium Tip Electrodei only know got 1...search iridium at "automotive garage" there...as i know, only 1 series for denso as for brand...best brand is still denso but bosch and NGK will do fine as well champion, not sure abt this brand oh and another advantage of iridium...not sure true or not its claimed(by manufacturer) that iridium spark plug can lower the emission of the engine Denso Iridium Tough (Vx00 series eg VK20) : 0.4mm Iridium Tip Electrode, with platinum on discharge point from what i read on denso's website itself, Iridium Tough is the better one (longer life & same performance as Iri Power). So i bet the price is higher as well??? In theory yes the emission is lower, performance higher, fuel economy better. but in actual its difficult to say i think? some user says can feel better performance while some just same is same same. I'm mainly looking at the cost saved by longer change interval, plus potential better performance. but if the price is too high.. maybe will just settle for cheaper plug. QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 10 2013, 09:28 PM) Just beware of fake NGK and Denso Iridium plugs... It's almost impossible to tell the fakes from the original unless you have a known original plug to compare side by side. I also takut get fake plugs... so i maybe plan to buy from reputable LYN seller. And i suppose i can estimate a seller as reputable or no by looking at the number of page of his WTS thread??? lol.This post has been edited by efaceninja: Nov 10 2013, 10:37 PM |
Nov 10 2013, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 10 2013, 10:26 PM) Denso Iridium Power (Ix00 series eg IK20) : 0.4mm Iridium Tip Electrode ahhh...not sure ohDenso Iridium Tough (Vx00 series eg VK20) : 0.4mm Iridium Tip Electrode, with platinum on discharge point from what i read on denso's website itself, Iridium Tough is the better one (longer life & same performance as Iri Power). So i bet the price is higher as well??? I also takut get fake plugs... so i maybe plan to buy from reputable LYN seller. And i suppose i can estimate a seller as reputable or no by looking at the number of page of his WTS thread??? lol. as i recall...at automotive section...they only sell 1 kind try ask them which is it |
Nov 10 2013, 10:48 PM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
most of the iridium plugs sold in the market is "Iridium Power" type, which last 50,000km +/-. A lot of customers was misinformed on this part, hence everybody starts to think iridium = 100k km, which is wrong.
Nov 11 2013, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 9 2013, 09:41 AM) pros = last longer(longest)....iridium last 100,000KM cons = expensive (but if u add up those spark plug that u changed every 20k, it all cost the same) iridium part u saved the labour fee only performance wise = i do see difference when using iridium(when startup) QUOTE(mikehwy @ Nov 9 2013, 10:15 AM) i am using iridium in my kelisa. my forum pals said wont make much difference. buy somehow i feel the car has stronger kick during start n responds better when i press the pedal. but costs over rm100. so how many kms have you guys clocked on your Iridium plug already? any problems so far? any signs of decreasing performance with the age? i just assume you guys are using the Iridium Power since it is much much more common that Iridium Toughworth trying it out if u can. my dua sen view only. btw Champion is american brand. and i've quoted by 2 hyundai SC that OE Plug RER8YC (copper) cost same at RM 26.50, so i guess the price is controlled by hyundai malaysia.. RM 26.50 / RM 105 / set of copper plug.. expensive??? This post has been edited by efaceninja: Nov 11 2013, 08:56 PM |
Nov 11 2013, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 10 2013, 10:26 PM) I also takut get fake plugs... so i maybe plan to buy from reputable LYN seller. And i suppose i can estimate a seller as reputable or no by looking at the number of page of his WTS thread??? lol. ahahaha... Buy from reputable workshop or auto parts shop.... that way if fake can go back complaint. I buy from my regular mechanic if he dare sell fake parts to me... I'll 'accidentally' burn his shop to the ground... that's my common joke to him. |
Nov 11 2013, 09:24 PM
1,463 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Subang Jaya |
I'd say, for everyday driving go for the Iridiums. Since a few forumers have mentioned that the cost all adds up excluding labour fees, you risk less with issues, ie. installing/removing them. Get originals and basically they would be worry-free throughout their lifespan.
V12Kompressor funny that most P2 servicing outlets state 100,000 KM as their lifespan for Iridium Power. Sources say the lifespan is indeed 50,000 KM, so why did P2 overrate them? This post has been edited by colinwong89: Nov 11 2013, 09:31 PM |
Nov 11 2013, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 11 2013, 08:03 PM) so how many kms have you guys clocked on your Iridium plug already? any problems so far? any signs of decreasing performance with the age? i just assume you guys are using the Iridium Power since it is much much more common that Iridium Tough not sure...around 40-50k alreadybtw Champion is american brand. and i've quoted by 2 hyundai SC that OE Plug RER8YC (copper) cost same at RM 26.50, so i guess the price is controlled by hyundai malaysia.. RM 26.50 / RM 105 / set of copper plug.. expensive??? still works great |
Nov 11 2013, 10:52 PM
There's an easy way to check..
Just take the Iridium spark plug out and check the electrode tip. If after 50,000 km still good condition then no need change ler... Buy the correct tools and you can do it at home during weekends. |
Nov 12 2013, 06:54 PM
but my spark plug is placed under my air box and is on the inner side of the engine.. on the side that's closer to the outside i think its fuel line
Nov 12 2013, 11:14 PM
0 posts Joined: Jun 2010 From: Here a bit there reach liao |
try brisk silver plugs
Nov 12 2013, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Nov 12 2013, 06:54 PM) but my spark plug is placed under my air box and is on the inner side of the engine.. on the side that's closer to the outside i think its fuel line that will make the job harder... have to remove the airbox first (at same time can wash it, that's what i do everytime I remove the airbox)Just see how ur regular mechanic does it, then just follow the same steps. |
Nov 13 2013, 08:41 AM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
iridium cant last 100k km, i did use mine for that long and when i took them out, there was no more tip, just a flat rounded stub. lol. but still they fired but on cold start was jerky
Nov 13 2013, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(rcracer @ Nov 13 2013, 08:41 AM) iridium cant last 100k km, i did use mine for that long and when i took them out, there was no more tip, just a flat rounded stub. lol. but still they fired but on cold start was jerky Sure original Iridium plugs?I got con before with fake Iridium plugs... really cannot tell the difference unless compare side by side. The fake plugs doesn't last as long as original Iridium plugs. When I remove the fake plugs at 50,000 km can see a lot of wear. Original plugs, even after 50,000 km still look like new... but never tried until 100,000 km la... |
Nov 13 2013, 09:30 AM
735 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Malayshire |
MOst of the comments here emphasize on the lifespan of Iridium spark plugs. There are other advantages of using Iridium for your car.
- Iridium plugs require lower voltage, which in turn reduces load on your ignition system,in layman's term, easier to start your car especially on cold starts - More precise and direct spark every time which helps with combustion(means improved throttle response and fuel economy,reduced emmissions and maybe slight increase in engine power) As for which brand, I prefer Denso's |
Nov 13 2013, 10:21 AM
3,772 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 13 2013, 09:17 AM) Sure original Iridium plugs? yeah original, it really did 100k not just estimateI got con before with fake Iridium plugs... really cannot tell the difference unless compare side by side. The fake plugs doesn't last as long as original Iridium plugs. When I remove the fake plugs at 50,000 km can see a lot of wear. Original plugs, even after 50,000 km still look like new... but never tried until 100,000 km la... |
Nov 13 2013, 09:18 PM
I've read most ppl feedback can feel better power at low end and engine response is smoother.
anyone here have changed to iridium and actually feel/recorded improvement in FC? |
Nov 13 2013, 09:28 PM
2,980 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Mount Chiliad |
nobody prefers Bosch? NGK?
for my car, these are the brands recommended by most users. major improve on fc. |
Nov 13 2013, 11:06 PM
Nov 13 2013, 11:11 PM
658 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Melaka |
Im using brisk iridium plug, not much different, sometime i dont feel diferent in perfomance, just can stretch it longer to replace than normal plug
Nov 14 2013, 08:28 AM
7,951 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
Nov 14 2013, 01:06 PM
i am also using ngk iridium. the kick start is great and can feel the smooth sparks during fast pick up.
more funny readings from our funny forummers here... haha..https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2858600&hl= This post has been edited by mikehwy: Nov 14 2013, 01:09 PM |
Nov 14 2013, 01:10 PM
Sep 18 2019, 02:13 PM
355 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
I just change my honda city stock car spark plug at 132,000+ KM.. around 6 years first change.
i believe it can go until 160k KM as claim by NGK. this is the photo of new and old ones.. Seem like my next spark plug change i will change at 160k KM instead... good and reliable material. Total cost RM 280 + RM20 labour... ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0233sec
5 queries
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:41 AM |