QUOTE(joytest @ Nov 6 2013, 09:26 PM)
Sammy screwing google. Interesting if true.Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v10, Mobile Odin and Knox 0x0 !!!
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v10, Mobile Odin and Knox 0x0 !!!
Nov 6 2013, 09:45 PM
7,037 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Nov 6 2013, 10:24 PM
Nov 6 2013, 11:50 PM
Nov 6 2013, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Nov 6 2013, 11:50 PM) It's a philosophical issue, not technical But what if it IS Knox tripping Knox?Samsung probably set the lock in some weird way so that even small things trip it. In the video, I don't think it's Knox tripping Knox. It's the notification coming from the Knox app, so what tripped it is still unknown. KNOXCEPTION! |
Nov 7 2013, 12:07 AM
QUOTE(putera_imranz @ Nov 6 2013, 11:56 PM) Are you rooted? If you are, you might have used an app that changes the default font with another font directly (file rename). You'll need the original system font to revert, google for it. |
Nov 7 2013, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(joytest @ Nov 7 2013, 01:12 AM) I have a question, which I personally wonder quite often, maybe some creative minds may supply some plausible answers. Flexible screens = Curved displays. Why? Inherent anti-glare advantages.What's really next for mobile computing devices? We have flexible displays coming. We have 500ppi+ screens coming. 64bit CPUs will come, and probably 4Gb+ RAM I understand the bit about the CPUs and RAM. What I can't really see of immediate use is the flexible screen and the 500ppi display. Probably the same thing will play out as what happened when Intel invented the 4004 in the 70's, and didn't know what to do with it until Japanese companies bought them by the shiploads to make electronic calculators... 500++ ppi displays = 4k screens. Why? Just because. Personally I've yet to see any immediate need to go beyond 720 for smartphones. FHD is already overkill in my books, but hell, more is better right? 4GB RAM and 64bit Procs? Only a matter of time before this happened. Moore's Law if nothing else. I mean my N2 already has more cores and RAM compared to my 7 year old Dell M1210, and it even plays Doom 3 better. So, with all that in the horizon, what is next? At the rate we're going, it's all gonna be bigger, faster, more feature bloat UNTIL we start packing supercomputers win our pockets. Which is kinda sad really, considering it marks the end of "the age of innovation". The smartphone has started going the way of the computers, a dead end evolution going forward in one straight line. The only "real" innovation left in the mobile space seems to be what phoneblox and Motorola is promising: modular phones. Which is might not happen simply because it will render the big corporation's main marketing strategy impotent: the yearly phone upgrade cycle. I'm thinking that this is why the big corps will do everything Iin their power to stop that from happening. Oh and Google Glass. Which seems to be a more plausible evolutionary step up for the humble smartphone. Google "Dennou Coil" for what the future may hold if we do end up going that way. Oh, and talking about innovation, Sammy should really start thinking of shrinking the Notes. A Note 3 Mini will slaughter the opposition, even with N2 specs. A phablet is good and all but it's still really bloody huge. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 01:52 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 01:56 AM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 7 2013, 01:51 AM) I would like to see a mobile phone have a "desktop mobile". Can run Linux or even Windows when in a dock or mode Uh, we can already Chroot fine into Linux what? Sure we need a VNC client to access the GUI, but everything works fine, if not a tad on the slow side.dual boot Android Plus Windows (up to 98) runs a-ok under DosboxTurbo, even with sound and stuff enabled. Granted it's not a "real" desktop per se but... Seriously guys, Dennou Coil. Wearables and seamless AR = the future. @plateau: S series no s-pen. I know I'm being greedy but a S4 sized device with a wacom digitizer... That said Sammy should just make the S-Pen standard with ALL their devices. It's a killer feature on its own. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 02:01 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 02:05 AM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Nov 7 2013, 02:00 AM) I want a proper one and done by manufacture, as TS said what else we can demand from manufacture. Well polish is what I'm trying to say. True that. Dual booting a full Linux distro "natively" on a smartphone is great fun, as I've learned back in the glorious N900 days. Not that the N900 wasn't already running "proper" Linux to begin with. I know it's possible now through some DIY but I wish for a proper one instead of root/flashing or whatever. That said, somebody should just stuff Windows 8.1 into a phone already, and Acer seems to be well on it's way with the W3 and W4. It just needs to get smaller lol. What we're seeing now is a quite ironic really. Phones are trying to become computers, and computers are trying to become phones. Confusing times, this is. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 02:10 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 09:38 AM
