Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

stefanong
post Aug 17 2006, 11:20 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Aug 17 2006, 11:09 PM)
without viewing the photos...i can imagine how big is guitar centre through their website....everything is there.....
Guitar centre is definitely huge. But other guitar stores I visited in Boston were much more smaller.. just a shop here and there but boy were the basses they were carrying premium stuff..... I never heard of a USD3000 bass until I saw some on display when I was visiting my friend in Berkeley.
stefanong
post Aug 21 2006, 11:29 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Aug 21 2006, 09:36 AM)
I thought people who played with their teeth didnt really play with their teeth.

It's just hammeron and pulloffs with ur left hand, and just moving the guitar up and down >_>.
Prepared to see the dentist if you really really tried to play with ur teeth laugh.gif
One things for sure...playing with teeth ala Hendrix with braces = suicide
shocking.gif
stefanong
post Sep 18 2006, 05:00 PM

322 posts

Need a little help. Can some one point me to a good luthier to modify me bass. Looking to convert me old bass to a fretless and maybe upgrade the pups as well
stefanong
post Sep 18 2006, 06:16 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 18 2006, 05:33 PM)
i wanna go for this tongue.gif
Legendary guitarists Steve Vai and Joe Satriani are gearing up to play their special benefit concert for music industry veteran and friend, Cliff Cultreri. "The Cliff Show" is set to take place on Saturday, September 30th at the House of Blues, Hollywood, and will feature performances by both Satriani and Vai, as well as just announced special guests - Steve Lukather, Dweezil Zappa, Paul Gilbert, Billy Sheehan, Scott Henderson and Johnny Hiland.

and yea, send to tham.
and who is "The Tham" ???
stefanong
post Sep 19 2006, 12:02 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 18 2006, 08:16 PM)
all he wants is to convert to fretless and install pickups.
you dont need a luthier for that.
errr guys...how do i contact Tham?
stefanong
post Sep 24 2006, 04:52 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Sep 24 2006, 11:54 AM)
mates can you chaps help me with some theory here.

whats this chord? I, III#, IV
and how do you get the key from....a batch of cords? know the chords, know the individual notes, dont know the key. how you calculate it?
normally chords are constructed I-III-V what you have there is rather strange. Perhaps you may try Dsus4 (I-IV-V) well this is a modified version includes the III which coincidentally happens to be sharpened as well..... Dsus4 (mod) is D(I)-F#(III)-G(IV)-A(V). (or would this make it a Dsus4add3 hmmm.....)

The easiest way to identify keys from a batch of chords is actually the circle of 5th's. It maps out for any key of a song, where the next chord would be , moving continuously till it resolves back at the starting point hence a circle. Its is quite lengthy so I leave you to research it or ask any other of the sifus here.

The explanation of triads posted earlier is rather good though but not very useful in this situation... (it's diminished..) do bear in mind the major-minor-minor-major.... is the normal formula to construct major scales....not minors.

More research you can refer to my posts in how to solo...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...120&p=8465937&#
stefanong
post Sep 26 2006, 08:36 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 24 2006, 10:42 PM)
see, thats why at least go learn some basic theory instead of running around blind.
a I III# V?
thats basically I IV V, which is a sus4.
errr wrong. unless of course it's a ##. refer to my post.
stefanong
post Sep 27 2006, 09:31 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 26 2006, 08:41 PM)
perhaps you would like to re-read again?
in D, the III is F# right?
so whats a III# if it even exists?
G which is basically the IV.

btw, your theory is flawed tongue.gif
what you said here "Dsus4 (mod) is D(I)-F#(III)-G(IV)-A(V). (or would this make it a Dsus4add3 hmmm.....)"
the corect term for that chord is Dadd4.
Hmm true. My bad. tongue.gif But the Dadd4 still does not solve the issue III#. Don't even think we can be so liberal as to equate III# to a IV. This may not apply to other keys. So no, even my initial argument (though closest) to use a Dadd4 is still not correct.
stefanong
post Sep 28 2006, 10:01 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Sep 27 2006, 01:07 PM)
actually yes.
III# can be equated to a IV cos its the exact same note in a major key and its for chord creation.
plus if for chords, no one will ever write a III#, ppl will just look at you funny.

the only reason that a III# might appear is in a scale notation, not for chords.
cos those strict idiots want to see all notes from I to VII, so instead of writing I II IV IV, they do I II III# IV etc etc.
i have some classical pieces that are similar.
hmm.. makes sense considering the intervals in the major scale, a III# would equate to a IV. But would this apply to minor scale structures since their intervals are rather different?

As far as most books I've seen, well had seen actually, considering I am trying to recall my grade 7 piano theory from 9 years back, most examples of chord triads normally use major scale as examples.

This post has been edited by stefanong: Sep 28 2006, 10:02 AM
stefanong
post Oct 14 2006, 05:57 PM

322 posts

Wah so fast post here...you all suffering from forum withdrawal or wat?
stefanong
post Oct 15 2006, 08:26 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Oct 15 2006, 07:06 PM)
Just finished viewing the gathering's pics, wish i could be there.

What was blacktrix and ebp(?) trying to do? Break their guitars over their necks?

EDIT : nevermind, the pic that was down before works now.
Nah, they were demonstrating how serious guitarists stay in shape. Behind Neck Shoulder Presses with Heavy guitars of course!

0.0370sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:36 AM