Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 30 2018, 11:02 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Oct 30 2018, 08:42 AM)
Ok, I shall download the app and go to the kelana jaya showroom to try again, thanks for the information smile.gif
to get the best out of 107, must connect the external subwoofer.

but based on my observation of you, i don't think you like the yamaha sound…i think you are more to sony those kind of sound.
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 14 2019, 09:51 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(cle900706 @ Apr 13 2019, 11:01 PM)
Dear sifus, my old pc speaker is at the verge of dying and i need some opinions on which setup i should go with.
my budget is around 1k, but if around 500 would be best
i listens to alot music, watch videos and some home studio recording

my current setup is audio from my mobo 3.5mm (Fatal1ty H87 Performance) to the speakers.
i actually have a dac (Focusrite Scarlett 6i6) which i only use it for some recording purposes.

so my question is, will it be advisable to go with the soundbar or the normal pc's speaker?
if it's soundbar, what model recommended?
the best output that i could get should be pc>6i6>speaker/soundbar?
go get a pair of q acoustic 3020 and top up a bit for an amp.

or get samsung hw-k350 soundbar first for temperorary use until u have money to upgrade to better setup.

QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 14 2019, 01:34 AM)
Hello brothers..

i am just confused to get either yamaha / sony soundbar. I am not going for few speakers.
so just 2.1 channel soundbar + subwoofer / 7.1 channel with subwoofer..
Budget in between 1k - 1.5k..
my concern is more to dolby audio with good surronding system.

After some analysis i made up my mind with YAMAHA & SONY..

YAMAHA YAS-207 best price rm1349 ( anyplace can get cheaper than this ? )
- 2.1 channel , soundbar with wireless subwoofer
- bluetooth, hdmi, hdmi arc, digital optical, 4K HDR HDMI Pass Thru
- dolby audio, dolby digital, DTS
- surround technology DTS Virtual X
- remote control function
- already done sound test at showroom superb, amazed with the sound quality

YAMAHA YAS-306 best price rm1600+
- 7.1 channel sound bar built in dual woofer, dual tweeter, dual built in subwoofers
- digital optical, digital coaxical, analog, no hdmi
- bluetooth , lan, wifi
- dolby digital, dolby pro, dts
- surround technology air surround extreme
- never tested the sound

SONY HTC-CT800 best price rm1235 ( anyplace can get cheaper than this ? )
- 2.1ch Soundbar with Wi-Fi/Bluetooth® technology subwoofer
- Analog Audio In(Inc TV CEC), Ethernet, Opt. In, USB , 1 HDMI Out(ARC) , 3 hdmi , 4K HDR HDMI Pass Thru
- bluetooth Yes(A2DP (SINK), A2DP(SOURCE), AVRCP, LDAC, AAC)
- WIFI
- Dolby Digital, DolbyTruHD, Dolby Digital+, Dolby Dual Mono , DTS
- surround technology S-Force PRO Front Surround

SONY HT-X8500 no price yet
- 2.1CH DOLBY ATMOS®/DTS:X® SINGLE SOUND BAR WITH BUILT-IN SUBWOOFER
- HDMI input suppports Dolby Digital,Dolby Digital plus,Dolby TrueHD,Dolby Dual mono,DTS,DTS HD High Resolution Audio,DTS HD Master Audio,DTS ES,DTS 96 / 24,DTS: X,MPEG2-AAC
- HDMI eARC supports Dolby Digital,Dolby Digital plus,Dolby TrueHD,Dolby Atmos,Dolby Dual mono,DTS,DTS HD High Resolution Audio,DTS HD Master Audio,DTS ES,DTS 96 / 24,DTS: X,MPEG2-AAC
- Optical Input supports Dolby Digital,Dolby Digital plus,Dolby Digital plus / Atmos,Dolby Dual mono,DTS,LPCM 2ch,MPEG2-AAC
- Virtual Surround Technology S-Force PRO,Vertical Surround Engine (Dolby Speaker Virtual/DTS Virtual:X)
- usb, bluetooth
- no idea all the inputs support different audio format, that means need to connect all the cable to TV ?

