DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

infrasonic
post Sep 22 2013, 01:28 PM

--
648 posts

Got a question to ask..noob here.
Why do you guys need to recable your headphones? Does it sounds better??
And where do you guys get your cables and plugs? I tried searching in the google for cables but couldn't find anything..
infrasonic
post Oct 21 2013, 06:46 PM

--
648 posts

guys any idea where can i find cheap plugs (<RM10) and wires? i went to hardware store but they only got wires for socket (with 3 wires inside). actually i just need the cables to plug in laptop to the amp, which has different sized plug. i bought those around rm10 cables + adapter from pc store but those very lousy, will be faulty after a few weeks/days of usage as i plug it in/out a lot.
the size of the plug from laptop is 3.5mm (i think?) and the one going into amp should be 1/4 (not sure also for this)..
infrasonic
post Oct 21 2013, 08:23 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Oct 21 2013, 07:22 PM)
You need a 3.5mm to RCA i guess...hmm if DIY you can get from jalan pasar but less than RM10 i dun think u can make good cable...
Rean 3.5mm plug cost you around RM3-4/each
Rean RCA if i am right should be around RM5-8/each
Canare L-2B2AT cable around RM3.50-4.50/meter

Alternative is go for China plastic no brand plug cost around RM0.50 each

Alternative is straight buy a ready made cable from lowyat or RadioShack but wont be <RM10
my RM10, is for plugs only, so the one you suggested pretty good for me rclxms.gif
found the rean plugs in element14..
whr's jalan pasar? how do you know the name of the cables???

thanks!
infrasonic
post Oct 21 2013, 08:36 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Oct 21 2013, 08:28 PM)
I see~then it will be easier to make a good cable =)
Jalan Pasar is located in Pudu, Kuala Lumpur. If i am not mistaken you from Sarawak?hmm
Cause I go there quite frequent and make cable to sells therefore will know some info of it. smile.gif
lulz..Then where can I buy one in Sarawak? XD
Any chance for hardware store to sell it? Went to some hardware store and PC store but couldn't find suitable cables for audio..

If I want to buy the cable, the model/number of the cables will be written on the plastic?
If say I couldn't find the particular cable you mentioned, how should I choose a good one? I've searched around on Google and seems like many ppl are recommending Canare Cables, it would be fine right if it's Canare Cable also (with reasonable price, not dirt cheap) but different model? And just now after I did some research only I know that audio got 3 cables inside sweat.gif
Are there any need for heatsink tubing? I only have solder at home, no heatshrinks..
infrasonic
post Oct 31 2013, 05:02 PM

--
648 posts

Guys, in my previous post, I said I will be making a DIY Cable for PC to Amp connection (3.5mm to 6.35mm), problem is I couldn't find any audio cable in my town. Most I found is the Orange-Red colored speaker wire that comes with 4 wires sticked together, would that be okay to be used for my connections?
The wire looks something like this..

Btw, anyone here always buy things from Element14? How long does it normally arrives? The 6.35mm plug I found there is not available in the SG warehouse, but in US warehouse, will it take very long to reach me?
If the 3.5mm plug is from SG, and 6.35mm plug is from US, do they send them together or will be separated?

This post has been edited by infrasonic: Oct 31 2013, 05:03 PM
infrasonic
post Nov 2 2013, 05:51 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Oct 31 2013, 07:46 PM)
Element14 will arrive around 3or4 days after payment done IF your stock is available in SG...if ur stock is US then might take around 1week plus...
From US or SG both also same price for delivery right?? Now go the free delivery if I'm not mistaken..

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Nov 1 2013, 07:08 AM)
some speaker cables are too thick to be solder, just beware on it.
What do you meant by too thick to be soldered?

Btw, Element14 have really good customer service LOL. Few days ago I received a call from them in Singapore, just to tell me that if I got any problem I can call their hotline number sweat.gif
infrasonic
post Nov 2 2013, 06:48 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Nov 2 2013, 06:02 PM)
Yea they got the same price for US and SG, just US need more time to arrive.
Their service really not bad, the first time i order i encounter some problem and they guide me very detail.
Too thick to be solder mean the speaker cable is think and need to be solder properly...
QUOTE(more2teayap @ Nov 2 2013, 06:05 PM)
Some cables are very thick, if iron not hot enough, sekali touch, the tip gets cold.
So this was what happened to me last time, the speaker I'm working with only have jacks behind to be plugged in, not those type where you can just "screws" wire in. I want to solder the wires on the plug but the solder doesn't seems to stick on the plug, just on the cable only..
infrasonic
post Nov 19 2013, 05:42 PM

--
648 posts

guys i very confuse liao rclxub.gif
so now i need to build a male to male cable to connect sound from laptop to amp.
my amp is something like this, 6.35mm jack on the left

what i'm confuse with right now is that the jack on my amp is mono or stereo??
if i buy stereo plug, will it work on the amp if say the jack is mono??
the headphone jack on laptop is confirm stereo right?

what i'm thinking now is buy 2 POMONA 6.35mm stereo plug, then 1 6.35mm to 3.5mm stereo adaptor so i can plug that into my pc

http://my.element14.com/jsp/search/product...jsp?sku=8129769
http://my.element14.com/jsp/search/product...jsp?sku=3712874

if i have a mic that's 6.35mm mono, and i want to use that on my laptop, can i use the stereo adaptor? or there won't be any sound?

the distance between from laptop to the amp will be very far, would be like 5m long...
i couldn't find any audio cable in my area, what's the worst thing that could happen if i buy those cable for power from hardware store? LOL
found those speaker wire, red colored one..can be used right??

it looks something liddis

infrasonic
post Nov 19 2013, 06:24 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinNdad @ Nov 19 2013, 06:00 PM)
your amp no other input?only mic input?
yup..
infrasonic
post Nov 24 2013, 06:31 PM

--
648 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Nov 19 2013, 07:34 PM)
Then those inputs are mono actually (as with all microphone inputs). You could tap directly at the pre-amp output stage but require some modifications to the board inside your "amplifier" unit... hmm.gif
actually i'm working on the school's p.a. system, well not now but soon.. and just found out that we're no more using the old power amp but a mixer..
the old power amp only got "Mic In", but this new mixer got "Balanced or Unbalanced" and "Mono"
does the "Bal or Unbal" means stereo can be used?

also sometimes we will use the old amp also in some other places..so if possible i like to make the cable to be mono..but the one into the pc must be stereo, so it's male-male but stereo-mono
can i do something liddis? i connect the signal cable together from the stereo (left & right become 1 cable), then to the mono i just connect them together..
sorry if my explanation very hard to understand, i'm bad at explaining sweat.gif

here's the new mixer

0.0271sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:39 PM