Guitars ~ LYN Guitar Phreaks Club ~ V3!, Guitars, Girls and other G type things!

hydrogen
post Jul 26 2006, 08:04 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ Jul 26 2006, 06:22 AM)
haha...nobody pick me up from perak to KL........u're gonna pick me up?laugh.gif
Perak??? waa.. sorie, i stay in college campus in Nilai. and i got no car..
u from Taiping isit? then abit difficult lor.

im condemned to public transport too anyway.

LRT to Hang Tuah or Monorail to Bukit Bintang

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Jul 26 2006, 08:09 AM
hydrogen
post Jul 28 2006, 01:58 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jul 27 2006, 05:30 PM)
how the hell are we goina reconise each other
Blacktrix looks like Zakk Wylde LOL
hydrogen
post Jul 28 2006, 07:05 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

Blacktrix, u bringing your gear to Bentley?
which gear, specifically?

yay got chance to see cool stuff..
hydrogen
post Jul 29 2006, 06:28 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

(u guys must have surely read this, but i found it interesting. i cut off the whole first part where they asked about his history of working with ozzy + other stuff)

Zakk Wylde Interview by Brian D. Holland

Your main influences?

Zakk: Let's see. Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Elton John,. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, Neil Young, Rolling Stones, Beatles and everybody.

Your voice as reminiscent of Layne Staley, and maybe a little Jerry Cantrell, too; you've got that Alice In Chains thing going on.

Zakk: Yeah. Layne was awesome, man. But it's Ozzie, too.

Yes. Ozzie, too.

Zakk: He's my favorite singer.

What about the new compilation, 'Kings of Damnation'? Were you involved in that, or was Spitfire Records clutching at straws when you departed?

Zakk: Yeah. The previous record company wanted to put it out, so I said, "all right, cool." They just had me listen to everything that was on the record. I had some bonus tracks, so we put that out as well.

Name your five favorite albums.

Zakk: Harvest Moon by Neil Young, Elton John's Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, Sabbath Bloody Sabbath, AC/DCs Back In Black, and Zeppelin's Houses of the Holy.

Gear?

Zakk: All Marshalls, JCM 800s, 2203s. I've got 6550 Groove Tubes in them. That's the only thing I've done to them. Outside of that they're stock. I've got the cabs loaded up with 200-watt EV speakers. As far as pedals go, it's all Jimmy Dunlop stuff because I worked with Jim designing the distortion pedal. I've got his chorus pedal, wah-wah, and then I use a rotovibe. I've got a phase 90. That's about it man. I use Monster cable and GHS strings. And of course, the Zakk Wylde Epiphone and Gibson Les Pauls, man.
___
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
hydrogen
post Jul 29 2006, 08:14 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

full Zakk Wylde interview here.
his gear:
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
hydrogen
post Jul 30 2006, 07:17 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(hydrogen @ Jul 29 2006, 06:28 PM)
Your main influences?
Zakk: Let's see. Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Elton John,. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, Neil Young, Rolling Stones, Beatles and everybody.

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
i got nothing to say...
its just like discovering that Blacktrix is a Hilary Duff fan.
so contradicting.. haha doh.gif
hydrogen
post Jul 30 2006, 02:44 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Pix @ Jul 30 2006, 09:43 AM)
blacktrix is always backing up ANY thing that Zakk is saying laugh.gif

My sister asked me to play guitar in a church for her wedding. My other sister and I are gonna play an acoustic version of "somewhere over the rainbow / what a wonderful world" (norah jones version), She'll be singing, I'll be playing smile.gif

Is a folk guitar (steel string) is loud enough to be heard in a mid-sized church full of people ? Or shall I plan to amplify it (it's electro-acoustic) ? So many of you guys go to church, you must have an idea wink.gif

By the way, this Norah Jones song is really great. The guitar is very simplistic, but the voice is totally stratospheric ! And the best part is when the bass kicks in in the middle of the song : the way it is played is fantastic. Very modern rock style, a bit "red hot chili peppers" on the edge !
Somewhere over the Rainbow? Cool!
shouldn't the church already have a PA system? all the churches i go to have PA system already set up, and just plug it in lor. If worse comes to worse, just use a mike!

don worrie lar - in my experience, most of the focus would be on the vocalist, and only guitarists will watch the guitarist. haha - unless u make a mistake!
choi choi

QUOTE(Pix @ Jul 30 2006, 09:43 AM)
Do you know other version of this song ? (except the "Israel" guy's one ?)
i have this punk cover of it, done by NewFound Glory if i'm not mistaken. but definitely not suitable for weddings, (traditional weddings, anyway) my wedding will have metal tunes.. haha icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Jul 30 2006, 02:49 PM
hydrogen
post Jul 31 2006, 09:36 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

slayer live in singapore?
ah.. where in singapore?
singapore national indoor stadium?

ps: check out my new sigbar, i just photoshopped it! wahahahahaaa "music lover"
does it look okay? i was thinking of making a new Guitar Phreaks one too,
this one was made out of greenday, metallica, and alterbridge guitarist. if you look closely, you can even spot a lp bullseye in it.
haha

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Jul 31 2006, 11:02 AM
hydrogen
post Jul 31 2006, 07:36 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Jul 31 2006, 05:21 PM)
Heheheh. thanks Led_zep.....
But yeah... you're userbar is cool too... feel free to use whatever they want.

