Has Soundbars Improved to Usable Levels?

ck77
post Jun 4 2022, 12:02 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(utellme_6376 @ Jun 4 2022, 11:42 AM)
Hi, I just booked a Sony HT- Z9F display set  with some facial cover net damages for RM1.5K and its come with 5 years warranty. The booking is only valid until coming Monday.

Currently I still have the Yamaha RVX 657 system + whaferdale speakers and I thought it's much convenient to go with sound bar which I mainly watch astro and netflix.   

My only concern is this sound bar is old and was launched 4 years ago. Should I go for it?
Personally i won’t
ck77
post Jun 9 2022, 04:05 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Jun 9 2022, 04:00 PM)
Anyone use a soundbar around 1.5 k with dolby atmos  in living hall for terrace house ? How is the experience ? Any good ?
https://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/home-...-htb600gak.html
not sure about the experience.
ck77
post Jun 9 2022, 05:51 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Jun 9 2022, 05:37 PM)

There are actual quite a few different vendor products in that price range ( Samsung, Sony, Panasonic etc ). I am trying to find out if any of them is adequate for a basic experience.
Get Samsung or LG because they got option to add rear speakers for better experience.
ck77
post Aug 4 2022, 02:30 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(fufu_80 @ Jun 27 2022, 02:57 PM)
Hi
Anyone have started to use the Samsung Q930B soundbar?
Any feedback and comments on the product.is appreciated..
Thks
QUOTE(c00lbeans @ Jun 27 2022, 11:30 PM)
also curious for the latest Q990b - apart from the number of speakers (9 vs 11), any other big difference eg like power/wattage? currently thinking of Q990b but if Q930b gives practically the same features + power, with only difference being number of channels, then perhaps no need to fork out another 1k+ for Q990b since my living area not big...
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/samsung/hw-q930b
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/samsung/hw-q990b
ck77
post Sep 10 2022, 06:01 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 10 2022, 04:56 PM)
How does the rear speaker cable looks like? Each speaker has its own power port to plug in?

I have the space for rear speakers in my living room but electrical plug points are near the tv only
Then you should look at JBL 9.1 with true wireless rear speakers
ck77
post Oct 15 2022, 09:31 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(tmc @ Oct 15 2022, 01:42 PM)
Rm1317 that makes it the cheapest Dolby Atmos sound bar.
Creative Stage 360 cheapest
https://my.creative.com/p/speakers/creative-stage-360
ck77
post Nov 28 2023, 10:57 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Nov 28 2023, 10:34 AM)
Got my new soundbar Sony ht-a7000 with rs5 rear and sw5 sub, I am really impressed with the immersive surround of the system. Price is on the high side as usual for Sony product.

Now I can finally let go of my Samsung HW-Q950T. Interested buyer please check out my signature 😀
congrats bro rclxms.gif
just curious, why not ht-a9 instead?
ck77
post Dec 6 2023, 03:54 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(nanpengyou @ Dec 6 2023, 01:16 PM)
where to get JBL soundbar for best price other than online platform?
KL/SEL ? Thank you
Try Harvey Norman
ck77
post Feb 9 2024, 09:22 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 8 2024, 09:21 PM)
any recommendations for budget around rm1500
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/bes...price/under-500
LG SP8YA
Samsung HW-Q600C
ck77
post Feb 26 2024, 08:56 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(pokemon @ Feb 25 2024, 12:20 PM)
I still wonder how the soundbar can mimic the rear speaker function by "firing" the sound from the front speaker.
Really works well?
Mostly won't work, best is to add on rear speakers.
ck77
post Mar 14 2024, 10:08 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 12 2024, 04:26 PM)
anyone know where to purchase Q930C? it seems harder to find compared to Q990C
Check out Samsung 9.1.4CH Soundbar Dolby Atmos DTS:X HW-Q930C/XM HWQ930C for RM2,919.00. Get it on Shopee now! https://shp.ee/rqvidnl.
ck77
post Apr 5 2024, 03:24 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Apr 5 2024, 12:17 PM)
Toying between Samsung Q800C vs LG S90QY, LG is cheaper by a couple of hundred ringgits. Anyone here got experience with both of this?

