Buying Laptop From Oversea

TSonepiece94
post Nov 6 2013, 11:53 PM, updated 13y ago

Hi, I'm planning to buy laptop from online shops which is basically from US web based like amazon or ebay. But I have zero knowledge about shopping laptop from overseas. I have read a few thread in LYN about this topic. But theres something that im not sure. I hope otai2 can help me.. Does the keyboard's layout from the US same as malaysia? I dont want to waste my money on changing my laptop's keyboard. and another thing is about the power outlet/socket. Am i need to buy a new power socket as malaysia does not support US power socket type.
nate_nightroad
post Nov 6 2013, 11:57 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(onepiece94 @ Nov 6 2013, 11:53 PM)
Hi, I'm planning to buy laptop from online shops which is basically from US web based like amazon or ebay. But I have zero knowledge about shopping laptop from overseas. I have read a few thread in LYN about this topic. But theres something that im not sure. I hope otai2 can help me.. Does the keyboard's layout from the US same as malaysia? I dont want to waste my money on changing my laptop's keyboard. and another thing is about the power outlet/socket. Am i need to buy a new power socket as malaysia does not support US power socket type.
yea the keyboard layout is the least of your concern

u gotta deal with custom, tax, and touch wood warranty concerns

question: why buy from US? is it a gaming alienware laptop?
TSonepiece94
post Nov 7 2013, 12:00 AM

not but msi.. so i dont have to worry about the keyboard..huhh.. thats relieving~
msi in in malaysia is too expensive the msi gt60 version.. but i think laptop dont have tax right?
nate_nightroad
post Nov 7 2013, 12:05 AM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(onepiece94 @ Nov 7 2013, 12:00 AM)
not but msi.. so i dont have to worry about the keyboard..huhh.. thats relieving~
msi in in malaysia is too expensive the msi gt60 version.. but i think laptop dont have tax right?
no tax? dream on bro
TSonepiece94
post Nov 7 2013, 12:17 AM

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Nov 7 2013, 12:05 AM)
no tax? dream on bro
yeah i saw from this forum https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2386323
and also from this forum here
no tax for complete build laptop/desktop

This post has been edited by onepiece94: Nov 7 2013, 12:22 AM
arc x
post Nov 7 2013, 01:00 AM

592 posts

ya , i did saw from some post (i did some google) , many claim that personal laptop no tax on it , even from malaysia official custom site also mentioned tax free is applied on personal computer . But when it come to real life , i dunno , i never try .
bloodchow2
post Nov 7 2013, 01:13 AM

664 posts

dont forget how u gonna claim warranty too
arc x
post Nov 7 2013, 01:46 AM

592 posts

QUOTE(bloodchow2 @ Nov 7 2013, 01:13 AM)
dont forget how u gonna claim warranty too
many model now provide international warranty , u just have to look for certain model and see if international / global warranty applies on it , if u want to further verify this , the best way is to send a mail to certain brand that u interest to buy the laptop .
TSonepiece94
post Nov 7 2013, 07:24 AM

owhh..thx guys.. btw about the warranty im gonna ask the seller. I hope they provide international warranty. I think one year is enough rite? If my laptop arrived in perfect condition, one year is sufficient. About the power supply socket, do i need to buy a new one?
pali_5373
post Nov 7 2013, 08:05 AM

145 posts

i've bought an alienware m18x back then in 2012 from HIDevolution Computer US.shipped by fedex, and absolutely NO TAX was charged to me at all. the laptop worth USD 3000 plus..for the power supply, the voltage rated as far is remember it stated 110~220. so it is compatible with our country. only the problem is the socket. i think this one u cam just buy from computer shop locally or just get an international socket. well, that is just my experience. the laptop i bought already sold to other last year.
l K l P l
post Nov 7 2013, 09:05 AM

Zinedine Zidane
837 posts

u just need a socket converter which is very cheap
Dbassnut
post Nov 7 2013, 09:37 AM