BTW..... The Gathering is next week, sat, 12.30 at Bentleys..........
"The Gathering"
written with Capitals, it looks like some formal event. laugh.gif
hydrogen
post Aug 1 2006, 09:55 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 31 2006, 11:12 PM)
yea i found a skull of a lamb in my backyard and used it as a bong.
with your display avatar, i'd thought u'd use a human skull instead?
hydrogen
post Aug 2 2006, 08:46 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

i'll be there at the gathering!
the bentley one. add my name.
hydrogen
post Aug 3 2006, 10:50 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Aug 3 2006, 07:00 AM)
i dont mind eating together, as long as its not at an expensive place.
kopitiam can already.
rclxms.gif

can i bring my guitar to Bentley and ask them to fix it? its so...messed up la, the tuning and settings.. rclxub.gif
hydrogen
post Aug 3 2006, 10:16 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

doesnt look very offensive to me..
..what so offensive about it?
hydrogen
post Aug 4 2006, 11:55 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

hey everdying, whats your avatar? what IS that thing?
hydrogen
post Aug 4 2006, 08:28 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 4 2006, 03:02 PM)
what thing? that sweet looking thing on there?
well, uhh, for sure its gonna get banned in like 87 countries worldwide.
this time instead of a seperate piece of white paper covering the cover like the last one.
they're gonna need to get a special paper blessed by the pope to cover it tongue.gif

but yea, its slayer's new album cover.
heres a big version of it, comeon, i'm sure all you good little church boys can recognize the poster boy on the cover and his new look?

EDIT.
damn, i just hope SG dont have all those stupid christians going around protesting, just like how all the stupid orang kampung here complains about metal bands.
err... i refrain from comment.
hydrogen
post Aug 4 2006, 10:01 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

haha yeahh..
so you going bentley's tomoro?
hydrogen
post Aug 5 2006, 05:57 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Aug 5 2006, 01:08 PM)
no, its sped up....the notes he was playing were all wrong. look at the tabs and look back at it, he's playing too far foward or too far back
yeah, its definitely sped up. check out the old black fella (with the white beard and hat) shaking to the beat of the music. He's moving WAY too fast to be normal.

ps: sorri couldnt make it to bentleys in the end. got stuff to do..

This post has been edited by hydrogen: Aug 5 2006, 05:59 PM
hydrogen
post Aug 6 2006, 03:28 PM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 6 2006, 02:13 PM)
oi wtf.
dimebag eats yngwie for lunch.
didnt you all see how pantera bullied yngwie in the home videos? tongue.gif
now the torch has been passed on to zakk and slayer to do further bullying...
hahahahha
poor yngwie.

i bet if yngwie didnt use strats, strats might be less popular.
lespauls are fantastic sounding lar, where can deny tat.

trying to save for one. I heard the cheapest one is now retailing for RM1800-2000.
(RM2000 with hard case)

gotta skip those lunches.
hydrogen
post Aug 7 2006, 07:41 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(+3kk! @ Aug 7 2006, 12:11 AM)
wow, hows that possible la....you people tooo pro and they see kena takut liao issit
i'm guessing that happened. If i went i'd be scared of all these pros too. intimidated by their equipment and freaked out by their sheer... skillz.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 7 2006, 03:11 AM)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hwsbUUEOT9g

metallica performing a new (crappy) song.
listen to it and try not to tell me that...
METALLICA ARE GONNA BE THE BIGGEST CHRISTIAN METAL BAND tongue.gif
damn, james and his rehab, i want kill em all, not this crap.

but ohh lookie here, both kirk and james are using Gibson LPs, not RGs tongue.gif
james is either using a custom shop LP, or got someone to refinish an older model for him.
waaaaat? Metallica a christian band? shocking.gif sweat.gif
LOL stop the LP-RG war la. all got their own advantages. And people got diff taste wat. thumbup.gif
hydrogen
post Aug 7 2006, 07:42 AM

au contraire
1,516 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 7 2006, 07:40 AM)
k lets start a flame war...
or ffs how bout a real war?
i'm up for anything.
hahaha..
don't la. flaming is so different from real war.
so many different opinions ar you all?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0415sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:36 AM