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Nov 7 2013, 09:27 AM) Honestly, maybe I'm a weird guy, but I don't really prefer a phone to be too slim. In those days, I really like the HTC Titan and Titan II with the slide out hardware full keyboard. I know devices nowadays are getting slimmer, but if it is slightly thicker than our Note 3 and you have the foldable screen, for me I won't complain about it. IMHO foldable screens will NOT make mass market. It will come out, but will hit a specific niche with a need for it, and that's it.But still, battery and stability should be the main focus. Hardware is getting better and better but many apps are not optimized or taking the advantage of the new processor architecture. Next year will be the year of 64bit processor but I wonder, how many years it would take for the app developers to switch to that platform Why? By 2015 wearables will already be taking it's first tentative steps into mass market. By then people will have realised that they have no real need for a foldable physical screen when a Glasses based Optical AR Terminal can (by then or in a few short years from 2015) project as many virtual screens as you need in whatever sizes, anywhere. Well, as an avid supporter of wearables, or at least AR Optical Terminals, this is what I hope will happen. Right now what's important is cramming as much power we can into something that can be comfortably carried on our heads. Which, seeing the quadruplization of mobile processing power in the past few years, is proceeding quite nicely. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 09:41 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Nov 7 2013, 09:45 AM) I get what you mean. I mentioned 2015 is based on the recent rumors of Samsung gonna release their foldable screen in 2015. Wearable sounds like too future, I think it will only be useful if it could be something like Tony Stark's Javis AI. Then by using a small wearable digital device and a good bluetooth headset, you can have unlimited viewing area I've said this before, will say it again. Dennou Coil.Bloody series illustrates the entire idea of an AR Wearable future comprehensively. From multiple windows to virtual input to even spamming (which turns out to become something akin to a visual DDOS attack, plenty dangerous if you get while, say, driving). The plot is a tad on the ehhhh side though (it's actually aimed at actual kids, has really mature themes though), but it's good gadget Pr0n nonetheless. That said, I really am in the wrong line of work. Pushing the Google Glass aside, who here thinks that the Galaxy Gear would have been MUCH better if it was HUD accessory? @joytest: Chroot rite? Have to wait until I get enough resources for a bigger mSD card. Right now my 32GB card is getting filled to the brim as it is, and I reckon a 64GB card won't take long to fill up either. Where the heck are those 128GB cards SanDisk? This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 10:01 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 10:06 AM
@HoneyHadger: For the least bulk get a thin TPU case like the Diztronic or a Mercury Jelly. A pure polycarb case CAN be made thinner but it will offer negligible protection so why bother?
Best TPU I have EVER used is the Zoogue social case. A shame Zoogue doesn't make them for the Note series though. A hybrid case will always have more bulk in comparison, which is why I'm holding myself from getting a UAG. My N2 is huge enough as it is. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 10:08 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(WiLyi @ Nov 7 2013, 10:07 AM) As of now the slimmest case we can get is the S View but the sides are not protected although the sides of the casing is slightly protruding out. What case are you using now? Mercury Jelly (for the N2 mind you) which I got for free with my N2. Thin, with perfect cutouts and has a generous lip to protect the screen. Downside is Mercury is actually Korean specific so you get a free hole for your non-existant antenna (which is the same for the N3 version last last I checked).Check out Diztronic for a good thin TPU without the "ghost antenna" hole. Similarly the SGP Bounce. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 10:17 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(PsVitaForLife @ Nov 7 2013, 11:34 AM) Lol bro, I think you're too underestimate the power of snapdragon 800. Hahaha what's the point of having SUCH powerful smartphone and not hope to flex it's muscle by installing few apps. Don't worry bro, it wont slow down the phone la hahahha. Snapdragon or not, installing 100 apps that require startups at boot is going to tax you machine for sure, not to mention it will suck battery like no tomorrow.Installing apps do not slow down anything, true. But installing apps that silently run around in the background doing only god knows what all day long (Facebook, I'm talking about you) will. Especially if you have zero tech knowledge, are not rooted and have no idea what "Autostarts" or "Greenify" (or any similar app) does. Which is probably where this entire "Samsung is laggy" crap started anyway. That said, it's true however that "a few apps" will be total waste of the mighty 800 and the 3GB of RAM, but for sure he (she?) is going to enjoy a helluva longer SOT because of that. Power users different ler of course. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 11:48 AM |
