Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

kennykong85
post Nov 8 2019, 11:03 AM

268 posts

sifu sifus,

currently i only read up till page59 only, still have alot to catch up.

previously i target entry level like sansung hwr 150, 450, 550...
the more i read , the stronger urge for me to get a better soundbar....getting more poisons and now i am targeting
1. yahama yas 107 ~ 109 series (laz offer rm7xx)
2. jbl studio 2.0 (laz offer rm475 ~ rm559)

is there any sifus that share on the review lately on this 2 mentioned above? which 1 should i go for, i understand its best to go test myself, which i am about to do on this weekend

*i dont need alexa feature
*mostly for tv box movie/ pc gaming/ youtube music
*cant find any yas 107 on the market...stylelaser/ harvey norman website no longer have yas107...only yas108~yas109

*yas306 display unit at rm1.2k only
kennykong85
post Nov 12 2019, 11:20 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(kazukimy @ Nov 8 2019, 05:09 PM)
On paper wise (tech details) and design (look), YAS 109 is much better if you are looking at it since YAS 107 consider old model. Just my 2 cents.

Usually JBL will pack abit more punch in Bass (low end) frequency, but you could determined it once you have tested it. Would be better if you could download one (1) flac. music and one (1) hi def movie to test the soundbar.

jilaka lasapda @#@ mad.gif
i was searching for yahama for the past week, literally everyday i search with various keyword : yahama, yamaha yas, yamaha yas 107, yamaha yas 108, yamaha yas 109

guess wut, after 11.11 today i search yamaha again, terus pop up yamaha music official store.....with available stock yas 107......#$%^#%# vmad.gif
kennykong85
post Nov 12 2019, 09:05 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(likeazit @ Nov 12 2019, 07:01 PM)
I only found YAS-108, and cheapest is at RM749. Checked shopee and its selling at RM699 from Desa Home. Which did you buy?
Actually laz yahama official music selling yas 107 for rm690, now sold out again, yesterday still got stock.

I bought yas 108 rm735 grrrr..
11.11 shopee selling same price. They all pakat together, upcar.... After 11.11 they r selling cheaper lol.
kennykong85
post Nov 14 2019, 09:42 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Nov 13 2019, 11:27 AM)
The sound from YAS108 is loud and clear without the sub woofers? Planning to get a soundbar with a sub woofer below 1k budget. Salesperson says no point getting soundbars without woofers as won't make big difference. Is this true?  hmm.gif
mostly depends on your usage.

(there is series from 107~109, 107 with 1 hdmi, 108 got 2 hdmi, 109?? no idea as i didnt do detail research on it, almost 99% of the review will say 109 > 108 > 107, theoretically yes, but it would best if u go try test urself, i doubted it becoz 3 looks identical, same same je, my guess is like 107 only 1 hdmi, so 108 add on alexa & 2 hdmi, mayb 109 add on extra feature again)

for me i pick yas 108
1. no available 107 stock at that time. cry.gif
2. dont require subwoofer as my kid is still small, and my house soundproof not that good, if volume too loud kena complain 1.
3. up gradable to connect extra subwoofer in the future, currently budget contraint doh.gif
4. turn on volume 15 i can feel my window shaking already, yea without the woofer it kinda lack of the punch, but i m very satisfy with it.
5. yamaha home theater app offer a few preset setting, i feels like movie mode is the best for both movie & music thumbup.gif

currently in hypermood, tonight go back do another of pes2020 1st rclxm9.gif

yas sound performance @volume 10 = smart samsung nu8000 2.0speaker @volume 15~16

This post has been edited by kennykong85: Nov 14 2019, 09:43 AM
kennykong85
post Nov 14 2019, 03:10 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Nov 14 2019, 11:33 AM)
Me also using the Samsung NU8000 TV..  thumbup.gif
I miss my good old Sharp UE630X which had Dolby Digital Plus, DTS & TruSurround. Never had to increase volume above 30  thumbup.gif  but with the NU8000 usually have to increase until 40-60  cry.gif  but video quality definitely a win for the NU8000.

So u connect your YAS108 via Bluetooth or ARC?  hmm.gif
Sound output from TV+YAS108 or only from YAS108?
connect via ark.
yas 108 comes with 1 hdmi arc (speaker) + 1 hdmi input (i connect it on tvbox).
i only tested sound output for yas 108 only, yet to test on yas 108 + tv but i reckon yas 108 is more than enough for sound output.

kennykong85
post Nov 18 2019, 03:53 PM

268 posts

i guess the quality of the hdmi cables does play a big part ...

i bought 1 hdmi cable that support 4k 30fps from ugreen

compare to 1 hdmi cable from the tv box....

damn man when i play pes2020 , ugreen hdmi cable no problem, but those ori tv box cable, i actually experience heavy flickering screen ....aiks

both cable i set the setting on gamemode with gsync on.

so currently i rely on the ugreen hdmi cable connect to yas 108 to ark tv, and waiting another ugreen hdmi cable to ensure my tvbox get the best quality out of it.
kennykong85
post Nov 23 2019, 11:47 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Nov 23 2019, 11:27 AM)
Yamaha YAS 108 is RM1590 on Lazada  rclxub.gif
u need to search using the correct keyword. lazada is doing the trick on u, currently they will only generate 1 result if u search yas 108 and that will be the official yamaha store, u may follow them and monitor closely coz their yas 107 once available stock it ll cheap~

1. rm1590 is from official yamaha music store.
2. stylelaser still doing rm789

u can try search yamaha soundbar and scroll down look for stylelaser
kennykong85
post Nov 27 2019, 11:39 AM

268 posts

QUOTE(KittyKat @ Nov 27 2019, 09:55 AM)
One question though; Any of you (Q80R users) find it difficult to "link" your soundbar to TV???

Btw i am using a Panasonic GX740, i had to go thru few steps every time switching on the system:
- HDMI cable to TV via HDMI 2 (ARC); HDMI cable to soundbar via HDMI Out (TV-ARC)
- Switch on TV
- Switch on soundbar
- Select source as "HDMI 2" until "TV SPEAKER" message appears
- Select source as "D IN" unit "TV ARC" message appears

...Feels kinda tedious with so many steps, was wondering if i am doing anything wrong
mine oso no problem on my yahama yas 108 to tv

coz most of the time i use tv box to watch movie. so i have switch my yamaha setting to connect via hdmi 2(for tv box, one time off only))

if i wanna watch youtube channel via tv directly( i gotta switch the setting back to hdmi 1) just 1 click, so its pretty simple and sweet so far. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by kennykong85: Nov 27 2019, 11:40 AM
kennykong85
post Jan 9 2020, 03:55 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(yonghong @ Jan 9 2020, 10:33 AM)
How if I want all sound come out from TV to be come out from sound bar?

Just connect HDMI (ARC ) right?

Yes. Hdmi to ark, then from yamaha yas 108 (u can press via the yas 108 directly, or select from ur mobile phone via bluetooth)
kennykong85
post Jan 16 2020, 03:49 PM

268 posts

QUOTE(ToniV @ Jan 16 2020, 03:33 PM)
How's the performance of yas108?
Any recommendations for a good soundbar with subwoofer ?
Best bang for buck recommendation
Been eyeing the yamaha and samsung.
budget for for yas 108 without woofer
so far whether its gaming/ movie/ drama/ music,performance i myself would rate 8.0/10, i dont need the subwoofer, and there are plenty of options la, shouldnt ask me should ask the sifu here instead.
ada bullet then go for yas 207~yas 209 drool.gif

This post has been edited by kennykong85: Jan 16 2020, 11:20 PM

0.0687sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:01 AM