DIY DIY cable, Pictures of DIY cables

davidtron
post Dec 30 2011, 04:58 PM

18 posts

To all sifu sifu, i'm not sure whether this is the correct forum to post a question on home theather setup. I bought a bluray player philips BDP2600, i found out that the rear only have hdmi and audio coaxial slot only. I want to connect it to my pioneer XV-DV555. I do i get it done? What type of cable i need to have? Thanks in advance
davidtron
post Jan 2 2012, 12:38 PM

18 posts

davidtron
post Jan 3 2012, 10:24 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Jan 2 2012, 01:32 PM)
get a proper coax cable.
I try to but no point cos my pioneer don't have that slot for coaxial... soo bad... should have look into it 1st before purchasing that bluray player... sad.gif

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jan 2 2012, 03:25 PM)
So what you mean is you directly plug from coaxial out to RCA in? Coaxial digital RCA analogue I don't think can directly work. unsure.gif
Yeah... that's correct... Should have not listen to that electrician... sad.gif
davidtron
post Jan 3 2012, 02:44 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Jan 3 2012, 01:32 PM)
in that case you need to get a dac with coax inputs.

bluray (coax) -> DAC (rca) -> pioneer amp
I'm new in this kind of cableling... may i know what's DAC stands for? Can it be purchase anywhere? Will google how its looks like... Thank you very much
davidtron
post Jan 4 2012, 08:02 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(more2teayap @ Jan 3 2012, 02:57 PM)
You see, coaxial out are digital, what we listen is analogue, DAC stands for Digital to Analogue Converter, it converts digital signals to analogue signals, simple wink.gif

If you want to get a affordable one you can try asking for Fiio D3, it accepts Coaxial in and RCA out:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2039179/all

Hope it solves your problem smile.gif
I already call up that guy and he says that he never try it on Blu-ray player to Amp, he is more on PCs... Thanks for the help again.. really appreciate...

QUOTE(hongrui @ Jan 3 2012, 05:01 PM)
basically what more2teayap said.

however, one thing to note is that you will be losing out on all the 5.1 / 7.1 Master Dolby recordings on your blu-rays. the audiophile DACs are geared towards stereo 2.0 audio reproduction. i am personally unaware of any DACs that decode 5.1 / 7.1 Dolby surround.

the suggestion i put forth earlier is suitable if you are using your blu-ray player to play stereo 2.0 music. if you are going to be using it for movies and stuff, you will be disappointed.
Really need to enjoy and feel how great its the blu-ray master dolby recording... solution is to chg my current pioneer home theater system with the blu-ray home theater system... Thanks for the great explanation... really appreciate all the advice....

0.0358sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:03 AM