Nov 7 2013, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(Gh-x @ Nov 7 2013, 11:59 AM) Hi, i am still having this lost data connection problem even when just connecting to wifi. To regain the data connection i either have to go to flight mode and back or restart the phone. I think this has happened to a lot of users actually, especially S4 LTE and S4 Active users (which incidentally all use Qualcomm stuff). A modem update is probably needed, IF it's not a problem with your own sim card to begin with.That said, I don't see a lot of others here having the same problem (there were a few back in the previous version thread), maybe because everyone is in places with good cellular coverage? Try out the suggestions by the helpful folks above, it might help. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 12:07 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(gin&tonic @ Nov 7 2013, 12:44 PM) Sammy has managed to make people hate knox that much lol. So much for their PR budget.It's getting quite ridiculous now really. It's like every other app triggers the Knox notifications lol. Normal users automatically think knox trigger = out of warranty and they panic. Way to make your customers feel good Sammy. Plus if to u wanna get rid of it, you have to root... This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 12:53 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(dikae @ Nov 7 2013, 02:01 PM) so I bought a note 3 SME and I have 2 questions here for sifus :- SME E-Warranty registration can ONLY be done by parties appointed by Samsung Malaysia, i.e. sellers. Check with the shop you bought it from. Otherwise you need to find someone who can to help you. 1. used it a week, still no idea how to register warranty on it (some ask me to go to Samsung Malaysia website, enter serial number to register), is it as easy as that? I've tried but seems to get stuck somewhere in the page 2. LED indicator light settings - some says Lightflow, while others prefer Light Manager, any suggestion which is better? Another question on LED, if I have it green on miss call, blue on sms, what colour LED will I be able to see if it clashes (miss call and sms same time)? thx ! IINM you CANNOT do it on your own. Back in the S3 days there was someone who could help register E.W, I'm not so sure now. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 02:40 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(aimy @ Nov 7 2013, 02:58 PM) have anyone tried framaroot to root the phone? err... is it already available? Be careful with rooting the N3. Check front page before trying anything or else you will trip Knox for real (the bootloader counter, not the dumb notifications) and possibly lose warranty, for real this time. last time framaroot can root note 2 rite? Things have changed since the N2 days. Not for the better unfortunately, especially for us rootholics. Even the N2 is getting Knoxed bootloaders for the upcoming 4.3 releases it seems. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 03:06 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Nov 7 2013, 04:15 PM) Maybe, who knows? You have a point though. 64 bits allows some calculations to happen faster although that should already be handled by the gpu which is supposed to do vector redraws without breaking a sweat. Or maybe they're just getting ready for the next stage? Stuffing more than 4GB+ of RAM in phones lol will NEED a 64bit proc lol.One article said that they wanted to unify both ios and macos and challenge Intel, which again may have some truth to it. A wonder what they're gonna use it for though, and I personally think it's a move Android vendors will make first (in line with their current feature bloating) before the fruit guys. 5GB of RAM in phones lol. 1 more GB and it can run COD Ghosts already. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 7 2013, 04:26 PM |
Nov 7 2013, 05:17 PM
QUOTE(joytest @ Nov 7 2013, 04:52 PM) If we can have hardware virtualization in 64bit arm it will be a fantastic boost for multi boot OSes. Planning to, not yet as I'm running outta space on my micro SD. I do have the MHL cable so I'll try that out the moment I get a new mSD card.I did ask earlier, are you running linux on your note2? Tried it with an mhl? I wonder if allocating 1gb to the vm in note3 will let become a desktop replacement of sorts... They say using a "better" VNC viewer makes the interface smoother too, will try that out. |
Nov 17 2013, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(bryan_823 @ Nov 17 2013, 03:17 PM) Find flash apk, download, install. Done. You have to enable "install applications from unknown sources" though.Works perfect with the built in browser IINM. The apk you'll have to search for from XDA, as it's considered to be a "reliable" (i.e. no malware crap) source. It's not in play store anymore cause "officially" there IS no more flash for Android - even if Adobe keeps on quietly updating flash for it. This post has been edited by Eiraku: Nov 17 2013, 03:51 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0350sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:05 PM |