293 posts

Why not get a lappie from Illegear. They're based in Malaysia & are also active in the forums so you can ask their rep any questions you have.

raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 09:39 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Dbassnut @ Nov 7 2013, 09:37 AM)
Why not get a lappie from Illegear. They're based in Malaysia & are also active in the forums so you can ask their rep any questions you have.
TS not only mean Clevo laptops, also those rare laptops that are not available in Malaysia.
Dbassnut
post Nov 7 2013, 09:46 AM

293 posts

if get from overseas need to get from a good supplier & cross your fingers that Kastam Malaysia don't buat hal. The last time I bought a EURB from the US, the instrument reached me with a dent as the Kastams guys must have dropped it when opening up the package for inspection. Luckily damage was minor & I managed to fixed it here.
katijah
post Nov 7 2013, 09:52 AM

77 posts

EURB??
vankodoq
post Nov 7 2013, 10:05 AM

377 posts

QUOTE(katijah @ Nov 7 2013, 09:52 AM)
EURB??
Electric Up-Right Bass. CMIIW. smile.gif

Anywho, I googled around but I can't found one legal statement from Malaysian customs stating that laptop or built-PCs are free from import tax. I did find a lot of statement that they are untaxed goods tho. hmm.gif
nexus2238
post Nov 7 2013, 10:48 AM

4,196 posts

On international warranty:
Please read the terms and conditions carefully.
For most (if not all) brands, warranty can only be provided on-shore if the models are also sold in Malaysia.
If the models are not sold in Malaysia, the brands' SC will not have stock for the spare parts. Which mean:
a. if SC is kind, they will order the parts (you wait lah smile.gif ).
b. if they play by the book, they will probably ask you to ship the laptop back to where you buy in from (good luck on the freight charges and time involved).

Areas Elysian
post Nov 7 2013, 05:08 PM

1,132 posts

I purchased my GE40 from the USA from one of the resellers on Amazon.

No tax at all.

Keyboard layout exactly the same. We're using US keyboard layout here.

Only issue is warranty (get international warranty if possible) and that the power cord is US plug, but you can buy replacement cords from ALL IT or something.

Warranty didn't matter for me, I broke the seal immediately the replace the parts inside anyway.

Power cord is cheap.

This post has been edited by Areas Elysian: Nov 7 2013, 05:10 PM
TSonepiece94
post Nov 7 2013, 08:47 PM

Actually i'm planning to buy the msi gt60 locally. But after saw the the price offered by international shops. The difference is almost 1k. Why some version of laptop is expensive but some is cheaper?
Haskell
post Nov 8 2013, 07:24 AM

QUOTE(onepiece94 @ Nov 7 2013, 08:47 PM)
Actually i'm planning to buy the msi gt60 locally. But after saw the the price offered by international shops. The difference is almost 1k. Why some version of laptop is expensive but some is cheaper?
Mostly because of price mark-up..
As for tax, there're no tax/duty imposed on laptops. You may visit http://tariff.customs.gov.my and search HS code 8471.30 (for notebooks/laptops) if you have doubt about tax as customs will refer to this site for items tax rates.

PS: in 2015, maybe GST will be imposed on laptops (and smartphone as well), but still in planning (source from my friends worked at KDRM).
TSonepiece94
post Nov 8 2013, 10:36 PM

QUOTE(Haskell @ Nov 8 2013, 07:24 AM)
Mostly because of price mark-up..
As for tax, there're no tax/duty imposed on laptops. You may visit http://tariff.customs.gov.my and search HS code 8471.30 (for notebooks/laptops) if you have doubt about tax as customs will refer to this site for items tax rates.

PS: in 2015, maybe GST will be imposed on laptops (and smartphone as well), but still in planning (source from my friends worked at KDRM).
thank you man biggrin.gif .. Gonna buy the laptop now drool.gif

0.0193sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:17 PM