Personally i have tested sound for YAS207 & HTCT800. YAS207 i did dolby sound test and it was awesome. HTCT800 just normal sound so couldn't see the difference i guess i need to dolby test again.
Input vice, HTCT800 is the winner. More ports and option. You can expend more.
Audio format HTC800 winner as well, support more.

https://www.crutchfield.com/S-6aKOjwiQ7ux/c...y-HT-CT800.html
So now i am confused to get YAS207 / HTCT800.
Any brothers here can share me your personal input on both YAS207 vs HTCT800 would be very much appreciated.
[B]
  thumbup.gif
how about yamaha yas-108 + polk audi psw111 (or klipsch r-8sw if stock available)?
http://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/yamah...-in-subwoofers/
http://www.stylelaser.com.my/product/polk-...ered-subwoofer/

BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 18 2019, 07:03 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 18 2019, 03:55 PM)
My mistake again, i was talking DTS: Virtual X. Yeah, i know it won't be comparable to a true Atmos system. But that is not my intention. My intention:

1. Streamline to soundbar, minimalistic, get rid of AVR and Twin Tower fugly speakers and fugly centre speaker (already gotten rid, no choice)....my AVR running on 2.0/2.1 now.

2. Audio no need keng. I have no mood to make overhead speakers or rear speakers. Already got rid of rear speakers sometime ago.

3. Gave up on Dolby Atmos. Maybe next time when it becomes common, then i upgrade to another better soundbar.

4. As long got pseudolistic surround sound, clear dialogue and looks neat is the main objective.
Another issue i have currently is dialogue from my AVR seems a bit soft, if turn on loud, the special effect suddenly like earthquake, waifu complain. I hope the soundbar can solve this problem? hmm.gif

I am very drawn to the YAS-108 now, seems like good choice, very good price, solve some of my problems, without introducing a new one (subwoofer which i don't need...).
turn on your avr dynamic range control…or night mode
BOTAK_WAI
post Apr 18 2019, 10:53 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 18 2019, 10:39 PM)
Thanks! It worked!

Default is "Max", can set to Min/Auto and its very quiet, set to Standard and i can hear a bit difference. But "MAX" just go bonkers.

For time being i am setting it to "Standard".
some avr even have dialogue enhance option, i guess is some sort of eq setting or sound mode setting.
BOTAK_WAI
post May 18 2019, 11:56 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,154 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ May 18 2019, 11:09 PM)
If you ask me, I will recommended LG SK9Y which is already in your previous listing, I am using it, Haha! RM 2k. Original release is RM 4k++, probably due to new version is out soon, it is freaking cheap now, another reason maybe sales not good due to the default setting bass like missing.

This sound bar is fantastic after you did some adjustment on it, especially increase the woofer to maximum +6, it is freaking strong bass after this changes.

Original setting of 0 in woofer make the bass very weak, I don't know why LG tune like that, maybe the person tune it don't like bass. Haha!

If you want more level up, then LG SL10Y (not yet in Malaysia market), or Samsung harman kardon hw-n850. But both price at +/- RM 5k.
This two model support all kind of sound format include Dolby Atmos and DTS: X.

Another can consider is JBL 3.1 Soundbar which around RM 2.2k, I haven't test yet but from all user here that own it or test it said very awesome.
In this case you must increase your budget to RM 2.2K, then you can choose either JBL Bar 3.1 or if you still interesting with LG SK9Y, trust me the woofer is freaking strong, just the person tune it wrongly in default setting which make the bass like never exist.

Do this setting and try again.

For LG SK9Y
- Treble (-2)
- Bass (+2)
- Center (+1)
- Woofer (+6)
- Real Output (Surround)
- Preset (Bass Blast+)
SK9Y now below 2k

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/lg-sk9y-...s648421237.html

if lazada do sales again with voucher i think quite worth to get it.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0631sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:34 AM