As per rting,
The Samsung HW-Q800C is better than the LG S90QY. The Samsung soundbar has a more neutral sound out-of-the-box, which is more suitable for some listeners. It also has a graphic EQ, which gives you more control over its sound compared to the LG. Plus, it's better built.
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/sam...c#page-comments
ck77
post Jun 11 2024, 09:16 AM

2,591 posts

Does 930D also comes with HDMI 2.1?
ck77
post Oct 4 2024, 09:06 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 4 2024, 04:28 PM)
Hey guys would like to seek recommendations for <RM1k sound bar, so far I saw Yamaha SRC30A on sale for RM999 in Harvey Norman, seems like the shortfall is not supported for those Alexa/Spotify casting.

Personally I am looking for all rounder sound bar that sound decent for both Music and Movies,
don't need it to be super loud or ground shaking bassy since using it on Condo.
Can check out Creative
https://my.creative.com/p/speakers/creative-stage-360
ck77
post Oct 7 2024, 01:29 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 7 2024, 12:47 PM)
Look like doesn't support Spotify connect?
Throughout days of survey got me the Yamaha YAS209 and Samsung Q990B which is slightly above my original budget, is the Yamaha worth it especially for music?

I use this speaker for my TV, so playing movies, Audio all counts, I would appreciate a little more on the music side.
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/best/by-usage/music

Best Mid-Range Soundbar For Music
Samsung HW-Q900C

This post has been edited by ck77: Oct 7 2024, 01:30 PM
ck77
post May 20 2025, 12:11 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ May 20 2025, 10:53 AM)
Hi all sifu... I'm new in soundbar and plan one with price max RM2.2K, want to have better sound (Cinematic surround if possible) with LG TV 55LB6500 (yes it's OLD with 1st gen WebOS).
We use it mainly for general TV show and Movie only. My choices:
- Sony HT-A3000
- Bose Smart Soundbar 600 (
- Yamaha SR-B40A

**Or any recommendation based on my requirement?

Much appreciated... thanks~  notworthy.gif
You only wants an all in one soundbar?
Do explore Sonos Beams as well
ck77
post May 20 2025, 01:27 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ May 20 2025, 12:48 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Either All in one or with subwoofer are okay for me.
I explored Sonos Beam Gen2 (As recommended in earlier post I saw) and it's quite good and promising, somehow Spouse may kill me if I get it (exceed my budget) sweat.giflaugh.gif
If you don't mind used ones, I saw some good price used Gen 2 in Mudah/FB Marketplace brows.gif
ck77
post May 25 2025, 11:25 AM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(soyusa @ May 25 2025, 10:53 AM)
Thought this Q900D was less than 2K, but it's actually Q800D.
This model also good, right?

Ok but no rears
ck77
post Jun 28 2025, 02:27 PM

2,591 posts

QUOTE(amirhadzeem341 @ Jun 28 2025, 12:49 PM)
Hello guys, need some recommendation

Currently got an X90L but want to improve the sound, but got problem: cannot put speakers, tak muat, otherwise already consider Edifier R1280DBS.
So suka tak suka have to settle with soundbar.

Budget: below 1K, just need an upgrade over standard speaker

Options:

1) Samsung HW-B650D: RM812, 3.1ch
2) Samsung HW-C400: RM300, 2ch
3) Samsung HW-C450: RM456, 2.1ch
4) Sony HT-S100F: RM321, 2ch
5) Sony HT-S400: RM670, 2.1ch

Notable mention:

6) Hisense HS2100: RM579
7) TCL S45H: RM509

Which would be the best pick for the budget?

Thanks!
https://www.rtings.com/soundbar/reviews/bes...price/under-300

0.0695sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:07 AM