Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

Boy96
post Aug 28 2016, 05:27 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Budget around RM500 for soundbar, any other options other than Sony HT-CT80?
Boy96
post Feb 14 2022, 08:21 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Did demo an LG SN8Y at Harvey norman and it sounds dissapointing, lack of clarity and bass not good.

Any better soundbar for budget under 2.8k?

Currently have 5.1 Sony DAV-DZ650. But this one less than rm1k home theater system. Not sure if newer 2k+ soundbar nowadays is better that this or not..
Boy96
post Feb 14 2022, 11:01 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Feb 14 2022, 10:28 PM)
I am using the its predecessor, SL8Y, and definitely not as you described.
Have you play around the sound mode and speakers setting? Perhaps it was set on default.
Didnt play with the settings as it was just a short demo inside the harvey norman store connected to my phone's bluetooth.

https://www.lg.com/my/home-audio-systems/lg-sn8y#pdp_review

The review on their website itself doesn't seem good. Many broken just after few months of use, perhaps your model which is the older one had better quality.

This post has been edited by Boy96: Feb 14 2022, 11:02 PM
Boy96
post Feb 15 2022, 10:39 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Feb 15 2022, 10:27 AM)
Your current unit having problem? Else better don't change. I been survey soundbar to replace my old HTiB too, within the same price range all  shakehead.gif . (not those higher range 2k and above).
Yes my current unit is dead.. but i think its only the dvd player that is dead, cant find any replacement part for it.. without the dvd player the speakers all cant function
Boy96
post Aug 8 2022, 05:43 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Q800b vs q930b. Rtings.com review seems not much difference between them, how about real life?
Boy96
post Sep 4 2022, 01:36 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(thirumaran @ Aug 24 2022, 04:30 PM)
anyone using sonos beam gen 2 here?  any feedback?
Same price as samsung q800b, review says samsung one better.

Theres also the lg s90qy at the same price

This post has been edited by Boy96: Sep 4 2022, 01:42 PM
Boy96
post Sep 5 2022, 01:10 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Sep 5 2022, 12:48 AM)
Same price but sonos doesn't have subwoofer. How to enjoy atmos content without sub?
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/tools/compa...&threshold=0.10

Checkout this review

The Sonos supports Atmos content, using side-firing and front-firing drivers built into the bar to simulate sound objects in the soundstage.
Boy96
post Sep 5 2022, 02:17 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Sep 5 2022, 01:19 AM)
I know it support atmos but without sub you cannot get the thumping sounds and loud rumbles.
Then have to take the Samsung..

I am also still considering wither q800b or q930b. Not sure that 400+ ringgit diff worth it or not since my TV does not support Dolby Atmos..

This post has been edited by Boy96: Sep 5 2022, 02:43 AM
Boy96
post Sep 10 2022, 04:56 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Sep 5 2022, 10:18 AM)
I believe Q930B is for bigger room where you have some distance between you and the back speakers. I bought the Q800B because my sofa already close to the wall, the audio would have messed up if I put the rear speakers just behind it.

Also point worth noting, up firing speakers for atmos won't have good effect for ceiling around 9 feet high and above. Although dolby mentioned 12 feet max but some people have tested and couldn't hear the effects even in 10 feet ceiling room.
How does the rear speaker cable looks like? Each speaker has its own power port to plug in?

I have the space for rear speakers in my living room but electrical plug points are near the tv only

This post has been edited by Boy96: Sep 10 2022, 04:57 PM
Boy96
post Sep 10 2022, 06:05 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Sep 10 2022, 06:01 PM)
Then you should look at JBL 9.1 with true wireless rear speakers
That is around rm4k.. Over my budget

Best i can get for q930b is 2.6k, q800b 2.2k
Boy96
post Sep 14 2022, 02:51 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(arvind13 @ Sep 14 2022, 02:38 PM)
Mind to share link for Q800b selling for 2.2k  & 930b for 2.6k ?  icon_rolleyes.gif
I couldn't get these prices online anywhere.   shocking.gif
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.4lWFr

I bought this during lazada 9.9 sale, after voucher got it for slightly less than 2.2k

Expecting delivery today

This post has been edited by Boy96: Sep 14 2022, 02:51 PM
Boy96
post Sep 22 2022, 02:41 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(afif92 @ Sep 22 2022, 02:39 AM)
Better buy masterplug extension and you can pull from your TV plug
I ended up with the q800b. So far so good. Just not quite sure whats the best setting for the best sound yet. And got some minor lip sync issue with Astro ultra box running thru ARC
Boy96
post Sep 22 2022, 10:01 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Sep 22 2022, 11:38 AM)
I follow RTINGS suggested settings like below

Got few more settings other than that needs to be configured

- Woofer level
- Voice/Bass Enhancement on or off
-Spacefit Sound / AVA on or off
- Channel level for Center, Side, Front Top