QUOTE(jianwei90 @ Nov 10 2018, 10:54 PM)
haven't fix it yet, but coming from a CT790 user, I would say its adequatedon't expect too much from a 1.2k soundbar then its fine
can feel the sound effect coming at ur face, with rumbling bass, good enough
Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?
Nov 12 2018, 12:24 PM
11,809 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Nov 28 2018, 10:55 AM
Nov 29 2018, 02:31 PM
yup correct, but shield u could stick it into hdmi 1 of the soundbar as well
Mar 27 2019, 10:07 AM
sk9y is the latest? 2k sounds like a super deal
Apr 17 2019, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 17 2019, 11:53 AM) I see. That means your source passing the DD Atmos to the soundbar to decode, this is normal behaviour for AVR/Soundbar. then the easiest for you would be Yamaha soundbarBack to my previous idea, if i can pass decoded LPCM to the soundbar, it will open my options. I don't neccessary need the best and loudest sound. Waifu don't allow anyway. My main concern is getting rid of my AVR to have a clean look with a soundbar which is capable of supporting everything that Netflix has to offer. One of my options is also to have a soundbar which can connect to an external subwoofer and make use of my existing Yammy subwoofer. So i have one less headache of getting rid an equipment, and no need to introduce another one...but soundbar which doesnt comes with subwoofer options are very rare and even harder when you have some other requirements. I think later i go Harvey Norman look see look see during lunch...hehe. most of their soundbar comes without sub woofer, and has the plug for optional external sub since ur sub is from Yamaha as well, I think shud work like a charm |
Apr 18 2019, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 17 2019, 04:37 PM) Yeah, i think only Yamaha has such options, but then only a few specific models. technically this 207 is good n cheap, only drawback should be the short of hdmi inputs I thinkBtw, i read up on DTS:X on the YAS-207. https://www.techhive.com/article/3244136/ya...207-review.html This DTS:X really that good? Like these i can ignore Dolby Atmos already. Most importantly in the review: if you do not have lots of sources, then go with this don't bother too much on the DTS x |
Apr 19 2019, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 19 2019, 11:50 AM) If you are considering CT800 also take a look at YAS-207. I listened to them side by side and chose YAS-207 instead though your preference may vary. I took ct800 for the extra hdmi inputsbut frankly, the ct800 sucks big time when its new, really need to run in, then sound better |
Apr 20 2019, 10:10 AM
I remember a few salesperson told me ARC mostly doesn't work , told me to use optical cable instead for soundbars
and it happen to my case as well, all my ARC doesn't work, end of the day, its because of the HDMI cable, get the correct spec one, all workable a lot 3rd party hdmi cable state 2.0 or 1.4, mostly fake I think, non ARC workable |
Apr 20 2019, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 20 2019, 11:28 AM) Oh really ? What model sound bar and tv you connected through arc bro.. samsung tv to sony SBU mean all source connect to tv, from tv to sound bar use digital optical cable..? If all source go to soundbar then connect to tv via optical ? Certain things not pass through optical right.. optical will only do legacy DD n DTS thats all |
Apr 20 2019, 12:33 PM
@andrew so many advert as high speed, all tipu
I have so many cables lying ard in house now, all not capable of ARC, really waste of time n money |
Apr 22 2019, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 20 2019, 02:00 PM) That is not true. As long you have High speed HDMI cable with Ethernet, it is fine. Most cables today are capable of it. There is no such thing as HDMI 2.0 or 1.4 cable its just marketing talk. The HDMI version refers to the device itself. I recommend you to buy UGREEN HDMI cables from Lazada from the official UGREEN Shop. UGREEN sells high quality stuff at great prices. Dont be con into expensive cables at Harvey Norman and such. icThe reason ARC fails is there is no proper implementation by all the manufacturers. There is stronger push for eARC. So in future equipments with eARC should work better with each other. One big problem i encountered with HDMI ARC today is the audio delay...unless your TV has some options to delay the video to sync with the audio, it will be a problem. Basically best solution is still TV streamer/player box to AVR/soundbar then to TV. It is the best bet. so it means if I get a 1st gen hdmi, those 2008 or earlier ones and I plug it to a current tv n soundbar with ARC , its going to work as per normal? regardless of 1.4 or 2.0 ? as long the hdmi cable that era is built as high speed cable with ethernet? |
Apr 22 2019, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 20 2019, 02:00 PM) That is not true. As long you have High speed HDMI cable with Ethernet, it is fine. Most cables today are capable of it. There is no such thing as HDMI 2.0 or 1.4 cable its just marketing talk. The HDMI version refers to the device itself. I recommend you to buy UGREEN HDMI cables from Lazada from the official UGREEN Shop. UGREEN sells high quality stuff at great prices. Dont be con into expensive cables at Harvey Norman and such. icThe reason ARC fails is there is no proper implementation by all the manufacturers. There is stronger push for eARC. So in future equipments with eARC should work better with each other. One big problem i encountered with HDMI ARC today is the audio delay...unless your TV has some options to delay the video to sync with the audio, it will be a problem. Basically best solution is still TV streamer/player box to AVR/soundbar then to TV. It is the best bet. so it means if I get a 1st gen hdmi, those 2008 or earlier ones and I plug it to a current tv n soundbar with ARC , its going to work as per normal? regardless of 1.4 or 2.0 ? as long the hdmi cable that era is built as high speed cable with ethernet? |
Apr 22 2019, 10:50 AM
QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 22 2019, 10:39 AM) I can't say for sure your HDMI cables back in 2008 capable of high speed or not. If wanna be sure, just buy a UGREEN cable lah...cheap only. In fact i have a UGREEN 3M cable capable of 4k60p lying around the house, bought wrongly (too long, need shorter). If you want can PM me. hahahah no needI recycle some old usable cables seems hor, those come with the box or tv or equipment ones work ok and as what you say, get those a bit reputable or brands cable better, no name 3rd party cheap and not workable its like those days when ppl say all hdmi are the same, its just 1 and 0 , but when u plug it in, basket, doesn't work, especially for ARC or CEC |
Apr 22 2019, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(GHOSTVIC @ Apr 20 2019, 07:59 PM) Today i went to harverynorman.. so i asked the sales person to test LGSK9 connect to nu8000 demo tv. 1 person wanted to test. Another person stopped him wanted to know why ? So i claimed i worry if ARC doesn't works between. sad to say, this is happening almost everywhere3rd person suggested to use optical cable instead of arc. I claimed there is some restriction. Then they claimed yes will have problem with ARC why not just get samsung sound bar should be compatible.. I condemn samsung tv sound system itself sucks, soundbar i have no confident. Another person challenged me do you know who build sound system for samsung is "harmon kardon" own by them. He showed me one of the samsung sound bar which written "samsung harmonkardon" top of it.. they want ppl use additional sound system ofcoz will not design highend in tv, business factor. Then i had no choice went to check other bars again . now diff sales person.. he suggested to get YAS207.. tested side to side. with sony 9000F... Ofcos YAS207 tremendous i agree.. this plug and play no settings needed.. He claimed 100% sure YAMAHA and SONY ARC works but LG not. YAMAHA is true dolby they just wanted to enter market with first dts surround sound bar to kill other brands. High selling model according to him. He asked better dont get SK9Y.. if not much source connecting to sound bar then 1 hdmi in enough.. According to him he did fix soundbars at customer house and arc not detected so use optical.. None of them talked about high speed ethernet HDMI ARC issue.. damn it.. I think you guys should be sales person there to explain customer in detail..hahaha Which brand hdmi is advisable brothers, i personally have 3. The last i bought is kameha brand.. every shop I went to, when looking for hdmi cables, or the technician assembling the soundbar and tv at my house says some not compatible la, have to use optical hell, even the Samsung technician that came over my house we did all sort of settings, set to hdmi 1.4, or 1.2 do everything end of the day, just change the hdmi cable to a proper one, and whoila it works also some times, it gets moody , where CEC doesn't work, just remove the power source of soundbar and power back |
Apr 22 2019, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 22 2019, 11:59 AM) I can't said it is support, it is required, you need connect your multimedia devices to the Soundbar HDMI-IN and later Soundbar HDMI ARC to TV ARC. till today, my cheapo ear can't tell diff btwn DD or TrueHDDirect connect device to TV ARC then not support. eARC wise is implemented even direct connect to TV eARC also work, not necessary connect to Soundbar HDMI-IN as the bandwidth is enough for it. I get Dolby Atmos TrueHD when connect directly connect my 4K UHD Blu-ray player to Soundbar HDMI-IN and the Soundbar is showing it as Dolby Atmos. As for Apple TV 4K local movie playback, it is decode by the Apple TV 4K as Multi-channel PCM and later pass thru Soundbar. The sound differences is obvious it is TrueHD or DD. last week, I change all my analogue cables to something of better quality, spending quite a bit of money for me, and.... sounds the same hahahah |
Apr 23 2019, 11:30 AM
hahahahah
what ben says its very true kekeke I have been trying this when they 1st launch HD audio, remember I bought the 1st gen HD receiver switch dd then true hd no difference, anyway I give up on this dy, just make sure I enjoy the whole experience @avfan boss, don't see my sound system no up la, other than SB I also doing Atmos on AVR la audio sounds best when u dig ur ears clean clean, trust me kekekekek |
Apr 23 2019, 12:09 PM
Apr 23 2019, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 23 2019, 12:13 PM) just it is quite something if u find no diff between aac, dd, dd+, ddtruehd... not to mention dts, dtshdma. to be fair, the test I did was like 10 years agoperhaps your ears are permanently tuned to analogue 2.0 from the vinyls?! maybe one of these day, I do a test again hahahah and uncle ears are old dy hahahaha |
Apr 24 2019, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 24 2019, 12:19 AM) Today I decide re-tune my LG SK9Y Soundbar with more options of movie selection and now I am very satisfied with it. I see everything u own also very outstanding ler Really not easier to get the balance of 5.1.2 sound output. Below is my new setting
The main changes was Center Speaker Level from previous 0 to 2 and this give strong and clear vocal, Overhead Speaker volume also from previous 0 to 2 and this make more immersive and every single tiny sound clarity. Also I had return back Rear Speaker Output as Surround as I notice they is no sound from Overhead Speaker if I choose original sound setting and this is clearly mentioned in the user guide. Now my output came with strong and clear vocal, deep and strong bass, immersive surround with high clarity background sound, no more over kill of high treble and over noisy background but with every single tiny sound clarity. It just simply nice and fit any type of movie. Tested movie included
Jun 12 2019, 10:04 AM
maybe few years down the road, only u guys find out, this nakamichi has always been assembled at your back yard only, kekekekekek
| Change to: | 0.0795sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:33 PM |