Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables (DIY)

views

penmarker
post Mar 5 2013, 09:42 AM

Regular
1,861 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Mar 5 2013, 08:59 AM)
Guys i need to clear some doubts.. I just entered this audiophile world. IMO cables cannot improve the quality of the sound, whats important is the source right? Cables can only degrade the quality thats already there but by using a cable you cannot "increase" the quality if in the first place you already have a decent cable. Im no engineer but i think as long as the electrical signals can be passed (lets say interconnect) from source to amp etc... without distortion then it will sound as good as the source right? So i guess a decent cable with good conductivity and sheilding is enough.. no need for it to be "cryo smtg" hehehe~ Please enlighten me smile.gif

Cables don't "improve" the sound quality. They can alter the signature and reduce the amount of distortion.

penmarker
post Mar 5 2013, 01:17 PM

Regular
1,861 posts

QUOTE(ultra_nyamuk @ Mar 5 2013, 09:48 AM)
Hmm in what application can it alter the signature? If its just a 5cm interconnect can it make much difference ?
For a mere 5cm, I wouldn't waste money on expensive cables as the difference wouldn't be noticeable to my ears. But for longer cables, the characteristics of the sounds can be noticed.
How about we do a little meetup somewhere quiet? I can bring the cables with my headphones and a DAC/amp unit. But you have to bring a laptop because I run on desktop.
penmarker
post Mar 5 2013, 02:37 PM

Regular
1,861 posts

My location is Cyberjaya. I don't understand how cables alter the sound signature, probably have something to do with the material properties.
penmarker
post Mar 18 2013, 12:43 PM

Regular
1,861 posts

QUOTE(malutapimau @ Mar 17 2013, 08:42 PM)
what plug do you plan to get?

my malu² fono interconnect,,,,,,,,,

» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «